Old 7th December 2023, 15:47   #16

Re: Only 1 Red Porsche Macan in India, and we can't get our hands on it!

Will Porsche India not take your booking and down payment and place the order for manufacture and per your specifications?

Once it is ready, will they not import the vehicle in for you, the way Mini Cooper does?

In this matter I think the only recourse is patience.
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2023, 16:02   #17

Faced the exact same situation in 2021 albeit for a Red Mini Cooper Convertible. All dealers (Goa/ Pune/ Ahmedabad/ Bengaluru/ Chennai) told me there's only 1 available in India & that they have it. No "cross-selling" allowed in Mini too. In the end, we got it through the Mumbai dealer (guess the same one as Porsche). You need to push the dealer bro. No point in being too nice when you're spending such a bomb. I can understand your friend's craze for the color/ variant/ model so won't recommend any other car. Meet the CEO/ Management of the Mumbai dealer. You'll get what you want.
ASN_SC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2023, 17:41   #18

Will Porsche India not take your booking and down payment and place the order for manufacture and per your specifications?

Once it is ready, will they not import the vehicle in for you, the way Mini Cooper does?

In this matter I think the only recourse is patience.
Isn't that the standard modus operandi for Porsche globally except if you're picking up something from the showroom floor itself? I once tried building s configuration on the Porsche India website (Porsche Middle East) and it allowed me to make the selection for options and features as I wanted.
jubingoel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th December 2023, 18:21   #19

The best way would be to buy the vehicle from kochi. Get a temporary registration from kochi and make the permanent registration at Mumbai. This is possible as i have also done the same during my Octavia purchase back in Feb 2023. The temporary registration from Kochi dealer would help them invoice the car from their showroom and you get the desired red colour Macan in december itself. WIN-WIN situation for both of you.

Add on: You and your friend would be able to have a great road trip during the purchase.
LONG_TOURER is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th December 2023, 20:15   #20

Porsche is notorious for building pent up demand. That is their modus operandi.

Build pressure on your Mumbai dealer, you will get the car before march.
Old 7th December 2023, 21:36   #21

Consider it a lucky break that Porsche refused to sell a 2L Macan at 1.1Cr+. That is far too much money for what is in essence a tarted-up previous-generation Q5. While it's certainly admirable to pursue a dream car, there is certainly much better value floating about on the market.

For one, older Cayennes and Macans are still a superb drive and can be had all day at sub-50L prices. They have proven bones and a smattering of Volkswagen/Audi bits which makes them feasibly servicable, especially in a city like Mumbai. Alternatively, go the whole hog and get a 'proper' (so as to speak) Porsche, such as a 911 or Cayman at around the crore mark.

It won't be as practical and certainly a lot more expensive in upkeep - but it will feel an order of magnitude more special to pilot a Porsche sportscar versus a Macan.
rb003 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th December 2023, 04:48   #22

Isn't it insane that a customer buying an Alto at a Maruti dealership is probably getting better treatment than Porsche offers this guy?
McLaren Rulez is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 8th December 2023, 15:40   #23

Thank you for all your valuable inputs.

My friend agreed to settle with the papaya color with the thought that he will get a PPF Wrap done couple of years down the line, RED ofcourse! As mentioned earlier, he wanted the car to be delivered on his 50th Birthday - 4th Feb 2024 and hence could not wait until March. I convinced him to look at the 6-cylinder options like X3 M40i and X5 since he also drives a Jaguar XE and Mini Cooper Country man 2023 (purchased 6 months ago), BUT he would not budge.

Long story short, Porsche Mumbai offered him the Papaya color Macan at INR 1.12cr (a discount of INR 7 Lacs) with a 4-year Service Package. It wasn't a great experience negotiating with them on the 4-year Service package. When we visited their showroom 3 weeks back, they had assured us of the service package. Cut to yesterday, we went to shake hands and confirm the booking at 12pm and were told that the 4-year service package was only offered until 30th November 2023. This timeline was not communicated earlier and we were disappointed with the experience and walked away from the deal at that very moment only to receive a call couple of hours later from Mr. Riyank at Porsche, Mumbai that they managed to get an approval from Porsche India for the same.. Thanks to team-bhp, I told my friend not to let go off a good car just because of a poor dealership experience. He agreed and decided to go ahead.

The deal got sweeter when the dealer suggested we go for the BH registration as my friend was eligible for the same. A Whopping INR 16 Lacs was reduced from the on-road price and the final cost was INR 95.xx Lacs. They also offered him the best interest rate and we finally got the ball rolling. Mr. Riyank from Porsche Mumbai came to my friends residence at 9pm last evening to take the booking amount. After a roller-coaster ride over the last few weeks, All's well that ends well. Thank you all once again for your inputs.

Sharing a pic of the colour he finally opted for:

Only 1 Red Porsche Macan in India, and we can't get our hands on it!-porsche-macan.jpg

Last edited by RJ2285 : 8th December 2023 at 15:53.
RJ2285 is offline   (44) Thanks
Old 12th December 2023, 14:13   #24

Its good your friend settled onto something finally. I dont mean to rub salt to the wound but like a few others stated, the Macan with its base spec 2 Lt engine isnt worth the asking price. I drove it a few times and didnt quite get the kick. Heck, my V40 after the remap shoves me back to the seat with over 400NM torque and drives decently well. Yes the Macan handles like no other crossover out there but the delta is pretty slim. A true blue Macan is the Macan S but its pricing too is even more ridiculous that even the Porsche Chennai SA suggested me the Cayanne instead as the prices easily overlap.

But hey its his money, so let him enjoy the Macan for many years to come!
vjbox is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2024, 12:26   #25

My 2 cents - walk away from Porsche dealer Mumbai.
I don't feel good about how your experience has been with this dealer from day 1.
Customers choose these brands only for 2 reasons - product and customer experience. Nothing else. Here you don't have both.

Even though, neither I am in this league of car shopping nor I have driven the Macan (or any Porsche for matter), I strongly feel that this is not worth 1cr just because it is a Porsche. I will go with a brand like Porsche only on ONE condition - No financial constraint for the right model. If you friend is stuck with only Porsche, then get the right model for the right experience - Macan S, Macan GTS, Cayenne, etc.

If not, there are other options that he can consider - X3/X4 M40i, Maserati Levante, Q8, etc.
Old 15th January 2024, 15:23   #26

When the heart is set on something, no other options or justification will work. People commenting on the price and that the car isnt worth it surely dont know how the heart ponders for something one really really desires. Congratulations to your friend, that is one sexy colour.
Rahul_ak is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th January 2024, 16:20   #27

Originally Posted by RJ2285 View Post
Thank you for all your valuable inputs.
One’s 50th Birthday is Special. Wish your friend from us! And compliment him on his taste.The Papaya Orange Macan looks delicious enough to bite into! Because of you I am going to hunt up a Papaya Orange Macan Scale Model, as per my affordability levels .

Last edited by aah78 : 20th January 2024 at 03:28. Reason: Quoe trimmed.
shankar.balan is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 11th February 2024, 09:17   #28

Can anyone explain what is BH registration? What is it's eligibility? How much savings will it result in?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com