View Poll Results: Would you buy a used 2nd-gen Mahindra Thar today?
Yes 151 46.18%
No 176 53.82%
Voters: 327. You may not vote on this poll

Old 31st May 2024, 18:06   #31

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the month | Buying a used Mahindra Thar (2nd-gen)

Well, at my parents' place in Punjab, used Thar 4x4s have started going for as low as 13 Lakhs, for 4x4 Diesel Manual variants.

And that, to me at least, is a very good price.
Haze is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 19:19   #32

Looks like the most who've voted yes (and posted their reason) were/are already considering 'A Thar' and they happened/hoping to find a good deal. I think the original post is more towards whether one considering buying 'A (used) Car' should consider a used Thar. I'd love to hear reasons from the latter.

I don't own any car yet. I am interested in off-roading on a bike, but don't know if it'd translate as much to off-roading in a car. So, I'd (A) either choose a decent soft-roader with just about enough capability off-road to not feel limited in any terrain that I'm likely to actually face & enough practicality to satisfy the family needs and wants (B) or if the budget permits, get a decent sedan or crossover as per said family needs and wants & get an old Jeep instead if I really happen to like off-roading in a car. I think I'm more likely to like it, if I'm more exposed to the elements & won't feel too bad if I thrashed the car - both better in old and cheap Jeeps. Well maintained ones with 4x4 and lockers could be found for about 2L (in TN, so probably cheaper elsewhere); would probably have to spend some more for better tyres, seats, etc. But ultimately, should result in a happy medium, within the budget of the Thar in discussion, although with a running cost of two than one. I think it'd be worth it, though.

Either way, my vote would've been a 'No'.
Old 31st May 2024, 21:37   #33

Voted No.

Better to buy a new Thar, even better to wait and buy the upcoming 5 door Thar (True Wrongler).
Very recent Thars will be almost same as new, older ones were sold with niggles and may have issues.
Old 31st May 2024, 21:41   #34

Voted NO. Not even a brand new. I love my back.
VWAllstar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 23:39   #35

Got one in the family on the 23rd this month. 37k done, 13.5L for the car and with the commission and insurance etc it came to around 14L. It is the 2022 LX HT 4X4 D AT in Aquamarine.

The car is clean, got it inspected at a nearby ASS. My father wanted another car after his Storme and saw this parked at a dealer. This is our extra car at home since his commute is very limited so it is primarily being used by me for now.

It would be too early to comment but I can say that I like it fairly much. My Virtus has been parked for a week straight for the first time since I bought it.

I took it to a nearby Dam last week and the 4X4 is a delight to use.

Hope we made the right decision.

Last edited by Venkygupta : 1st June 2024 at 00:04. Reason: Forgot to mention MY
Venkygupta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 23:40   #36

Voted Yes.

All pluses and minuses of buying a new Thar also apply to a used Thar. Hardly anything to worry in terms of maintenance, as it is a rugged vehicle and very reliable. I have had a Thar now from one of the first few batches (serial number 63xx) and have had very few issues other than the ones fixed by M&M.pro-actively through service bulletins in the first year.

There have been very few new features introduced in the 3.5 years since launch. In fact, some features like lumbar support were deleted. So early versions can give you a good feature set, better than what you can buy today in the new car.

The prices ex-showroom went up by over 3 lakhs since launch, so you would still see a good gap in prices between new and used.

I think the question is not about weather Thar is the right vehicle for various use cases or not, it should be about - should someone who has decided on getting a Thar, go the used route or new.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 31st May 2024 at 23:42.
84.monsoon is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st June 2024, 06:40   #37

I think the waiting times for getting a new That should be weighed against the almost instant gratification of buying a used one. Personally, I would buy new Thar since I already have a GLA, and the hassles of buying an old one are not worth it. The issues that come with buying a Mahindra will be enough of a hassle for a new Thar itself.
Old 1st June 2024, 08:51   #38

I agree with GTO , as used prices of Thar are very close to what one would pay for new one. The price difference is hardly worth taking the chance, keeping in mind difference in terms of EMI, and peace of extended waranty .

So voted NO.
Old 1st June 2024, 12:57   #39

Ask me the same when I was naive and about 12-13 years back, you would get a different answer! With the kind of creature comfort that you get used to in other vehicles today- spending double digits on a bone rattling, nerve wrecking drive in a Thar is a big No!

A friend of mine purchased a Thar AT last year and by now she has modded it with every possible extremities money can buy including but not limited to 20" alloys! The drive is very harsh and primitive so I don't think owning one would ever be a good idea. On a lighter note: The once distant friend is now closer
to me and prefers to exchange her Thar with my Punch EV so that she can have a peaceful and silent drive. I get to enjoy the pimped out Thar, win-win for the both of us!
richie4u is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2024, 17:23   #40

Voted No.

