Old 13th May 2022, 08:44   #46

Re: Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh

I haven’t checked prices for wrangler lately but I think it will be very close now to this variant.

As with many other companies, focus is to improve profits, sales will happen irrespective of costs for the running and proven products.

FORD left when the market was getting hot. If they would have stayed, a lot of their losses could have been recovered.
Turbanator is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 08:46   #47

Actors, politicians, businesses and more, many of them carry a Fortuner in their multi-car garage as their trusted steed. For them a few lakhs extra shouldn't be a problem. They get the distinct looks and slightly better interiors which will help stand out.

This will sell.

Last edited by ashis89 : 13th May 2022 at 08:48.
ashis89 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 08:48   #48

Wow the Audacity of Toyota. Even though I want to blame them, I do agree with them. At 60 lakhs OTR they aren't the one who's taking the lion's share. They might make 4 more lakhs than Legender, they also have to pay taxes on their income. Govt really needs to do something about the taxes.

At this pace it won't take much longer where we can import a car and it would still workout a bit cheaper!
Siddarth_Ramani is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 08:54   #49

Last two months, Toyota managed to sell 2000+ Fortuners. Guess at this point the pricing is all about a simple Demand supply equation. For a car priced at this bracket, 2000 units is a great number. Hence, they are stretching it a bit to see how much they can milk the brand.
sheelapratosh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 09:05   #50

Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post

I don't get the idea or logic of comparing a vehicle like this to a 3 Series! I don't see anyone cross shopping either.

You will likely recover over half of what you paid for this SUV. That is unlikely to happen for any other vehicle you buy.
I agree with the longevity of Toyota vehicles, we have a 2011 Innova ourselves and these things are built to last but is it worth over 60 Lakh? I don't think so.

Why do people still buy cars like the Fortuner when prices are near 50lakh and now touching 60? Because it's big and flashy car. The neta and rich uncles types will do what they do and buy big cars but if snob value matters to you, then you can pick up an A4 Premium Plus/Technology or a 330i for less.

You tell me what has better snob value, telling people you have a Toyota SUV or telling people you have a RWD BMW or a top of the line Audi (aka A4 Technology). Not to mention the Germans sedans have better ride quality.

You tell me what you would rather have in your garage, a 330i/A4 or a 60 lakh Fortuner or an Octavia 2.0 Style + a Diesel Innova.

I'd personally take the Octavia/Innova combo.

Last edited by GreasyCarb55 : 13th May 2022 at 09:07.
GreasyCarb55 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 09:40   #51

Originally Posted by GreasyCarb55 View Post
The neta and rich uncles types will do what they do and buy big cars but if snob value matters to you, then you can pick up an A4 Premium Plus/Technology or a 330i for less.
Originally Posted by amol4184 View Post
Neta and babu type customers who are buying Fortuner in abundance are hardly bothered about 4x4. All they want is flashy expensive car and premium sedans do it with much ease and aplomb on the road.
My friends, why go to the neta level. We have heaps of Fortuner owners right here. Atleast 2 new Fortuners are added to our garage in a month (European cars are bought too). I am pretty sure they all knew they could buy a C, A4 or a 3 Series for similar money (or less). They still bought the mighty T badge. Says something about the vehicle, even if it does not offer the posh bits or ride of a German car. There is something they love about it.
sandeepmohan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 10:39   #52

I think whatsoever price Toyota may charge for the Fortuner, apparently it's the Govt who takes home the huge chunk of it.

Well not only Fortuner for that matter of fact, any car with >1500cc and >4mtr will attract 28% GST + 22% Cess + Registration (easily 10%)

+ Fuel (which these days easily attracts 100-150% taxes)

https://www.rushlane.com/toyota-earn...-12435713.html

I will always try buying sub 4 mtr cars with <1500cc, as I just cannot digest seeing the taxations on cars in India. It's totally ridiculous.
divyadeeptsi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 11:26   #53

Originally Posted by Redline6800 View Post

I always thought that Honda was perceived as the more upmarket brand, as compared to Toyota, atleast until around 2008-10. In the last decade, Toyota has played their cards right.

Kudos to Toyota!
I wouldn’t say Toyota India management strategy was great or they played well in last decade. Infact it is below par. For the potential and the global product line up Toyota has, they could have been a much bigger player in India. Where as now they are surviving just because of Innova and Fortuner. And thanks to Maruti.

