Old 6th April 2005, 01:49   #1

Any update on San Motors?

Has San Motors made any progress in the past years? Their convertible looks cool on their website. (may be something is wrong with me, I love all red convertibles!) I hoped to see more of these cars, but I failed to see a single "San Storm" during my visit to India a few months back.

With an imported Engine, and a good dealer network, I do not see why they cannot succeed in getting small volumes.

Are there any recent reviews or updates on this car?
-Prasadee
Old 6th April 2005, 08:54   #2

Saw one in the rain with the roof down over the weekend - my guess is that they are drowning !
Old 6th April 2005, 10:04   #3

Ajmat, when did San ever stay afloat?

Prasadee, theres a reason why you hardly see Storms on the road...and the few that are seen are bought out of ignorance. A Petrol Indica / Zen would leave it for dead in a drag. Its build quality reminds me of a certain Sipani Motors. And its priced at 6.5 lacs on the road in Bombay. I would rather buy an HM Ambassador Avigo than a San Storm.

Heres my and Dippys San Storm Test Drive report

Old 6th April 2005, 10:14   #4

Originally Posted by GTO
...and the few that are seen are bought out of ignorance. A

and I have seen one for sale, sold out of regret
Old 6th April 2005, 10:37   #5

With an imported Engine,
A maruti 800 MpFi is way better

and a good dealer network,
Youre kidding me right?

The San Storm has to be one of the worst built cars in the country. For a full review with pics and comments check out the link GTO has mentioned

Dippy
Old 6th April 2005, 10:49   #6

Originally Posted by prasadee
With an imported Engine, and a good dealer network, I do not see why they cannot succeed in getting small volumes.
Ha, ha, ha. Man, that was a riot. I am assuming you are from the R2I forum, looks like referring this forum there was a good thing. Here, you will really learn a lot about cars.
Old 6th April 2005, 11:39   #7

Hey guys what is there website.
I have seen 3 san storms near my house but the car is too barebasic for its price.
Old 6th April 2005, 13:45   #8

its a 1150 cc engine.....that pumps out 58 horses or so....it looks and feels very very average!!! if this was in the 3-3.5 lakh segment it might have warranted a second look...at 6.5, thanks but no thanks!
Old 6th April 2005, 20:02   #9

I was just thinking.
What about a San Storm, with a sporty suspension, sharing FIATdealerships, fiats 1.6lt 16V 100 BHP engine , a wilder look and some other stuff at the same price.
Oh and it could share FIATs plant so thatthe quality also improves.
What do you guys say?
It would help FIAT too.
Old 6th April 2005, 20:48   #10

GTO,
I did see your reviews. Granted they have parts from other cars, Zen, Palio etc. Then how could it get worse than Zen or Palio. Beats me. But I take your word that the car sucks. I have experience with the Dolphin and the Montana from Sipani. They claimed japanese engines and were mounting engines made in Kalasipalyam. When you compare San with Sipani, I know what to expect.

lamborghini,
Deep down in my heart, I want companies that venture into making sporty convertibles succeed. San definitely needs to do something drastic, just the way you have suggested. Reva "the electric car" with even worse dealer network, and service network seems to be doing alright. I do not think our common service shops can look at an electric car, but can definitely look at a real engine.

Well, I am now convinced that even a red convertible can suck. And the pricing definitely does not help. A drastic price review may help them.
-Prasadee
Old 6th April 2005, 21:53   #11

Oh and they need to market their products.
Most of the people who have heard about this car are enthusiasts and they are not dumb enough to go plonk their money on an excuse for a convertable.
Old 6th April 2005, 22:20   #12

one question "how did they afford the website?"
Old 6th April 2005, 22:33   #13

Originally Posted by iceman91
one question "how did they afford the website?"
Considering Fiat can't.
Old 6th April 2005, 22:45   #14

Was just checking their website.
Their future plans are for an SAN DUNE which is something like the san coupe type of SUV.

http://img153.exs.cx/img153/5715/sanddune8xz.jpg

Built on a new platform, the Dune, is envisioned to be a Sport Recreation Vehicle (SRV), which conjures up images of famous Riviera cars such as the Mini Moke and the Citroen Mihari. Fun to drive,, great to be seen in, the Dune promises ruggedness combined with style. COMING 2004.

THE SAN STORM COUPE

Built on the same platform as the Storm, the Storm Coupe is a stylish answer for the discerning driver. With exceptional handling, this two + two seater satisfies the needs of the family without any compromises on performance and individuality. COMING 2003

http://img153.exs.cx/img153/3281/hardtopr5zb.jpg

Looks like this website is going the FIAT way.
These cars were to be launched in 2004 and 2003 respectively.
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2005, 03:58   #15

hey dude what is they san storm website.would like to visit it....

no sensible person would put their money on something which is a below average car in all aspects.

its style and performance are below the mark .the only reason why peoply buy it is because its a convertible.i really dont think its worth the price and definitly wouldnt not buy it unless they seriously start shapping up and doing something good.

Last edited by revtech : 7th April 2005 at 04:02.