Team-BHP - New "BH" series registration | For cars getting transferred from one state to another

-   -   New "BH" series registration | For cars getting transferred from one state to another (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/241109-new-bh-series-registration-cars-getting-transferred-one-state-another-14.html)

Originally Posted by APB98 (Post 5162788)
Hi guys, I am planning to buy a new vehicle within a month or two. I live in Kochi and I believe Kerala RTO are in no mood to implement the BH registration scheme yet. Can I expect any miracle to happen here or how long would it realistically take to be able to use BH registration in Kerala ?

If there was some clarity regarding this I could decide to wait on booking my new car, and could probably offset the additional cost of my car when I book at that time using the lesser taxes for BH compared to what Kerala RTO charges.

Hi Pal,
My sympathies with you for being part of this RTO.:)
But miracles do happen. So hope for the best. Perhaps if other southern states implement this during your wait period, chances are that some sensible public servant official with the RTO might think of passing on this rare benefit to the public, particularly the middle class.

If you are going for a mid to premium segment car, definitely wait it out as the tax amount difference should be good(if no additional tweaks are done by our RTO).
If it is an under 10 lakh car and BH is not implemented - As you have mentioned that you plan in another couple of months, wait for the year end deals and add a little bargain, the net difference between the current and BH series taxes should not be that wide as in case of the higher segments. Hope I was able to help.

Hi folks - I am looking for some clarity on eligibility as an employee of Private Sector. I work in a certain division of a global conglomerate. To "fit the bill", does my division need to have offices in 4 different states/ UT or is parent company considered in this definition. I do understand that it is early days of implementation but the idea is fair and savings are material for vehicles beyond 10 lakh INR also pro-rated over the 15year standard life. Any insights would be helpful here.

Originally Posted by Adamantium (Post 5162920)
Hi folks - I am looking for some clarity on eligibility as an employee of Private Sector. I work in a certain division of a global conglomerate. To "fit the bill", does my division need to have offices in 4 different states/ UT or is parent company considered in this definition.

This image is from the Form 60 to be submitted for BH purposes. If you are able to get this filled and signed with seal from your Parent organization, you should be good to go.

Why is the format of BH plates different. Normally we write it as MH01XX0001, but here it is written as 21BH0001XX. What is the purpose of rearranging the numbers and letters?

Also will anyone be allowed to get BH registration or do you have to be a government officer?

Originally Posted by AnnaRocks (Post 5162993)
This image is from the Form 60 to be submitted for BH purposes. If you are able to get this filled and signed with seal from your Parent organization, you should be good to go.

Thank you for this. Is this available for download from the Parivahan or KeralaMVD website ? I do understand we will probably require a PIL to make Kerala implement this.

Originally Posted by KingKong (Post 5163018)
Why is the format of BH plates different. Normally we write it as MH01XX0001, but here it is written as 21BH0001XX. What is the purpose of rearranging the numbers and letters?

Also will anyone be allowed to get BH registration or do you have to be a government officer?

21 - Year or registration (IMO it should have been year of manufacture)
BH - Bharat
0001 - Number
XX - Series (From AA to ZZ excluding "O" and "I")

MH - Maharashtra
01 - RTO Code
XX - Series (From AA to ZZ excluding "O" and "I")
0001 - Number

The BH series format should be extended to normal registrations too.
For example
21MH0001XX for Maharashtra.
21KA0001XX for Karnataka.

Originally Posted by padmrajravi (Post 5163028)
Thank you for this. Is this available for download from the Parivahan or KeralaMVD website ? I do understand we will probably require a PIL to make Kerala implement this.

Welcome. It is there on the site. Else you can check the post by our pal libre sito on page 4 of this thread. Buddy has provided the attachment there.

Friend, you will get all your answers on the first page of this thread. For now, govt officers and private employees of organizations with offices in more than 4 states.

Originally Posted by AnnaRocks (Post 5162812)
Hi Pal,
My sympathies with you for being part of this RTO.:)
But miracles do happen. So hope for the best. Perhaps if other southern states implement this during your wait period, chances are that some sensible public servant official with the RTO might think of passing on this rare benefit to the public, particularly the middle class.

If you are going for a mid to premium segment car, definitely wait it out as the tax amount difference should be good(if no additional tweaks are done by our RTO).
If it is an under 10 lakh car and BH is not implemented - As you have mentioned that you plan in another couple of months, wait for the year end deals and add a little bargain, the net difference between the current and BH series taxes should not be that wide as in case of the higher segments. Hope I was able to help.

I am eyeing for the new Xuv 700 but the catch is that I am desperate to change my vehicle. I know that if I wait for half a year more I might get a better product and also the chance of paying lesser taxes if BH comes in, but I need some sort of an assurance of such benefits because if otherwise spending more time with my current car might not be worth the wait. It's really confusing.

When do you expect this to be available in Kerala ? Any guesses ?

Originally Posted by pedrolourenco (Post 5163072)
The BH series format should be extended to normal registrations too.
For example
21MH0001XX for Maharashtra.
21KA0001XX for Karnataka.

I believe the whole point is to make it a pan-India 'Bharat' number. Purpose gets defeated when you introduce the current existing state codes to it.

Originally Posted by itwasntme (Post 5163117)
I believe the whole point is to make it a pan-India 'Bharat' number. Purpose gets defeated when you introduce the current existing state codes to it.

I believe he was talking about changing the current state format to the BH-like format.

Originally Posted by deepakhon (Post 5163128)
I believe he was talking about changing the current state format to the BH-like format.

Will make it even more confusing and make BH look like just another state code. Better to keep them as visually distinct as possible.

Originally Posted by APB98 (Post 5163104)
When do you expect this to be available in Kerala ? Any guesses ?

No idea pal. I am in touch with the dealerships who too don't have an idea. I saw a one off article on 20th Sept in the Manorama daily newspaper who highlighted the casual approach to BH from the state RTO. Apart from that, no mainstream news has brought up this case.
Please try the RTO helpesk numbers from the Kerala MVD site which I tried in vain. Perhaps you might be lucky to get through.

Since you are planning for the XUV, you still have time. If BH is implemented by the time you are allotted one of the XUVs, you will be able to save a minimum 50k upfront based on the variant and will also be able to benefit from the two year tax payment structure.

Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR (Post 5162809)
Even if states implement this, RTO has the right to deny or approve cases.

As I mentioned in another thread regarding this scheme, it will primarily benefit the already pampered govt. babus and no one else. It will also become a status symbol to show off on the roads and may be even escape police scrutiny/harassment.
Hope I am proven wrong.

Just got a call from a Tata dealership in Jaipur. They are expecting to receive formal guidelines for BH series registration from the RTO in 8 to 10 working days. I hope the rollout starts soon as we are expecting to receive Delivery around Diwali.

Looks like it's meant to highlight the year of registration since the validity of registration is now only 2 years vs 15 years earlier.