Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

Old 22nd December 2006, 10:50   #1

Shouldn't a street circuit make more sense in India?

After seeing the war between the different states of India to take a slice of the F1 pie and the arguments and the counter arguments regarding the practicality and the financial sustainability of setting up a F1 track in India, doesn't a street circuit make a more viable solution?

Factors which favour with a street circuit:
  • A part of the infrastructure is readily available.
  • It doesn't remain useless for the remaining year unlike a proper race track.
  • Use of high quality material, automatically improves public road conditions of the area.
  • For a layman, an F1 race on a street circuit feels more "realistic" and less like a "PC game".
  • Help in the overall development of the area surrrounding it, if created in an urban/semi-urban setup instead of developing a proper F1 track somewhere in a barren area.
  • Can provide a boost in rapid development of upcoming metros like Navi Mumbai (where a new int'l airport is proposed),Noiida, Pune.
  • Increase in tourism, irrespective of whether there is a F1 race because it will automatically turn into a landmark.
  • And many more....(Dear Bhpians, feel free to add).
Factors which go against a street circuit:
  • Increase in air/sound pollution.
  • Safety and security concerns.
  • Will lead to big traffic snarls on already congested roads during racedays.
  • How will facilities be provided to fans on racedays.
  • Speeds are considerably lower in street circuits and many times races here tend to be boring because of very few overtaking moves done by drivers in such tracks.
  • And many more....
What do you think?
salilpawar1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2006, 12:48   #2

Well the most major part has been forgotten, the infra to land those planes (about 3 per team)and have them parked there for over 2 weeks. We dont even have the basic infra around the country to handle the current air traffic.

The day we bid goodbye to the potholes on our normal roads can we see an opportunity for a F1 category track.

More than having a track that will end up being under utilised, we ought to look at trying to promote tracks for the grass root racers, this will help increase visibility of motorsports across the country and them have us ready to move to the next stage.
Old 22nd December 2006, 13:24   #3

Trying to imagine how would it be to see these guys race on our streets. And the effect this will have on people, when those who dont understand the sport start imitating the moves in regular, daily traffic.
Old 22nd December 2006, 14:24   #4

Expect pedestrians crossing the road while the race is ON. Expect a stray cyclist trying his best to race with F1 cars. Expect an autorikshaw to take a sudden right-turn, while cars are passing by. Heck, he will even wave his palm (not entire hand) outside as indicator to turn.
Old 22nd December 2006, 15:48   #5

I guess the only city in India that has the infra and the roads for a street circuit is New Delhi. But if this idea takes off, you can bet your bottom dollar (rupee?) that some two bit politico and /or NGO/Activist (a la Ms. A. roy) will raise a hue and cry on grounds of security(!), pollution (ummmm. ... OK) and/or inconvenience to street dwellers/pavement hawkers et al.

I think that in the foreseeable future, the cheapest alternative for indians to watch an F1 race live is to go to Sepang.
Old 22nd December 2006, 18:37   #6

Originally Posted by Psycho View Post
Well the most major part has been forgotten, the infra to land those planes (about 3 per team)and have them parked there for over 2 weeks. We dont even have the basic infra around the country to handle the current air traffic.
If you read properly, i mentioned that a new airport is proposed in Navi Mumbai and Navi Mumbai has excellent infrastructure. GOOD and WIDE Roads and excellent scope and very capable Government Organisations like CIDCO (which was one of the sponsors (or organisers may be) for Speed Run 2006) for development.

The day we bid goodbye to the potholes on our normal roads can we see an opportunity for a F1 category track.
If we get a F1 street track in India the road quality would obviously improve and then our babus will understand how good roads are supposed to be built!!

More than having a track that will end up being under utilised, we ought to look at trying to promote tracks for the grass root racers, this will help increase visibility of motorsports across the country and them have us ready to move to the next stage
What you say is quite right. But you know some things work in anticlimax here in India. I guess grassroot level will develop only if there is action at the pinaccle. You will see a growth in demand for Tennis/Cricket academies when India performs well or some big event takes place in India.
Old 22nd December 2006, 18:44   #7

Dear RX135,
What you say is absolutely true and very valid indeed! But shouldn't that be a reason for not building such a track? Let us look at the larger picture. The same comments were also made (not by TeamBhpians) when Mumbai-Pune expressway was built. Initially such incidents of 2-wheelers, cyclists and not to mention cows and buffaloes straying on the E-way were reported, but gradually such incidents have steadily declined due to increased awareness among the locals (and more barricading ).
And anyway, if a marathon can be conducted running through the entire city in Mumbai and Delhi, conducting a race in the city (not exactly in the heart of the city but somewhere in the suburbs) might not be such a problem at all.

Last edited by salilpawar1 : 22nd December 2006 at 18:53.
Old 22nd December 2006, 18:50   #8

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post
I guess the only city in India that has the infra and the roads for a street circuit is New Delhi. But if this idea takes off, you can bet your bottom dollar (rupee?) that some two bit politico and /or NGO/Activist (a la Ms. A. roy) will raise a hue and cry on grounds of security(!), pollution (ummmm. ... OK) and/or inconvenience to street dwellers/pavement hawkers et al.
But here the situation is slightly different, the event is going to last for only 3 or 4 days in a year and not for the whole year.
By the way, the loudspeakers and the tamasha of the so called politicians and actvists protesting against sound pollution, will cause more pollution than the F1 cars!!

I think that in the foreseeable future, the cheapest alternative for indians to watch an F1 race live is to go to Sepang.
But Sepang track itself is reported to be in financial doldrums simply because it remains largely unused for a majority of the year and that is why I suggest a street circuit.
Old 22nd December 2006, 20:53   #9

India doesn;t need an F1 race - We need a race track - if not in every state - at least 10-15 around the country - so that budding drivers can hone their skills and prepare for the big leagues - ALso a paucity of race tracks is no deterrent to ho0ding a WRC/APRC round here.

Let the new bunch practise without being held hostage to our buearucrats or politicians and see where they stand on the world stage.

Bringing F1 to India will be of no use -0 how many of us cvould possibly sheel out the amount required to go see the race properly - we'll just have our lovely patriotic politicos trying to hog the limelight trying to distribute the trophies.
more racetracks and a wider India road racing/rally circuit - not F1 - that;s what we need.

zaphod
Old 22nd December 2006, 20:58   #10

Salil,

I understand the point. But, having expressway (or better highways) is need of time and there can't be two arguments about it. But, F1 is just a sport. Any causality, like those happened/happening in case of Expressway, will totally ruin future of the race.

If one is hell bent on doing it, then it is possible. (After all, they do block roads for VVIPs convoys for hours together). But, building a separate track for sport will be better choice. If we actually end up building F1 tracks on our roads, maintaining them will be another major pain.

Having said that, nothing is impossible in the world. It is just that some things are more practical than others
Old 22nd December 2006, 21:10   #11

the major issue with street tracks wud b safety. the only reason why monaco still holds it is because of its legacy plus the people pumping major money stay there.

they can actually charge people to test their cars on the track for a sum, m sure there wud b lots who will enjoy doing that.