Old 28th January 2008, 07:36   #1

Good schools in India for vehicle design?

Sorry if this is the wrong forum to post this in...didn't know where it went.

Are there any good schools in India for vehicle design? Thanks.
Old 28th January 2008, 09:50   #2

In India theres IIT's IDC and a design school in Ahemdabad that teach vehicle design. I believe it would be a better option to study abroad though.
Old 28th January 2008, 09:55   #3

I would agree with Khanak's suggestion, as far as I know the kind of expertise you need is simply not available here.

Wasn't there supposed to be an academy being set up by DC in Pune or somewhere??
Old 28th January 2008, 10:02   #4

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
In India theres IIT's IDC and a design school in Ahemdabad that teach vehicle design. I believe it would be a better option to study abroad though.
I know i want do that here, I am in Los Angeles right now and they have the best design school In the USA here in Pasadena, a suburb of LA. But I just got done with my Mech. Engg. degree and am planning to move back to India next year. I don't have enough time to finish the entire degree, i was planning on taking some classes and taking a few more back in India. To me the degree is not that important but the knowledge is, at this point.

Does the National Institute of Design in Ahmedabad have a vehicle design degree? I checked their website but could not find anything. Anything you know of in Bombay?

Old 28th January 2008, 10:50   #5

This NID Program could be what you are looking for?

Also, some related threads:

Link 1

Link 2
Old 28th January 2008, 12:39   #6
srh

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
As per my knowledge, both IDC, IITB and NID Ahd can maybe equip you with the styling/ ergonomics etc. aspect of designing. I don't think that these insitutes are in any way equipped to teach design (structural/ vehicle dynamics/ powertrain/ aerodynamics etc)
Old 28th January 2008, 13:05   #7

Originally Posted by srh View Post
As per my knowledge, both IDC, IITB and NID Ahd can maybe equip you with the styling/ ergonomics etc. aspect of designing. I don't think that these insitutes are in any way equipped to teach design (structural/ vehicle dynamics/ powertrain/ aerodynamics etc)
Where is a good place to learn the structural aspects and vehicle dynamics? I do have a mechanical engineering background....
Old 28th January 2008, 13:05   #8

@ spawnofsatan
You are already in Los Angeles. What i suggest is to extend your visa and stay back to do the course if you can.
Trust me it would be anyday better than a PG course from India after a US degree.
As the norm goes UG level studies in India are good but at PG level better stick to the tradition and do a course from US itself.

I have seen more than many talented guys who failed to make the cut because the people in the industry never gave weightage to Indian master's degrees.
Old 27th October 2008, 09:43   #9

How to study Automobile Design ??

Hi Bhpians,
I am in a Dilemma in choosing my career for the future and which college to go into.
1.Can you please guide me the best place to do Automobile Design after 10+2
2. And, does it have enough opportunity in the Jobs (not only their availability also thier salaries, incentives Etc)
3. Anyone in the same line can help me make the beast of my life
Old 27th October 2008, 13:16   #10

In India there is no course in automobile design as such but you can study Industrial Product Design from places like NID, IDC etc and specialise in automobile design.
With the likes of GM and Renault opening studios apart from Indian companies like Telco and MUL already having design facilities for many years, I am sure the opportunities are in plenty.

Last edited by Guna : 27th October 2008 at 13:28.
Old 28th October 2008, 00:11   #11

raffles design institute,mumbai.
i am a product design student.its really cool and they have a real good faculty.
Old 28th October 2008, 10:49   #12
JRD

@ spawn:
hey good to hear that you are joining the car design community. From the research I did for my degree in Automotive Design, the best schools are:

USA:
Art Center Pasadena
CCS Detroit
Academy of Art University San Francisco (I graduated from here. They also offer online classes so you might want to check that out as well)

India:
NID Ahmedabad (Yes it does have an Automotive Design Programme. Ps:I will be attending as a guest lecturer there as soon as my work schedule becomes a little forgiving.)
IIT Delhi and IIT Mumbai (Cant say how they are but a lot of indian car designers have graduated from there.)

