(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Hello, I am looking at getting a diesel Ford EcoSport. Most in the used market have run upwards of 1 lakh km. Are single-owner, high-mileage EcoSports okay to get?
For reference, I have one option of a 2018 titanium+ that has run 1.1 lakh km and has been regularly serviced. The seller is asking 6.3 lakhs. Alternatively, I could get a 2017 titanium that has run 65k km for 6 lakhs on cars24.
Most of my friends and family advise staying away from Ford, but I would like to give it a shot before the fun diesels are completely off the market!
[quote=araku58;5970677]Hello, I am looking at getting a diesel Ford EcoSport. Most in the used market have run upwards of 1 lakh km. Are single-owner, high-mileage EcoSports okay to get?
Not sure about Ecosport but I can give you contact for BS4 Tata Nexon Diesel in Kolkata?
Originally Posted by araku58
(Post 5970677)
Most of my friends and family advise staying away from Ford, but I would like to give it a shot before the fun diesels are completely off the market! |
Ecosport especially in diesel guise has been a very robust and reliable solution. I have owned a S TDCI for 3.5 years and it was a fill it shut it forget it experience. Same with my current Ecoboost S.
However, I won't buy it from Cars24 and would look for direct sellers only.
Originally Posted by 07CR
(Post 5970727)
Ecosport especially in diesel guise has been a very robust and reliable solution. I have owned a S TDCI for 3.5 years and it was a fill it shut it forget it experience. Same with my current Ecoboost S.
However, I won't buy it from Cars24 and would look for direct sellers only. |
Thanks for the advice! Any suggestions as to what mileage to get one is a good buy? It seems getting one at 1 lakh and above sets you up for some belt, clutch, and suspension work in the short term.
(Post 5970677)
Hello, I am looking at getting a diesel Ford EcoSport. Most in the used market have run upwards of 1 lakh km. Are single-owner, high-mileage EcoSports okay to get?
For reference, I have one option of a 2018 titanium+ that has run 1.1 lakh km and has been regularly serviced. The seller is asking 6.3 lakhs. Alternatively, I could get a 2017 titanium that has run 65k km for 6 lakhs on cars24.
Most of my friends and family advise staying away from Ford, but I would like to give it a shot before the fun diesels are completely off the market! |
Ford's TDCI engine is uncomplicated and reliable. In Tier 1 & 2 cities, Ford still has above average service. The service costs are also fairly cheap. However, parts may take several days to be available.
Do not consider cars driven above 50K or aged beyond 5 years. Especially if you intend to keep the car for atleast 5 more years.
Do not consider Cars24 as their prices are relatively higher. Look for individual sellers. For example, I sold my 2018 Ford Figo S TDCI , with 37K Kms for 4L last December. The same would have been 4.5/5L from Cars24.
(Post 5970677)
Hello, I am looking at getting a diesel Ford EcoSport. Most in the used market have run upwards of 1 lakh km. Are single-owner, high-mileage EcoSports okay to get? |
Yes. Preference should be to get a lower mileage but a well maintained one (say by a bhpian) with all necessary servicing records is not a bad deal. At 1.1L kms, he should have done timing belt change; clutch (if manual) and suspension condition should be checked in detail by a mechanic.
Originally Posted by Youcanburn
(Post 5963146)
I did check out the nexon EV. Found it cramped in the front and back. Also not sure but I think’ did it lack cup holders ?!!
I agree on the safety as I have always used factory fitted and I am trying to connect with people who have installed aftermarket cngs with automatics. If there are any BHPians who have done the same would be great to understand in detail about their experience. |
Why not instead look for a diesel? You would get almost similar running costs, but save on a lot of headache. You can easily get any Hyundai-Kia Diesel (used and even brand new) in your budget. My personal preference would be a Ford diesel (Ecosport/aspire/freestyle/figo) if you can do with a manual, else a Kia/Hyundai Diesel AT is the way to go forward. Looking for a Amaze Diesel AT can also be a sweet deal.
Installing a CNG would involve around 55-60K and would require the necessary maintenance. Not to mention the safety hazards of aftermarket CNG installations, lower acceleration and impact on AC. It could also impact the resale value and result in mechanical issues as well if done incorrectly. I have two in my circle who did aftermarket CNG installation and are now regretting it.
(Post 5970733)
Thanks for the advice! Any suggestions as to what mileage to get one is a good buy? It seems getting one at 1 lakh and above sets you up for some belt, clutch, and suspension work in the short term. |
That depends on how long you intend to use the car and how much is your daily running? Case in point, I was looking for a used Ecosport and considering my running is low (300-400 KM ~ per month), I was OK with a petrol. In terms of diesel, I would have got a Diesel with less than 70K on the Odo, since I need the car for atleast next 3 years. Anything above that is a cherry on the cake. However, I got a Ecosport S Ecoboost which was substantially cheaper than a S diesel, hence went ahead with it.
