Originally Posted by narayan what is the point ?? what is the demand for automatic cars in the sub 10 lakh category ( how many NHC CVTs are being sold anyways ? ) |
You will be surprised. Try getting a pre owned one and you will know. Though the actual figures as compared to the Manual option would not be much, the market is not exactly a niche segment anymore.
I have a NHC CVT and I had a hell of a time searching for a good pre owned example. I think the new car is overpriced at almost nine lacs so I wanted a pre owned one. It took me well over two months to find a car. There were just were none available.
The NHC lacs character, unlike the previous gen citys. I hate the looks, the way she handles and almost everything about it except its practicality and bullet proof mechanicals. But they have gone too far trying to make it practical and have succeeded. I love driving it in the city traffic, light and nimble. The highway can be a sore topic though.
Also there was no other choice available as i already have an auto Santro and Wifey wont touch a manual. (why do you think im trying stunts with what was supposed to be her Swift??

)
Coming to Hyundai, i respect the company and its products. No less than the its Japanese counterpart. My Santro has done about 64K Kilometers since new and is built like a rock. I have also seen Viper's Getz get into an unfortunate bad accident. I have also seen Viper walk out of it without a scratch (thank God) wherein the car was smashed so i can vouch for Hyundai build quality. The Honda is not my preferred choice of car. My CRV has sheet metal, like paper, so has the NHC.
As Indians, we have grown up with the lesson that an auto cannot be repaired once it goes bad, much like I have seen many a person getting reprimanded by their elders for using the indicator for changing lanes. "You might break it" was the logic. This was the case some years ago.
This logic went for a toss as traffic grew and A/cs became almost mandatory.
No windows down, no hand signals. So one got used to using the indicator to change lanes.
Just as these impressions change, so will the auto-box impression. Ask anyone who has used it once in traffic. They are hooked for life.
My family has had autos since I can remember. I learnt driving on a 66 LHD auto. At that time there was no option. An imported car was available from the STC and it was a sale through tender, as is where is. Mostly these were cars bought by diplomats and counsulates, which were sold to our government at throw away prices, which we were offered at some stupidly high prices (and which we readily bought). There was no choice of colour or trim or even drive train. Hence being lovers of large cars (my Grandfathers built was a huge deciding factor) we bought a lot of these huge tanks. I guess thats why I was initiated into auto-boxes at a very early age.
With the advent of crazy traffic and more and more women driving, the auto-box revolution is inevitable. Mark my words, When women will walk into the car showrooms sans their husbands or fathers who make the choice for them, they will opt for the auto box. It will come sooner than we all think. Im sure every car company is looking into this option. Dont even consider hearing any argument which rotates around the failure of auto-boxes in Marutis. All their cars had auto-boxes which were lemons. The Esteem, the 800, the WagonR and the Zen. The lesser said regarding the automatic versions about these, the better.
Before I bought the auto Santro I wanted to go in for an auto WagonR as I had previously owned a WagonR and i think it is one hell of a practical car, yes even over the Santro.
When i went to check the auto version out, i was shocked to find it was available only in base version with power steering and A/c. and cost a whopping 75K more than the highest version of the manual WagonR. Then the box was crap. Thats why i opted for the Santro.
Coming to the point of the pricing, I think Hyundai have always priced their products very competitively (Santro, Accent, Sonata) Dont know what happens to them with CBUs and the Getz.
Lets hope the Verna comes at a sub 10 lac price bracket. It will be lapped up im positive. If they get greedy, Honda will laugh all the way to the bank yet again.