Team-BHP - Nhc A Toothless Tiger?

-   -   Nhc A Toothless Tiger? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/8313-nhc-toothless-tiger-3.html)

Originally Posted by adya33
this is crazy
same way we can go upto increasing budget 1L at a time & finally compare RS with NHC/Baleno etc

haha .. nono , thats not what I meant .. what I was trying to say is that if you compare car X with a car Y which is 1 L cheaper, then you should also compare car X with car Z which is 1L dearer.
I'm not saying compare Optra with Baleno. Am saying compare the Optra price range cars with the ZX GXi.

Originally Posted by Rtech
Nobody's trashing the car. Only questioning the company's business policy.

That is quite plain .. make hay while the sun shines :)

And I once again remind you that Honda is selling the NHC for less than the older, cheaper City sold for. Toyota dicontinued the best selling Qualis and replaced it with the Innova. Now if they can do it, I'm sure Maruti, who has more than half the market share, could do the same?

I wonder. Doesn't Honda & Toyota sell these models in many Asian countries ? That way wouldn't their return on investment for a new model be quicker than what it would be for a local player with local models ?

In that case, if Honda would have priced NHC at par with Baleno it would have killed Baleno completely.

In that scenario, Maruti would have got a new mid-sized sedan.

Originally Posted by Rishi
In that case, if Honda would have priced NHC at par with Baleno it would have killed Baleno completely.

In that scenario, Maruti would have got a new mid-sized sedan.

No way, they would have discontinued the Esteem and dropped the Baleno prices by another lakh !

In both cases, the customer gains.

Apart from existing Baleno owners.

I wonder. Doesn't Honda & Toyota sell these models in many Asian countries ? That way wouldn't their return on investment for a new model be quicker than what it would be for a local player with local models ?
Yup, hence:

That is quite plain .. make hay while the sun shines
But alteast they give us new stuff! lol.

Also, if i was Honda or Toyota, and I knew the brand value I had, why would I want to price my latest product at the same level as a 5 year old car in the market, hence devaluing my own product. Heck, if they can sell that car for Rs.X, with my brand image and newer product, I can surely charge Rs.X+Y. My image will be intact, plus I get some extra profit!

Wasn't that one of the main reasons for the artificialy high prices of the Innova?

No way, they would have discontinued the Esteem and dropped the Baleno prices by another lakh !
hahaha! That day is near!

Makes sense to buy a Baleno. I'll tell you why.

1. It is fundamentally a good car.
2. Buy it in 2006 for 6.75 L
3. After 5 yrs, sell it for 1.5L
4. The 'new' 2010 Baleno will by then cost 4L, with beige interiors and 195/60 R14 Alloys, new grill and DVD player + screens
5. Buy another 'new' Baleno. You lose only 2.5L over 5yrs !

What does India and Indians need, fuel economy with show, HONDA learnt that with poor sales of their high performance VTEC and accordingly responded.

Years back when my father bought the best value in motorcycles, namely the Yamaha RD350B in the 80s, he made sure to get the bike from the first lot, everything turned out to be Japanese in it, the engine was the original 39.5bhp version with Japanese cylinder head and block, not the crapped out LET with 30bhp. Do you know what everyone on the street would ask about the bike, KITNA DETA HAI, never KITNA BAGHTA HAI, making my father truly annoyed. He would reply, MILEAGE KE LIYE MOPED KHAREDO, don't buy a high performance bike, needless to say, at 16kmpl max, Escorts were forced to finger the engine by reducing output due to dismal sales, even then, it never really took off.Ironically, now I see younger kids using patched up LET and showing off on the streets here.

The crux of the matter is Indians don't want performance, they just want a good looking showpiece to show off to neighbors and relatives and declare to them, we are rich, we have a HAANDA CITTY in our driveway. Come back to this person after a year or so, you will see damaged front suspension never fixed due to high cost of parts, timing belt being stretched to dangerous limits, due to high cost of labor, yet he still has the HAANDA CITTY and the IJJAT, if you tell this very same person to buy a Trax, which is a far practical alternative for him at this stage, would carry his tub o lard wife bedecked in jewels in comfort, would outlast anything foreign or desi, he would cringe, DEHATI GAARI NAHIN CHALANA, IJJAT DA SAWAAL HAI.