Originally Posted by DrOrtho83
(Post 5970720)
Not sure about Ecosport but I can give you contact for BS4 Tata Nexon Diesel in Kolkata? |
Thank you! Is it possible for you to message me privately? I don't think I can. Plus FYI i am in Pondicherry so not sure 100% how this works out.
Originally Posted by ninjatalli
(Post 5970751)
Yes. Preference should be to get a lower mileage but a well maintained one (say by a bhpian) with all necessary servicing records is not a bad deal. At 1.1L kms, he should have done timing belt change; clutch (if manual) and suspension condition should be checked in detail by a mechanic. |
Thanks for the guidance. None of this is done unfortunately, but the car is in good condition with periodic company service. How much should I negotiate for, considering these costs? At the moment, he is quoting 6.25 lakhs for the 2018 Titanium+ model at around 1.18 lakh kms.
Originally Posted by 07CR
(Post 5970762)
That depends on how long you intend to use the car and how much is your daily running? Case in point, I was looking for a used Ecosport and considering my running is low (300-400 KM ~ per month), I was OK with a petrol. In terms of diesel, I would have got a Diesel with less than 70K on the Odo, since I need the car for atleast next 3 years. Anything above that is a cherry on the cake. However, I got a Ecosport S Ecoboost which was substantially cheaper than a S diesel, hence went ahead with it. |
I intend to keep the car as long as i possibly can honestly. I don't usually feel the need to upgrade for additional features and i prefer keeping things until they can't be used anymore. I wont use it everyday but mainly for weekend trips and hopefully a long cross country trip in the near future - then settle the car back to a as and when needed workhorse.
Hi Experts,
I am evaluating a preowned Honda Civic VX (2019). First owner, a private limited company. The car has done around 65000 kilometres. Tyres have been recently replaced. It is under Honda Assure, with their one year warranty. I couldn't buy this beauty when it was launched and my heart still yearns for it. I have not had a used car in years now. Looking for suggestions and views on this car and a fair price point to pay. Thank you.
The Civic is a no nonsense car and due to the poor demand also offers a great price.
Refer the below thread wherein the OP bought a used 2019 Civic with 40,000 km on odo for 13 lakh rupees, considering the same you may arrive at a price which you feel is reasonable.
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedan...ml#post5869453
I've recently become interested in purchasing a 1.8L TSI Skoda Laura. However, the used car market in my state seems quite inflated, with sellers asking up to ₹7 lakhs for 2012 models that have over 125,000 km on the odometer.
What’s the realistic market value for these cars? Also, what would be considered a safe mileage for a car of this age? I was thinking of limiting my search to vehicles with odometer readings between 70,000 and 80,000 km, given the car's age.
Alternatively, should I consider higher-mileage cars that have already undergone major services and had key components replaced.
Originally Posted by shansundar
(Post 5971114)
Looking for suggestions and views on this car and a fair price point to pay. Thank you. |
In pre-owned D segment, Civic is a good choice. For a 6 year old, 65k odo is on higher side for a petrol car. Based on the vehicle condition I believe 10-11L for VX would be fair price. Also recommend you to take the vehicle to Honda service center for evaluation.
CVT transmission, is not so quick especially during overtakes > 80km speed. You need to plan and paddle shifters assist a little to keep the engine in higher rpm.
Seating position is very low so ingress/egress is difficult for elderly people. That being said build, paint quality and NVH is best and it’s a very good highway cruiser.
[quote=DrOrtho83;5970720]
(Post 5970677)
Not sure about Ecosport but I can give you contact for BS4 Tata Nexon Diesel in Kolkata? |
Hey thanks, I received your message. Apparently, i can only receive message - not reply to them :eek:
Could you please message me your WA number?
Originally Posted by V0rtex
(Post 5971121)
I've recently become interested in purchasing a 1.8L TSI Skoda Laura. However, the used car market in my state seems quite inflated, with sellers asking up to ₹7 lakhs for 2012 models that have over 125,000 km on the odometer. |
Wow 7Lacs seems a bit much. In Chennai I know these cars will be between 2 - 5 lacs depending on condition. But Kerala in general has a higher resale rate going on probably because of taxes. I was on the hunt for a used car in kerala few yrs back. The prices were 40- 50% higher than TN so I just bought a new car in TN and sent our old corolla to Cochin.
Contemplating to change my 2014 Ecosport diesel and get a used i20 asta petrol.
There's a colleague selling his car, and I'm wondering if its a good deal?
Below are the details -
Make and Model : Hyundai I20 Asta Optional, Automatic.
KM Driven : 6700
Any inputs appreciated! Thanks.