It’s not because of Toyota strategy, but because they have the right 2 products which is playing well for them. And they are cashing it.

Similar to Honda even Toyota played their cheapening game - how can we forget Etios, Etios Liva etc. Toyota is a much bigger player than Honda globally (atleast twice the size) and they have good portfolios of build tough diesel SUVs and MUVs which has a good demand in the market. That’s all Toyota India has done.

I personally feel if Toyota is very aggressive of Indian market they can easily be in the top 4 players, than just surviving on Innova/Fortuner and rebadged Maruti’s

Last edited by sunikkat : 13th May 2022 at 11:33.
sunikkat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 12:12   #54

Originally Posted by sunikkat View Post

I personally feel if Toyota is very aggressive of Indian market they can easily be in the top 4 players, than just surviving on Innova/Fortuner and rebadged Maruti’s
Toyota has 7 cars in India(8 if you single out Legender) and only 2 are from Maruti. Other 5 Toyota's are performing well in Market. Toyota sold 100+ units of 1.2Cr Vellfire this month. In dying sedan market, Camry is doing quite well and so is Hilux which despite carrying a premium price seem to have got good bookings. They ventured into mass market but did not get them desired results. What worked out well was outsourcing budget cars to Suzuki.
PrideRed is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 12:27   #55

Originally Posted by divyadeeptsi View Post
I think whatsoever price Toyota may charge for the Fortuner, apparently it's the Govt who takes home the huge chunk of it.

Well not only Fortuner for that matter of fact, any car with >1500cc and >4mtr will attract 28% GST + 22% Cess + Registration (easily 10%)

+ Fuel (which these days easily attracts 100-150% taxes)

https://www.rushlane.com/toyota-earn...-12435713.html

I will always try buying sub 4 mtr cars with <1500cc, as I just cannot digest seeing the taxations on cars in India. It's totally ridiculous.
That article seems a bit off. I mean if the Fortuner is only earning a profit of 40k per vehicle, what are the likes of Kodiaq/Gloster and others earning? They are priced much much lower and I would assume the cost would be similar as the Fortuner.
Old 13th May 2022, 12:44   #56

I see a lot of unnecessary discussion is happening on how much Toyota India or the Government is earning / Fortuner. Are people forgetting that the real deal & the most macho Fortuner variant is the 4x4 M/T and its priced almost 25% lower than this GR Sport variant. Hence, however expensive the GR Sport is, the 4x4 Variants are available for INR 8 - 10 L (ex-showroom) less/cheaper than this top of the line trim. I Personally appreciate Toyota India's effort in bringing the GR brand for India, but would have loved if the engine also had been tweaked for more performance for this GR-S

Last edited by karan561 : 13th May 2022 at 12:59.
karan561 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 13:59   #57

I wanted to refrain from posting here, because obviously if you go through my posts I usually am a pro-Fortuner supporter even after a price hike. Couldn’t resist myself. So here it goes…

Toyota has been clever with the pricing of this GR-S variant, they know that there is absolutely no other 7 seater from the Germans/British/Swedish brands at this price point OTR with which they have to compete, so they had the liberty to make it hit the 60L mark OTR.

Yes, some of the German/British/Swedish premium sedans are cheaper but start adding the extended warranty costs, service packs and see the price go up substantially!

Also a person looking at a 3/A4/C is never going to look at a Fortuner and the same vice-versa.

The use case of even a person looking at a German/British/Swedish SUV is different than a person going to buy a Fortuner. So there is no point comparing the prices.

Am I horrified by this pricing?
Hell Yes!

Just the other day, I was reading on this forum itself that someone’s neighbour sold his ML-Class and bought a Fortuner Legender 4X4 AT.

So what led to this? Well compare the ₹55 Lakh Fortuner Legender’s service cost with a premium brand, not many electronics to go bad, and it will return an excellent resale whenever you sell it.

2009 Fortuners which were sold at 18L ex-showroom back then are still commanding 10Lakh in the used market today after running 1Lakh + kms, check any Premium brand car from 2009 and see the difference, hardly many people will prefer to touch it, after buying that premium car replacing any part is going to being an extremely costly affair, meanwhile fill the Fortuner with diesel, get a service done and you are good to go for another decade.

