Team-BHP - Suzuki Reno = Chevy SRV

-   -   Suzuki Reno = Chevy SRV (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/2410-suzuki-reno-chevy-srv.html)

Suzuki launched the 2005 Reno at the New York International Auto show. Guess what?.. the car is designed by ItalDesign of Italy so it sure looks good! Some palio hints are visible too. The US version comes with a 2.0 ltr 4 cylinder 126 hp engine! A hot hatch!
Maybe Maruti can launch it in india and succeed in doing what Fiat failed to. what say?

The interioirs. I see a hint of the optra here specially the console for the A/c

The front end looks like the Ford Focus.

True Amit, and if u notice the dials also seem optraish. Since Suzuki now owns a part of Daewoo-GM, sourcing common parts makes sense. Reduces costs as well as development time.

Though i dont see this car being too successful in the US where hatches somehow havent captured the imagination of people there. However, i am guessing they could develop a sedan from the hatchback platform. Baleno replacer? Possible.

Revvmaster

Noticed another thing, the greenhouse is Nubira nee Optra. The nubira is available as a hatchback in the UK too. Will post pics soon.

Revvmaster

Hey

This car has the potential to become a fantastic Maruti! It looks good, has awesome interiors...and 126 horses should keep everyone happy!

Whens MUL getting this baby in?

This is a Daewoo Lanos with another name

Right on the money dude. It's the old Daewoo Lanos for sure... just as the Suzuki Forenza is nothing but a Daewoo Nubira. By the time it gets to India, it might well be a Chevrolet.
But I must say, it dosen't look bad.

ya 126 bhp at Palio/Esteem price will be a good option. But will MUL be able to price it so low as to set the sales chart on fire?

wow. the Suzuki Lanos...........err Sorry..........Daewoo Reno...........ooppss.............anyways whats in a name looks good and has a good HOT engine as well. Obviously Maruti wudnt get this car with a 2L engine. They havent upgraded the Zen/Esteem engine yet and so theres no way they'll be gettin a 2L hatch.

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (v12 @ Mar. 20 2004,22:15)]...theres no way they'll be gettin a 2L hatch.

Exactly my point of view!

especially with the petrol conscious (or rather price of petrol conscious) indian mindset!

With the 2 L engine the price cannot be made cheaper. And if it is priced more then probably peope start thinking that sedans are much cheaper than Hatch !

no way is maruti bringing this with 2 liter engine ! in the land of 'average kya hai boss' this engine would b sinful.. however 126bhp from a 2 liter engine sounds less to me & even the steering loooks similar to me except for the 'S' badge...

M3

Wow, Chevrolet has launched the Suzuki Reno , with the "Optra SRV" name tag. In my opinion, they could have probably sold more cars under the Suzuki brand. The pricing seems to be in line with the Optra SRV, I hope they do not cut down on features for the Indian version.
http://suzukiauto.com/sr_06/reno/specs_and_pricing.php
-Prasadee

Well they launched the Suzuki Forenza with the Oprta badge 4 years ago.