Old 12th January 2008, 05:21   #1

TATA's new baby - Bring it to Britain and the world!

Come on TATA bring that baby car to Britain. Don't be embarrased by it's price or build quality. Whack in the air compressed engine you are developing and kill off the G-Wizz (see: GoinGreen - Driving Down Pollution)

The G-Wizz is a rubbish car that sells well here for 4 times the price in London because it's exempt from the congestion charge. The new TATA is cheaper, better and safer. Be honest about what it is, sell it as a green car and it will do just fine. Use the TATA brand on the cheap cars like this and Rover on better cars like the Indica.

Everyone in the world may want one of these cars. Some because it's cheap others because it's environmentally friendly. Don't let us down! It's so cheap that we can forgive it's faults (if there are any) and it's a car we all need and want. Well done TATA!
Old 13th January 2008, 02:39   #2

Originally Posted by Tstag View Post
Come on TATA bring that baby car to Britain. Don't be embarrased by it's price or build quality. Whack in the air compressed engine you are developing and kill off the G-Wizz (see: GoinGreen - Driving Down Pollution)

The G-Wizz is a rubbish car that sells well here for 4 times the price in London because it's exempt from the congestion charge. The new TATA is cheaper, better and safer. Be honest about what it is, sell it as a green car and it will do just fine. Use the TATA brand on the cheap cars like this and Rover on better cars like the Indica.

Everyone in the world may want one of these cars. Some because it's cheap others because it's environmentally friendly. Don't let us down! It's so cheap that we can forgive it's faults (if there are any) and it's a car we all need and want. Well done TATA!
The G-Wizz looks exactly like the Miani - Reva.. is it the same car?
Old 13th January 2008, 04:07   #3

If you are talking about the Tata Nano, while it may be a mammoth achievement I dont think it is a suitable car for a developed market like Britain. Besides im sure shipping it down to UK would add a signifcant amount to its price.
Old 13th January 2008, 08:48   #4

I'm almost sure that will be a LONG WAIT, if it happens.

Dont think TATA can meet the demand in the Indian market also. Expect big big waiting periods for the car.
Old 13th January 2008, 08:51   #5

Dont think TATA can meet the demand in the Indian market also. Expect big big waiting periods for the car.
Lets just hope the situation in Shingur becomes better. I dont know why Tata is stuch to Shingur, Im sure it added to the cost of the project and delayed it.

I remember Ratan Tata saying in an interview that the group hadnt entered Shingur to leave it.
Old 13th January 2008, 09:24   #6

Originally Posted by Tstag View Post
The G-Wizz is a rubbish car that sells well here for 4 times the price in London because it's exempt from the congestion charge. The new TATA is cheaper, better and safer.
Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
The G-Wizz looks exactly like the Miani - Reva.. is it the same car?
It is. Our humble (with a not-so-humble pricetag!) Reva is the G-Wizz in the UK.

It would make a LOT of sense if the Mainis concentrated on building electric powertrains and left the car-making to the likes of Tata. How about a Maini-powered Nano?

Last edited by Steeroid : 13th January 2008 at 09:25.
Old 13th January 2008, 09:27   #7

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
If you are talking about the Tata Nano, while it may be a mammoth achievement I dont think it is a suitable car for a developed market like Britain. Besides im sure shipping it down to UK would add a signifcant amount to its price.
Why not Khanak? If the Chinese can sell the Brilliance (NOT!!) then we can sell the Nano there.
Old 13th January 2008, 09:32   #8

Originally Posted by ananthkamath View Post
Why not Khanak? If the Chinese can sell the Brilliance (NOT!!) then we can sell the Nano there.
Arent there too many safety and emission norms for us to be able to price the nano low enough there. Dont all cars there have to be fitted with ABS and Airbags? Besides isnt the average car buyer in those markets a lot more demanding?

I definatly see then nano doing excellent business in developing nations where assembly plants are set up but dont really think its the right car for places like Britain where one might even wind up paying more in parking and congestion charges than on the actual car itself.
Old 13th January 2008, 10:28   #9

In France they have an exemption if you homologate it as a quadricycle. Only that Nano is much better than a quadricycle.

Ratan Tata said that Nano currently meets Euro3 and can be outfitted to meet Euro4 as well.
Old 13th January 2008, 10:30   #10

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
In France they have an exemption if you homologate it as a quadricycle. Only that Nano is much better than a quadricycle.

Ratan Tata said that Nano currently meets Euro3 and can be outfitted to meet Euro4 as well.
I think a Top Gear episode also talked about how the Reva was also sold as a quadricycle to get around the legislation. I still dont think this car is a good choice for the developed countries.
Old 13th January 2008, 10:51   #11

They need to cater to the "desi demands" first after that TATA can think of overseas. Of course, the margins would be better in overseas. But TATA has promised to Indian People a "People's Car" would be made and will be available. No one knows how the servicing of these will be. I feel, they need to setup a seperate A** for these vehicles as the volumes will be quite high and the no. of vehicles for servicing will also be high. Hope they might have thought of all these things.
Old 13th January 2008, 10:57   #12

A two door Nano will be perfect for the foreign market, where all of the smaller-cost cars have two doors, and where not as much importance is given to full-time four-seater needs.
Old 13th January 2008, 12:25   #13

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
Lets just hope the situation in Shingur becomes better. I dont know why Tata is stuch to Shingur, Im sure it added to the cost of the project and delayed it.

Oh well it will improve. Mamata madam has asked for 10 lakh of these cars as ransom to settle the issue.

The Hindu : Front Page : Give 10 lakh Nanos free, says Mamata
Old 13th January 2008, 12:47   #14

As per Ratan Tata's interview published in Times of India, he will let the car mature in the Indian market first. Then he will think of taking it to other countries, mostly African, south American and south east Asian markets. So i guess Europe might be last priority for him.

Secondly Tata also talked about his vision to create a different kind of production, distribution and support network for Nano. He wants to give opportunity to young enterprenuer's to setup satellite assembling facilities all over India. Tata's factories will ship the Nano kits to these assembling plants and those guys will do that final assembly on profit sharing basis. As per the support, he says that a support engineer will be assigned to a certain number of customers that engineer will cater to those customers in a self employment type scheme, much like the Life Insurance agents of LIC :-).

Well this is a revolutionary vision...there will be challenges in terms of maintaining the quality across the assembling plants and support engineers. But this might also bring in relief to customers since the nukkad wali garage guy can get himself trained and certified to repair Nano, rather than you taking it the dealer's workshops. I hope this model gets implemented and becomes successful.

-Vaspro
Old 13th January 2008, 12:48   #15

Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
Oh well it will improve. Mamata madam has asked for 10 lakh of these cars as ransom to settle the issue.
What will she do with these cars? Run them as taxis in Koltata?