Team-BHP - Hyundai i10 with 1.2 engine in two months EDIT: Now Launched

-   -   Hyundai i10 with 1.2 engine in two months EDIT: Now Launched (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/40444-hyundai-i10-1-2-engine-two-months-edit-now-launched.html)

First the real news:

Saturday, May 31, 2008
Hyundai to launch new 'i10' with 1.2L engine in two months
NEW DELHI: Country's second largest car manufacturer Hyundai Motor will launch a new model of its hatchback 'i10',
powered by a 1.2 litre all aluminium engine, within the next two months.

"We are planning to launch the new 'i10' model with 1.2L petrol engine in the next two months. It will be powerful
by an additional 15 bhp against the existing one, which comes in a 1.1L engine," a Hyundai Motor India Limited's spokesperson
told reporters on the sidelines of induction ceremony of third batch of students traffic volunteers here.

He, however, refused to give any price range of the yet to be launched model.

The current 'i10' model comes with a 66.7 bhp (brake horsepower) powered engine is priced in the range of Rs 3.31 lakh to Rs
4.83 lakh (ex-showroom, Delhi).

The new engine, under the code name 'Kappa', is being developed at the company's Chennai facility, he said.

The company had earlier announced a Rs 12,000 crore investment plan in the facility to reach a production capacity of three
lakh engines per annum.

Besides catering to the domestic market, the company would export engines from the Chennai plant by the end of this year, he said.

Hyundai is also planning to launch the LPG variant of its most successful model 'Santro' by August this year.

"We will launch LPG variants across all categories. It will start with Santro in August, followed by Accent and Getz," the
spokesperson added.

'Santro', powered by a 1,086cc engine, is available in CNG, diesel and petrol versions at present.

Besides, the company would also introduce the CNG variant of its sedan 'Accent' in the next few months, he added.

Source : Economic Times (5/30/2008)
The link is :
Hyundai to launch new 'i10' with 1.2L engine in two months

Note: When I tried to search with " Hyundai i10 1.2 " , using search facality, I got this:

MODS: If you find any such other topic, merge/close this thread.

The i10 1.2 CRDi is being discussed here http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post764085

OT: to search for words less than 4 letters, you need to use google:
"i10 1.2" site:team-bhp.com - Google Search

Originally Posted by SumitB (Post 850022)
The i10 1.2 CRDi is being discussed here http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post764085

OT: to search for words less than 4 letters, you need to use google:
"i10 1.2" site:team-bhp.com - Google Search

1) HERE THE TALK IS ABOUT 1.2 PETROL THAT WILL ADD ANOTHER 15BHP TO 66 AT PRESENT.

2) I SEARCHED WITH " Hyundai i10 1.2 " . Only i10 1.2 equals to 7 character with space.

Thanks anyway. I will now use google.

Each individual term has to be atleast 4 letters.

Mods Please Merge the thread.

Guys, read is somewhere else too, than the link posted. This is not the i10 CRDi. This is a new petrol engine to add to the Santro derived engine they are using right now in the i10.

There is not even a discussion of diesel by Hyundai spokesperson

I think Hyundai is trying to be in the leagues of Swift by this move because they will price it in the same bracket as of swift and that will kill i10 for this...

Its the Getz not the i-10 that needs a 15bhp boost badly.

oh an i10 with 1.2 engine? and perhaps a lac more for that kind of spec? common hyundai launch something proper once and for all. and atleast have as many variants as the palio. the 1.2 itself is severely underpowered for city use, i cant imagine what 1.1 would be (the existing one). i know hyundai is known for zippy cars, but thats only until you add the load of 5 people, luggage and ac! its only then does the real problems start showing up.

i m fortunate to own a 1.3 diesel hatch (swiftd) which never lets me down in this respect. but I still think a 1.3 + pete or a 1.5 would make ultimate sense for the kind of stop and go traffic we have today.

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 (Post 850213)

Thanks for informing.This will be very useful to me.

Originally Posted by CrAzY dRiVeR (Post 850222)
This is not the i10 CRDi. This is a new petrol engine to add to the Santro derived engine they are using right now in the i10.

Yes a new petrol motor with 15 more bhp than 66. This equals to 81bhp.
Cost will be concern.

Originally Posted by S_budhiraj (Post 850239)
There is not even a discussion of diesel by Hyundai spokesperson

I think Hyundai is trying to be in the leagues of Swift by this move because they will price it in the same bracket as of swift and that will kill i10 for this...

If they price the i10 1.2 higher than the present range, then its not good, atleast for customers.

Originally Posted by Mpower (Post 850266)
Its the Getz not the i-10 that needs a 15bhp boost badly.

Correct. This engine would do the best to revive the Getz plus will make that model successful.

Originally Posted by GeekSrik (Post 850291)
oh an i10 with 1.2 engine? and perhaps a lac more for that kind of spec? ..

Yes pricing will remain an issue. They have indirectly told power output, but refused to declare the price. If the prices go up, its no good for Indian customers.

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 (Post 850213)

Mods Please Merge the thread.

Small correction : On request, we have enabled 3 letter searches.

Originally Posted by aaggoswami (Post 849994)
'Santro', powered by a 1,086cc engine, is available in CNG, diesel and petrol versions at present.

Didnt know about the Diesel variant of Santro being available? Some one please enlighten me on this one :D. I know that you are getting Getz Diesel which has the same engine as the Verna.

The i10 with the 1.2 engine has been spotted here:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post778900

Originally Posted by hrag (Post 851003)
The i10 with the 1.2 engine has been spotted here:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...tml#post778900

Yes, read that and the user said that the cars were fast.
Now wonder they will be with 80-81bhp from the present 66.

@GTO:

It took me really long time to get accustomed to the search facility. Now onwards I will take care of these things.

I have two more links:
1)
Hyundai to launch new 'i10' in two months

2) This is more about the $3500 Hyundai car coming in 2011, but near the end of the article you will find the news:

The Hindu : Business : Hyundai plans small car by 2011