Old 15th May 2004, 12:00   #16

Insurance Co's do require photographs for any claim. But I doubt I will be able to get hold of them anyway. The thing is, the car belongs to a friend of mine. Not the best driver in the world, but he takes care of the car and only gives it to the Authorised service stations. I haven't inspected the car well since the accident as he only just called me and asked if i was interested.

But I wonder about that old saying....never buy or sell anything to your family or friends! hmmm.
Old 15th May 2004, 13:26   #17

Rtech,

Think of it this way. Atleast you know the ONLY damage this car has ever had. Buying used cars can be an exciting yet tedious experience especially in sourcing the history of the car. Repair jobs are so good today that even some experts cannot tell between repaired panels.

I suggest you having a look at his repair bill, to look for signs of any kind of structural damage. If only the hatch was replaced, and the hood has been opened at authorised stations...go for it.

Old 15th May 2004, 13:58   #18

Is 2.5 a decent price though? Not many 1.6's in the market to get a clear idea.
Old 15th May 2004, 14:18   #19

Rtech,

Just checked with my contact, and hes of the opinion that 2.5L is a little too high for a 2001 30K Palio 1.6. Hes got a white 2002 36K Palio which can be had for 2.3L.

Old 17th May 2004, 03:01   #20
evo

the sad part is...that here in kolkata....there are ppl wid tangerine mist gtx`s..... used for amazingly sporty stuff like ferying children to school n wives to the mall.....if that isnt worse enough...then lemme hit the last nail.....by his driver....u got it right...the bloke goes on n buys a 100 bhp hot hatch.....n his driver drives it....have seen a lotta vtecs driven by safari clad drivers wid fat women adding unnecesary weight n irritating the driver cos the performance isnt as gud as when the car is empty....i first thot that this was just some body`s degraded perverse humour meant to get back at his car enthusiast friends who keep yappin about performance.....even more so coz...its not like these are oh i am sorry were:( ....the only variants in the model range....arre there were variants that cost a lakh less in case of the palio n nearly 2 and a half lakh in the honda....but still people buy these.....amazing man....mebbe they are doing it for charity....that somehow reduces the baseness of the crime...giving charity to fiat india is a noble act...as they need the money...but honda is the most profitable automaker in terms of margins isnt it? after much deliberation....i think its the elite mentality of sum ppl.....top model hi lena hai...or arre gaadi le rahen hai to best vali model lo na...!
Old 22nd March 2006, 11:02   #21

Just wanted to bump this thread up. Dippy, going for the test drive? LOL
Old 22nd March 2006, 11:10   #22

Originally Posted by typeOnegative
Just wanted to bump this thread up.
I admire your persistence and single-minded dedication - I really do. Its so touching - I used to be like this when Dagger (my dog) was dying.

Dyou work for Fiat?

Last edited by Steeroid : 22nd March 2006 at 11:13.
Old 22nd March 2006, 12:27   #23

Any idea on the on road price of the new 1.6?

Any first hand experience of getting a new one/Servicing an Old one from TATA?
Old 22nd March 2006, 12:30   #24

Palio 1.6 Sport costs 4.82L OTR when i last enquired. ABS + Air Bag will be slightly more costlier. Still its a steal at that price with that 1.6L DOHC 100BHP engine.
Old 22nd March 2006, 14:15   #25

Originally Posted by Steeroid
I admire your persistence and single-minded dedication - I really do. Its so touching - I used to be like this when Dagger (my dog) was dying.

Dyou work for Fiat?

Errr ... this is getting a bit irritating, Steer. No I do not work for Fiat. Should we take this onto PMs?
Old 22nd March 2006, 14:36   #26

Originally Posted by typeOnegative
Should we take this onto PMs?
Thats the general idea. Fire away.
Old 22nd March 2006, 15:07   #27

Should we take this onto PMs?

Originally Posted by Steeroid
Thats the general idea. Fire away.
We all want to be a party to all the glorious bickering going on backstage Post a gist once you guys are through.

Last edited by Zappo : 22nd March 2006 at 15:09.
Old 22nd March 2006, 15:15   #28

Oh the bickering has been on for quite some time now. Will keep you guys posted.
Old 22nd March 2006, 15:32   #29

Originally Posted by Zappo
We all want to be a party to all the glorious bickering going on backstage Post a gist once you guys are through.
Dont peep. We're just having a bit of fun at each other's expense.
Old 22nd March 2006, 15:48   #30

Sorry guys, since the GTX is back again in another name, this thread is irrelevant now. Time to close this thread.