Reasons:
- I'd rather buy a new one given the price differential between a new and used Thar is not a lot.
- The newer Thars have better suspension and ride quality.
- Many owners (not all) tend to abuse their Thars. Just yesterday evening, I saw a brand new Thar flying across a road ridden with huge potholes that was also flooded due to the heavy rains in Bangalore. It was very hard to gauge the depth of the potholes owing to the waterlogging.
Old 5th June 2024, 13:21   #41

Voted yes for these scenarios.
  • It does not involve availing any loan.
  • It is a Petrol Thar. This has the most depreciation advantage.

I was looking for such a deal late 2023, found quite a few top Petrol AT in and around NCR with as much as 40% less compared to new one. Just need to find a desperate seller who didn't give much thought about running cost at the time of purchase. I would say, it's easier to find such in NCR.
Old 1st July 2024, 12:13   #42

The Thar | New in BH series vs Pre-worshipped

Hi BHPians,

Wanted your help/opinion on my dilemma about purchasing a new petrol Thar AT hard top in Bharat (BH) series registration vs a pre-worshipped petrol Thar with similar specifications and registered in Karnataka.
The decision is the heart over the mind, but I am looking forward for a long term ownership of the vehicle. The Thar will be my second vehicle and primarily used for mountain trips, some off-roading, and office commute will be shared between the Thar and my BMW.

My Himalayan trips definitely call for a few accessories which I want to add to my Thar - roof rack, hard top luggage box, under body protection, jerry can etc. and few cosmetic upgrades, these will add upto around 1.5 lakhs to my budget irrespective of the buying decision I make.

I am highlighting the factors which are under consideration and leading to the dilemma:

Pre-worshipped Thar
Pros:
  • Cost: well maintained 2022 petrol Thar AT hard top with KA registration (under 20000 kms on the odo) are in the range of 16-16.5 lakhs (for reference, a new petrol Thar AT HT will cost around 21.8 lakhs on road in KA).
  • Third party insurance paid till 2025.
  • I am settled in Bangalore, so don't mind having a KA registered vehicle.
  • [minor] Most pre-owned vehicles already come with a few cosmetic updates (grille) and underbody protection.

Cons:
  • Loosing on nearly 2 years of warranty, especially on a vehicle which might be used by the first owner for off-roading.
  • [minor] Most vehicles I have checked don't have extended warranty paid for, I might have to shell out another 34200 for the warranty (but this point would be true for a new Thar as well).

BH series Thar
My company has offices in four states, the on-road price of new Thar petrol AT hard top when purchased in BH registration with come around 17.9 lakhs (16.59 lakhs (vehicle cost) + 95000 (insurance) + 34000 (initial 2 year road-tax))

Pros:
  • New vehicle and longer warranty is the biggest positive factor. I am also looking for a long term ownership of the vehicle.
  • [minor] Colour choice.

Cons:
  • Up front cost escalation of 1.5 lakh rupees, which could be spent on must have accessories for my requirements (as highlighted above).
  • Future payment of around 1.35 lakhs in road taxes, split over a 13 year horizon (the rupee will depreciate, so probably a minor factor).

Thank you, looking for your valuable advice.

Admins: please move it to a relevant thread/sub-thread if required.
Old 2nd September 2024, 23:27   #43

Voted for YES!

Considering that new Thar AT costs close to 22L on road in Hyd, I'd rather pick up a less run Thar D AT or P AT for 15-16L, which is the present value in used car market and get it modded to my taste with the money I've saved.

Will consider post 2021 vehicles mostly as I heard that issues are ironed out, probably.

Buying a new 3D Thar doesn't make sense IMO and by spending a lac, you can get a Scorpio-N Z8S D AT or Thar Roxx AX5L/AX7L D AT though RWD at the same price as 3D Thar AT but you get 5 door, which is a win-win situation for people, who are aspiring to buy a new Thar.
Old 25th February 2025, 15:22   #44

Hello Everyone,

I am in the market looking for a Pre-Worshipped Thar. I am specifically looking for a Petrol Manual 4x4 Hard Top Variant.

Team-BHP pre-worshipped buying guide helped me when I was buying my first pre-worshipped Tiago. However I have some question.

1. How do I check the health of transfer case and differential.

2. What is the best way to figure out that the 4WD modes are working properly without niggles?

3. What are the points I should look at to estimate the abuse to 4H and 4L modes.

Thanks in Advance

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com