Old 19th September 2007, 18:04   #1

M800 Production Stopped?

Today I got my M800's tyres changed. The dealer told me that M800 production has been stopped but Maruti has not yet announced it formally (to sell off the existing lot in stock)

Is this true?? Is it the end of the Saga that brought the common man to become a car owner in India?

I remember the days of Ambassadors and Fiats and when maruti 800 was launched in 1984, I guess nobody would have expected it to have sold so many!

Its very sad if this is indeed true...the End of Maruti 800!
Old 19th September 2007, 18:08   #2

I can be sure of one thing . No car is ever going to dominate consistently for as long as M800 did ! Maruti's Star batsman really played an awesome innings .
Old 19th September 2007, 18:19   #3

M800 will always be a legend which turned around car market in India. Its really a sad news, feel like keeping my M800 just like people kept there old classic fiats.
I am sure we will not have problems finding spares for it
Old 19th September 2007, 18:30   #4

I dont think Maruti will discontinue the 800 since it is yet selling in respectable numbers. And the fact that a cut-price 800 is Marutis best weapon against the Tata 1 lac car!
Old 19th September 2007, 18:32   #5

Sales were still great on the 800 right....If its true then A LEGEND has been put to rest!!!
Old 19th September 2007, 18:38   #6

The 500cc, flat bonnet Maruti was the first Maruti (even before the 800, I think) and looked very cute.
It can serve as an answer to 1 lack car from Tata.
Old 19th September 2007, 18:38   #7

I dont think Maruti will discontinue the 800 since it is yet selling in respectable numbers. And the fact that a cut-price 800 is Marutis best weapon against the Tata 1 lac car!
The M800 dies must be very, very old now, I am not sure how long they will continue to produce the car?

But yes, Maruti really can kill TATAs 1 Lac car if they slash M800's price, atleast as close to 1 Lac as possible!
Old 19th September 2007, 18:38   #8

well i don't think they might have stopped it for every they migh have stop for time being till interest rate drops and demand picks up as automobile is the hardest hi and this segment which had to suffer
but i don't feel it is THE END
Old 19th September 2007, 18:40   #9

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
The 500cc, flat bonnet Maruti was the first Maruti (even before the 800, I think) and looked very cute.
It can serve as an answer to 1 lack car from Tata.

That was the first M800, dear! and THE BEST 800...it was called Suzuki SS80. The engine was completely imported from Japan and assembled here. It was an 800cc with 39 BHP and a real gem of a car!
Old 19th September 2007, 18:55   #10

Nopes. I don't think this is true news.
I think Maruti will wait till TATA, Renault, Bajaj etc guys to launch their so called " 1 LAKH Rs CAR ".
Based on their pricing maruti will either try to slash the pricing of 800 or give these guys a tough competetion.
Old 19th September 2007, 21:20   #11

if this is true it will be END OF AN ERA.
but i dont think its true. maruti ll position 800 against tata 1 lac car.

the 1st gen 800 was very better built than 800 which were built around 90s.
Old 19th September 2007, 21:21   #12

I’m sure Maruti wanted to 800 to die and Alto to take its place, one reason is, this is the car which follows lest safety norms of Suzuki, but they were just not able to kill it.
One more thing, nowadays I’m seeing more paper adv. of 800 than usual, are they wanted to clear the stocks?
Old 19th September 2007, 23:18   #13

GTO and Sushrutha,

But, isnt Suzuki said to be developing their 1 lakh car from scratch in a secrecy-veiled project from their Japanese plant (I remember reading such an article either on TBhp or in the print media) ? On a related thought, looking at the Tata-1 from Steeroid's thread, the M800 Minus will not stand too much chance on the aesthetics front with the Tata-1 looking way more modern.

Also, keeping in mind the upcoming legislation of crash-certification, the M800's USP of the "cheapest car" may not hold true anymore for Maruti to continue its production, esp in light of its dwindling numbers.

Last edited by theMAG : 19th September 2007 at 23:22.
Old 20th September 2007, 06:32   #14

Damn!
I was hoping to buy the M800 one day as my first car.
Its the car i learned to drive in and i was always hoping to buy it one day because i have sentimental attachment to it.
Hope this isn't true.
Old 20th September 2007, 07:46   #15

If crash tests are made mandatory, most of the older era cars might have to go