Team-BHP - BMW at the Auto Expo 2010

-   -   BMW at the Auto Expo 2010 (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/73137-bmw-auto-expo-2010-a.html)

Compared to chief competitor Mercedes Benz' pavilion (link to thread), BMW's display was terribly lacklustre. While Mercedes was all about panache, class and the "wow" factor (live music too), BMW's stall looked more like a regular showroom. All of 'em Bimmers were lined up one next to the other in a boring manner. Absolute lack of stall & space innovation.

Surprising when you consider that BMW is now India's no.1 luxury brand (overtook Mercedes in sales for 2009). You'd think the Auto Expo would have been some celebration for the boys from Bavaria. Well, apparently not.

The X6M. A pretty pointless car in my opinion, yours?
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030617.jpg

One thing that stood out at the BMW stall was their taste in alloy wheels. Absolutely delicious stuff:
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030620.jpg

BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030621.jpg

BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030623.jpg

The BMW Gran Turismo:
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030627.jpg

BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030625.jpg

The last of the Bangle series. Thankfully:
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030629.jpg

BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030635.jpg

BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030630.jpg

BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030636.jpg

My love for the new 7 series is well known. This monster - The 760 Li - powered by a V12 537 BHP / 750 NM of torque engine takes it further. Stuff made of dreams! Price = Rs. 1.3 crores.
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030641.jpg

The V12 monster:
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030646.jpg

See what I told you about their taste in wheels?
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030650.jpg

All about legroom in the "Li" extended wheelbase variants:
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030651.jpg

The 320d & 520ds on display:
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030642.jpg

Alongwith their best selling engine in India. The 2.0 diesel:
BMW at the Auto Expo 2010-p1030643.jpg

ah..finally! Was waiting for the BMW thread to appear. The 760li is surely a treat for any enthusiast but i wonder if this will be a success in India considering most of the buyers are back seat drivers :) In one of the Top Gear episodes recently, they said this is far better than the S63 AMG!
Why is BMW selling only 100 units of the GranTurismo here? How much does it cost?

The 760 sure has presence. The alloys on the cars are killer. The X1 looks interesting to me. Any info on how much BMW is looking to price it at? The black/red interior on the white X6M looks sweet IMO. No other M cars on display? No eye candy of Mercedes 'SLS' levels at the BMW stall I see.

Great pics. Like the X1 and 760Li.

Great to see the 760Li and it looks good in black. I didnt like its alloys though. I think 1.3 crore is its base price. With all the loadings it'll exceed 1.5 crore.

760Li is a treat to watch and wheels taste too.But sadly nothing that great from this company compared to merc this year which is full force.

Originally Posted by theragingbull (Post 1670377)
Why is BMW selling only 100 units of the GranTurismo here? How much does it cost?

yes, only 100 of those would be sold. GT will cost 63L!

True, great alloy's, but wouldn't you expect that from cars costing upward of 20L?

The GT looks HUGE from the couple of pics you posted.

Awesome specs for the 760. Why is it titled 760 Li Individual though?

Great post GTO.

The first post that I went through in the posts on the Auto Show, ahead of Merc, Tata, VW and the rest.

Perhaps BMW wants the bat to do the talking ( Merc's stall being jazzier).
The interiors of the X6 are really snazzy - carries it off rather well.

The rear leg space in the X1 is more than I expected.

Is the 760 Li an S class beater? We know it is from a driving dynamics perspective, but what of low speed ride and torque?

Heard X1 is launching. Any info on prices or specs?

Originally Posted by Mpower (Post 1670855)
Heard X1 is launching. Any info on prices or specs?

It came in Times today that the X1 will be priced at par or below the 3-series! That will make it great VFM! Just a few lacs more than the Captiva or CRV!!
It'll be assembled in India only.

Great Pics GTO!!

I would like to thank all the TeamBHP support members for posting such a good quality photo's and a huge coverage of Auto expo which is not done even by the magazines.I would like to thank all other members who posted their part of the pics!

The 760 Li looks delicious, if only I had the money, absolute drool maal. Thanks for the Pics GTO.

@GTO awesome pictures, were there any M3, M5 or 6 series