Old 12th May 2010, 23:37   #1

Merc for 5 years or 10 lakh sedan every year?

hi fellow bhpians,
i have always had this doubt whether to buy a merceds e-class like car and keepin it for 5 years or buying a honda city like car for every year and selling it.

points to keep in mind(costly car for 5 years)
- huge price depreciation
- high maintenance cost
- enjoyin the sheer pleaure of being the attraction on ther road
- ofcourse, luxury

10 lac car for a year
- low price depreciation
- keeping with the latest cars
-not that much of a maintenance required
- will spot a similar car like yours on the road

i started this thread because i would like to know which is better because in my family we are the 10 lac people. what about you?
pls share your views and also please feel free to add the advantages and disadvantages of owning the respective type of cars.

cheers,
brakehorsepower
Old 13th May 2010, 00:29   #2

Option No. 2 seems to be an awful waste of money to me! You mostly get plane jane variety for Rs. 10 Lacs anyway. "Keeping the latest cars" is not an attractive enough option - especially since the latest cars might not be the best anyway.

Go for a new Merc and hold it for 5 years. Or buy a 3 year old Merc?
Old 13th May 2010, 00:48   #3

Option 1, definitely.

We buy a car and spend time enjoying it... you only truly appreciate all the finer nuances of a car in the long run.

Besides we're too sentimental to buy a car and sell it so soon - heck we treat our cars like family members

So in this context, Merc for atleast 7-8 years.
Old 13th May 2010, 01:04   #4

IMO option 1 if your running is less.option 2 if your running is more.
Old 13th May 2010, 01:37   #5

Definitely Option 1.

A merc lends an altogether different persona to an individual.

Also, 1 year is too short a time to change any car. Even if you were to buy a 10L car, keep it for atleast 2 years (i.e. warranty period).
Old 13th May 2010, 08:58   #6

Originally Posted by akhilesh51 View Post
Definitely Option 1.

A merc lends an altogether different persona to an individual.

Also, 1 year is too short a time to change any car. Even if you were to buy a 10L car, keep it for atleast 2 years (i.e. warranty period).
this never happens in my family. we bought a mercedes c-class sold it within 8 months.
Old 13th May 2010, 09:18   #7

Get a 1 or 2 year old Merc in excellent condition and keep it for atleast a year. Let the first owner takes the initial high depreciation.
Old 13th May 2010, 09:46   #8

Buy a merc and next time you are selling it let me know
Old 13th May 2010, 10:05   #9

I'd say go for option 1. Changing 5 cars in 5 years sounds like waste of money to me. Like the others mentioned, going in for a used Merc that's not more than 3 years old sounds better to me. But at the end of the day, it all depends on what exactly you want.
Old 13th May 2010, 10:23   #10

I think a second hand merc with low mileage will be a good choice for you. you will not lose much in new merc depreciation
Old 13th May 2010, 10:58   #11

Hey man, cars depriciate maximum in their first year. They lose as much as 30% of their value in their first year which means you are losing out. The graph evens out after 2-3 years and the depriciation rate doesnt drop much after that. So its better for you to go in for a 20 lakh car and then after few years shift to a more expensive car so that the change is gradual. Otherwise you will end up experiencing maintanance costs as high as the moon with your Mercedes
Old 13th May 2010, 10:59   #12

i sold my merc to some kerela party
please if someone spots it anywere let me know

mods no issue with posting pics in private area, also dont mind the number plates
Merc for 5 years or 10 lakh sedan every year?-pict0163.jpg  

Old 13th May 2010, 10:59   #13

Its like opening a thread with the title:

"Hatch for 5 lakhs or 5 Nano's"

Seriously bro, is there really a question here worth opening a thread for?
Old 13th May 2010, 11:07   #14

Go in for the Merc pronto! It'll exude more class even for 5 years than any new sedan that may release, no matter how new it is.
Its a Merc for God's sake. Rather, look into the new 5 series BMW
Think of all the other hassles that go with regularly changing cars: test drives, waiting periods, financial dealings, & finally having to sell them off before you get another one.
Peace of mind with a long term solution = Merc/BMW
Old 13th May 2010, 14:06   #15
//M

Given a similar situation, I would empty each penny from my savings for that black BMW and I'll promise myself that I'll save another day !!