View Poll Results: Best driver's car below 5Lakhs (ex-showroom)
Figo - TDCi 58 17.68%
Swift - 1.2K series 111 33.84%
Figo - 1.2 petrol 12 3.66%
Swift - DDiS 120 36.59%
A-star 8 2.44%
Chevy Beat (Petrol) 19 5.79%
Voters: 328. You may not vote on this poll

Old 18th June 2010, 17:46   #1

Best Driver's car below 5 Lakhs

When the old Zen was around we had a great 'driver's car'
at a price which many could afford.
With the demise of that car and the palio 1.6,
we are left with a new/better set of contendors for the title of
Best driver's car below 5 Lakhs.

Though the choices aren't many let's try and find out which
is the best within this limited range.
(possible nominess could be Swift-petrol & Diesel, Figo-petrol & diesel,
A-star, Punto Fire, VW Polo, Chevy Beat)
Guys plz post your nominees with atleast a couple of
lines of justification.

Conditions:
FE, ***, back seat comfort, AC cooling, engine noise/age,
fancy gadgets(PW,ACC),etc doesn't matter.
Old 18th June 2010, 17:58   #2

As its a below 5 lac I don't see to many diesels coming into the picture.
I should put my money on Ritz petrol nevertheless mainly due to its powerful engine.
Figo would have been a contender if it was not for the ground clearance worries. One would definitely not be too happy to tackle those bumps slowly at an angle in a 'driver's car'.
Old 18th June 2010, 17:58   #3

First thing that comes to my mind. Given the preconditions that you have mentioned is:
A-Star.
I drove the car of my friend I really enjoyed the pep in it. I am not sure how many would agree with it.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:05   #4

Go second hand and you get spoilt for choice.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:07   #5

xingamazon
A-Star - I agree with you, it is one of best driver's cars below 5 Lakhs. I
test drove it when my friend was looking for a new, fell in love with it.
If I would buy petrol this will in the top of the list.
Note: I travel daily more 80+ kms, no chances of owning it is remote
Old 18th June 2010, 18:08   #6

If the Josh machine is available for 4.49 L then thats a drivers car. Throw in a ROCAM and you knock yourself out. But the 1.3 is not bad either.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:10   #7

Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Go second hand and you get spoilt for choice.
No second hands allowed in the competition,
for this title.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:16   #8

Originally Posted by xingamazon View Post
First thing that comes to my mind. Given the preconditions that you have mentioned is:
A-Star.
I drove the car of my friend I really enjoyed the pep in it. I am not sure how many would agree with it.
I do not agree. It might be peppy but I don't think it has the other characteristics a driver's car must have.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:16   #9

Originally Posted by Daewood View Post
No second hands allowed in the competition,
for this title.
O ok. Then figo it is, purely based on its ability to mate with a fiesta engine heard that its going to be the new e zen!!
Old 18th June 2010, 18:29   #10

Punto diesel and Ritz petrol if you look at new cars.

Amongst used cars ,its the corolla under 6 L for me
Old 18th June 2010, 18:34   #11

I think swift petrol with the k-series engine is a great driver's car the engine is very peppy indeed
Old 18th June 2010, 18:36   #12

Without a doubt, the Maruti Suzuki Swift Petrol is the best driver's car below 5 lac rupees. I guess Swift Lxi retails for less than 5 lac at most places in India.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:37   #13

Originally Posted by speedsatya View Post
Punto diesel and Ritz petrol if you look at new cars.
Amongst used cars ,its the corolla under 6 L for me
I don't think both are driver's cars. Punto with a more powerful engine can be one. Ritz - no, even with that 1.2 K-Series engine.

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Without a doubt, the Maruti Suzuki Swift Petrol is the best driver's car below 5 lac rupees. I guess Swift Lxi retails for less than 5 lac at most places in India.
I agree!

RIP Palio 1.6 :(

Last edited by clevermax : 18th June 2010 at 18:41.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:41   #14

The Palio Stile 1.6.

Its still available at an Ex-showroom price of 4.55 lakhs.
Old 18th June 2010, 18:42   #15

@Clevermax: Figo has good dynamics but the performance offered does not make it as exciting to drive as the Swift, especially the Petrol version. The Swift has both entertaining agile handling and a peppy engine.

Last edited by .anshuman : 18th June 2010 at 18:43.