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-b577ea23910740baaedc04caebf88a23.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-dced9bf8ed6a425bb0128f034891ac31.jpeg

Although this GR-S variant has been launched at an O-B-N-O-X-I-O-U-S price, the real seller in the Fortuner line-up is the Diesel 4X2 AT at 45L OTR. No one is forcing anyone to get the GR-S variant. There is a massive 20 Lakh difference between the base 4X2 MT Petrol Fortuner and GR-S variant. And a 17 Lakh difference between the 4X2 MT Diesel and GR-S variant. Regular 4X4 MT and 4X4 AT are my picks from the Fortuner range.

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-912ce84ec30347b6a8c5d9d44970ce08.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-b98c4cb1949e447fa2f10976561e7ae7.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-01bf15bf48d34e229a7c6ed041a6f830.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-49747ac47aa940548a4ec475cc05700b.jpeg

Hate this guy’s videos but just wanted to point out that he had a BMW X1 before his Fortuner 4X4 MT, he has taken his X1 to Leh-Ladakh once as well, meanwhile his Fortuner has gone there ‘N’ number of times, has gone dune bashing, has completed 1,50,000 kms and refuses to simply die. There are many other Fortuners like these which have covered the length and breadth of India, completed 2 Lakh kms and the owners refuse to sell them because they have nothing to upgrade to!

I have a 8 year old Fortuner, and have recently got a X3 as well. We’re happy to have retained the Fortuner, and not having sold it to bring the BMW home. Similarly most Fortuner/Toyota owner will bring home a German/Swedish/British alongside and keep both together.

Both can’t be compared at all, one is an utilitarian truck that refuses to die and the other an electronic wizardry SUV that has its strengths lying elsewhere, giving that premium feel, features and performance. My dad still goes to his office in the Fortuner and not the newer car simply because his work and meetings take him places throughout the day that he doesn’t want anything else which can fail anywhere. Yes, ride quality is not the best but liveable.

One of my friends has a 530d, GLE350d and a 2012 Fortuner 4X2 (4spd) AT, he visits his hometown twice a year. Drives down in the Fortuner from Mumbai to UP twice a year, his Fortuner has completed 2,50,000kms and is still continuing to do faithful service, service bills coming at ₹15k at max except when tyres, brakes and other major things need to be changed. What does he plan to replace it with is anyone’s guess, another Fortuner.

A comparison of the Fortuner GR-S with various premium cars, there is a massive difference between the prices of the GR-S and the premium SUVs (5 seaters and 7 seaters both). No one is going to cross-shop between a Fortuner and 70Lakh - 1Cr premium SUVs, period.:

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-ae8cf9e396b94e77a5abcab8c9f4600d.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-b6197a14b7ec4b278c94612544861304.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-fdd259a143824236b278845182180aa9.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-aabed8c09e624ffea9a0fd846132b912.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-b396537cecd44bfda74b49aca238e199.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-547a79feaf534c3cbc7d29c2b130bd0c.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-ea8fbc489a3645f6bf5c237bad4985dc.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-9420bfe58ed4434a846d3dcbf1b76995.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-420d5e879003460fa0872759752160d5.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-1b05a04b405b44a38e2c2a9a4b2bb81c.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-d0ff8f45a7f34ad78a06b9dfc072f2b7.jpeg

Toyota Fortuner GR Sport launched at Rs 48.43 lakh-18c83e725c414d4ea93d3e1ab354317a.jpeg

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 13th May 2022 at 14:11.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (37) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 14:41   #58

Bottomline-

1. Toyota India probably has a limited number of Fortuner kits available on a monthly basis (~2000)

2. Toyota sees strong demand for the Fortuner brand, which has strengthened even further post Endeavour's departure

3. Toyota wants to maximize per unit profitability, hence these expensive variants with little or no additional features

4. Toyota will likely play on customers' patience, and offer higher variants for early delivery to maximize monthly revenues
achyutaghosh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 14:48   #59

I guess people who bought it at half the price or even less can actually sell it at the same price or even at a premium now!

You don’t buy a fortuner. You invest in a fortuner!
veyron_head is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 13th May 2022, 17:26   #60

This makes me wonder if we could do something to bring back Ford and Mitsubishi to India? Endeavor and Pajero Sport are Fortuner's true competitors overseas, however with no competition in India Toyota is milking the opportunity to the max. Isuzu is probably helping Toyota in here by being in snooze mode with V-cross intimidated by Hilux maybe and not brining new MU-X to India.

Last edited by Shanky_1002 : 13th May 2022 at 17:31.
Shanky_1002 is offline   (2) Thanks