Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th January 2022, 08:10   #31
Senior - BHPian

Re: Guide: How to take Effective Test-Drives of new cars

Brilliant thread, what an effort

Going by the posts it seems everyone was doing their bit in their own way but you've brought all of them together in one place and some more.

Will serve as our handbook for TDs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bibendum90949 View Post
- I've set a familiar circuit of 16-18 kms for all test drives.

- "Sir, this is my first time in an year with Thar test drives someone has taken the car to off road and tested it" .He said, 90% of Thar buyers test drives them on city roads.
- That's perfect, not too long for someone to deny outright not too short to be unable to judge with a good mix of surfaces.

- Sad reality of our times when looking the part is more important than doing anything close hence our SUV wave.
Glad that your Thar won't feel bored.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poitive View Post
Try to take someone along while on a test drive.
Very important, a second/different perspective matters a lot, especially occupants. IIRC a relative was TDing 10-12 years ago and his mom liked the SX4's rear seat the best. She told that she liked the view since the rear seat was higher than the front.

Quote:
- Another channel called Man And Motor has a guy well over 6' - I use him as a reference where possible (quite like his rustic manner, which has a non typical-Youtuber feel)
Agree with the rustic.
Looking for space after your SUV thread I am using him and the guy from DDS as a reference. They have collabed too so those videos are quite good with two 6+ feet guys sitting one behind the other and as rear passengers which is quite rare to find.