Originally Posted by Gurkha
HAANDA CITTY in our driveway

haha .. well said ..
I had posted this somewhere before .. they showed a guy on TV who proudly called his car a Honda Accent .. not once but 3/4 times .. so it wasn't a slip of tongue !

Originally Posted by Gurkha
What does India and Indians need, fuel economy with show, HONDA learnt that with poor sales of their high performance VTEC and accordingly responded.

Years back when my father bought the best value in motorcycles, namely the Yamaha RD350B in the 80s, he made sure to get the bike from the first lot, everything turned out to be Japanese in it, the engine was the original 39.5bhp version with Japanese cylinder head and block, not the crapped out LET with 30bhp. Do you know what everyone on the street would ask about the bike, KITNA DETA HAI, never KITNA BAGHTA HAI, making my father truly annoyed. He would reply, MILEAGE KE LIYE MOPED KHAREDO, don't buy a high performance bike, needless to say, at 16kmpl max, Escorts were forced to finger the engine by reducing output due to dismal sales, even then, it never really took off.Ironically, now I see younger kids using patched up LET and showing off on the streets here.

The crux of the matter is Indians don't want performance, they just want a good looking showpiece to show off to neighbors and relatives and declare to them, we are rich, we have a HAANDA CITTY in our driveway. Come back to this person after a year or so, you will see damaged front suspension never fixed due to high cost of parts, timing belt being stretched to dangerous limits, due to high cost of labor, yet he still has the HAANDA CITTY and the IJJAT, if you tell this very same person to buy a Trax, which is a far practical alternative for him at this stage, would carry is tub o lard wife bedecked in jewels in comfort, would outlast anything foreign or desi, he would cringe, DEHATI GAARI NAHIN CHALANA, IJJAT DA SAWAAL HAI.

LOL Gurkha..this shuld be in the jokes thread

Originally Posted by shuvc
haha .. nono , thats not what I meant .. what I was trying to say is that if you compare car X with a car Y which is 1 L cheaper, then you should also compare car X with car Z which is 1L dearer.
I'm not saying compare Optra with Baleno. Am saying compare the Optra price range cars with the ZX GXi.models

Guys I don't get it........ :confused: when U compare cars..... u compare with engine displacement, petrol with petrol, diesal with diesal, sedans with sedans and hatchs with hatches. If there is something mixed up like Fusion that's different. You can also compare prices. Or am I missing something ?

--- AMR

----------------

Very well said, Gurkha!

Originally Posted by imjimmy
IMO NHC is a city car..but it's sad to see when you spend more than 7L OTR and sacrifice performance for an extra 1-2 kmpl of FE..( yes..the swift and the Baleno can manage upto 17 on the highway!Talking of C Segmant i'm sure A Petra can achieve near similar figures also.)

yes jimmy, the NHC does seem unjustified at this price, but then, in India...

and yes, the swift and baleno seem better in other criterias (which, in fact, they are) - but honda sells at perceived values, not actual costs; that "H" logo costs that extra monies, nothing else...

refer gurkha's post....pretty much what i had in my mind...

Originally Posted by shuvc
4. The 'new' 2010 Baleno will by then cost 4L, with beige interiors and 195/60 R14 Alloys, new grill and DVD player + screens

dude, you are dreaming... right ?

Do you think the rupee value remains same till 2010 ?
For 4L, the 'new' Baleno would be a hatchback in 2010.

Baleno vs NHC will be an endless debate, as endless as Cong vs BJP!

I went through a similar phase not too long ago before deciding in favour of Baleno. The romance with NHC will end the moment you decide to take similar test drives in quick succession. I haven't yet come across a Baleno owner who has regreted his/her decision after also having taken a test drive with NHC, but I know of at least one NHC owner who regrets his choice after driving my Baleno! I wonder how the response would be if a survey is conducted among Baleno and NHC owners where one of the questions should be: "Did you test drive both cars before you arrived at your current choice?"

This is what the "New" Honda City has always reminded me of...

I would never ever buy this car, but if I ever had to choose between a Maruti Baleno and the New Honda City, I would definitely go in for the New Honda City.

lol: This is what the baleno reminds me of...