Let me know if you require any help regarding this degree.
JRD.
JRD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2010, 16:06   #13

Finally,DC' has come up with automobile Designing College!

Dear All,

Pleased to inform you about DC's Autmoboile designing college in India.
DYPDC College of Automobile Designing and Research Cetre is situated at Lohegaon ,Pune,India.

'DYP-DC institute offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree programs in Automobile Designing .
Reputed educational institution D Y Patil and Automobile Design guru Dilip Chabbria have come together to form this world-class design institute.

The institute has -

Renowned faculty
Well-stocked library with international reference books, journals, catalogues
Advance design studio with all modern machinery
World class computer lab
300-seat auditorium
All possible sporting amenities

For more information, please visit DYP-DC

or Contact@ 020-3061 2841/42/43
Old 20th September 2011, 11:06   #14

Automobile Designing - career option questions

This is the question one of my family friends asked me about his son.

He is in the 2nd year diploma course and want to pursue automobile design as a career option. What are the option. As per my limited knowledge, there are courses in NID but that requires degree.
1. Can he go about some degree course in designing, and if so info on the options, which University, course name etc. would be helpful.
2. If he does not want to pursue degree after diploma (I guess after 3rd year in diploma you get admission to degree course, 2nd year directly), what are the options and future prospects as he wont have engineering "degree"
3. If he joins degree (any degree, but he prefers automobile or mechanical) and then pursue specialisation in designing from NID or likes (would like to know other options as well) what is the additional advantage he gets in terms of long-term career prospect v/s diploma and then design specialisation course.

I know this is long query, but very important from someone's career and life point of view. Thanks.
Old 7th May 2013, 17:13   #15

Automotive Design as a profession

Hello Everybody

This is Jagpreet, basically from Panchkula (Chandigarh) and I have been a member of TBHP since long, but never actively participated. Though I always head to the TBHP whenever any information regarding Indian automobile market is required.

Motive of the thread
There are a lot of Automotive Design enthusiasts here but I could not find even a single topic dedicated to designing alone. Hence, an initiative.

My aim of creating this very thread is to talk about automotive design as a profession. I am an automotive designer myself and I am sure there are many car designers connected to TBHP in one way or the other. I would request them all to kindly put in their thoughts as well.

I would like people to ask questions about designing and would love to clear my own doubts about the same. Though I have a small website www.jagpreetdesign.com where many of the questions have been answered, yet it is always good to know each other better.

Along with, this thread can also be used as a resource to understand the thinking of Indian users from design point of view.
The more experienced designers can put in their views and help create an awareness as well as understanding about the Automotive Design field.

What is Car designing?
Car designing has many varied departments. From the design research to sketching to 3D modeling to clay model to prototype building, all these departments work in coherence to create a new vehicle or update an existing one.
Car designing aims at giving the car buyer with new products. New shapes, or new segments and even new technology is given as an alternative to the existing one.

The Design Process
Every design process starts with a design brief where the Design planning department gives the Creative Design/Styling department with inputs related to new product. It includes the target market, segment, customer, size of the vehicle, competitor product etc.
The designers then work around this given brief and come out with their ideas. Many design firms/studios hold a competition among their designers to find out the best design. The way of choosing the best design varies from company to company.

The selected design(s) is(are) further improved a lot.
At a stage when the final design is selected, it goes further for clay modeling and 3D modeling. A to and fro process between the clay model and the 3D model takes place (initially a smaller model is built, then a final full scale one is built). It is important to model the product in clay since it gives a live demonstration of the design. The designers and even the management people can decide about the changes required, approval etc based on this very model.

Once approved, the clay model is taken further and a prototype is built to show case the new design to the Public!
That is when you see a 'concept' car in the auto expos. That is where the company gets a feedback about the design.

That is what the basics are. Will be updating more upon design education in India and abroad soon.

PS: Questions welcome!

-Cordially
Jagpreet
jagpreetsingh is offline   (5) Thanks