Old 30th May 2008, 23:16   #1

Coming soon.. the Automatic Verna!! EDIT : Now here!

At present the only car available in the sub 10 lakh bracket, with an auto option is the Honda City. Thats it. If anyone wants an auto, then he has no choice. He has to only head to the Honda showroom....Until Now.
Well. well, well. The much needed option is finally arriving.
I was speaking to some very reliable sources and was enquiring, as to when the Hyundai was launching the much awaited i10 Automatic.
"In a month" was the reply. What was more exiting, was what he said after that.
"The Verna diesel is ready for launch soon in India, with an automatic option. We are finalyzing the price factor." He said. I hope they price it within the nine lakh tag, they would do well, keeping in mind the mindset of the manufacturers to introduce an automatic but not in the top most trim.
That was great news I thought. The only diesel auto option available in that segment size or price wise.
What a perfect match, the fabulous Crdi, a winner of an engine mated to an autobox.
If Hyundai gets the pricing right, they could land with a winner.
I think this is the beginning of the automatic invasion. If The Verna does well, other manufacturers will follow suit. Then maybe we could have an auto SX4, or even.
My guess is they would be announcing the Auto VErna very close to the auto i10.
Im watching.
Old 30th May 2008, 23:21   #2

That's nice - If they slot it within the 9 Lac bracket. I am sure they will see sales double of the Verna Diesel.
Old 30th May 2008, 23:24   #3

An engine which already has tonnes of turbo lag mated with a laggy slushbox ain't gonna be fun to drive especially in the city.
Old 30th May 2008, 23:25   #4

Thats a very good news indeed. In that case the Verna would be the first diesel car to have an auto gearbox. Thanks for sharing the news Gogiji.
Old 30th May 2008, 23:41   #5

Yipeee! now that solves my problem of a Getz replacement!

Love the Verna, but for its manual tranny! now that they get automatic, will look forward to it!

@ Dhaval, I reckon the first diesel car with Auto gearbox would be as follows:
First: Skoda Octavia
Second: Skoda Laura
Third: Hyundai Sonata Embera

This is excluding Mercedes.
Old 30th May 2008, 23:46   #6

Oooppsyy!! I take my words back Insane Devil. Pardon my ignorance.

dhaval
Old 31st May 2008, 00:10   #7

Thats excellent. A welcome move by Hyundai. The only thing that they can get wrong in this is the pricing!
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
An engine which already has tonnes of turbo lag mated with a laggy slushbox ain't gonna be fun to drive especially in the city.
May be, a good box can do away with the lag. We can be hopeful till the product comes out.
Old 31st May 2008, 01:34   #8

That's really good news. IMHO, the pricing i doubt will be below 10Lacs. History goes for Auto tranny pricing in India to be above the top end available models. Verna CRDI SX on road in BLR is around 9.5L. I would expect the auto transmission to be 10.5L -10.75L on road. Let's hope for the best.
Old 31st May 2008, 02:34   #9

my next car if i do not get the civic
Old 31st May 2008, 02:47   #10

Jeez, they are doing all the wrong things. They should be launching the Elantra/Avante first with that awesome diesel. Verna_D auto..is it even sold in other countries?

Last edited by Mpower : 31st May 2008 at 07:31.
Old 31st May 2008, 04:51   #11

Will be an amazing car with auto tranny,well in 9 lac bracket there was no option in diesel at all. well may be i would sell my verna after it completes 3 years and then would buy the auto if its under 10 lac bracket. iam sure hyundia will work on the auto to make the turbo lag as less as possible. and iam sure they would lauch it in the VGT version only and not SX to keep the price tag down.
Old 31st May 2008, 10:18   #12

Price would be a deciding factor. However the diesel with auto will be a boon for many.
If they launch this car, then must appreciate them for this.

However they must get the gearing right given Turbo lag.

SX4 diesel is itself an illusion or mirage. Then forget about the autobox with either diesel or petrol.
Old 31st May 2008, 10:20   #13

They better come out with a proper 5 Speed A/T with Tiptronic.
Old 31st May 2008, 12:17   #14

i dont think they will come out with tiptronic, it will be normal 5 speed gear box..
Old 31st May 2008, 12:23   #15

Wow ! Just yesterday I was cribbing away (stuck in a jam) to my gf about the lack of a diesel automatic car. And today Gogi posts this.

This is my next car for sure. Hyundai - guys better price it perfect, please.

Whoaa ! An auto i10 too - double whammy for me. Yaay