Team-BHP > Buckle Up > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th November 2009, 20:42   #1
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 32
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Ashwin declared FRC Champion 2009

Ashwin Sundar declared FRC Champion 2009

Here is the official announcement

Source: Rounds

Ashwin Sundar declared FRC Champion ; under scrutiny for 3 races in 2010

The Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India, today officially declared Ashwin Sundar as the Formula Rolon Chevrolet Champion Driver for the year 2009.
In the final round of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship, held at the Chennai Race Track on 4th Oct 2009, the Stewards excluded Ashwin Sundar, for 'dangerous driving' in both races of the finals (round 6). Ashwin Sundar prefered an appeal to the Indian Motor Sports Appeal Court (IMSAC), the internal tribunal for settlement of any disputes arising out of motorsport in India. The IMSAC Tribunal which heard the appeal, confirmed the decision of 'exclusion' of Ashwin Sundar from Race No.2 of the round 6, but decreed that the penalty of exclusion is disproporationate for the incident in Race No.1. and accordingly set aside the same. However, the IMSAC had issued a 'suspended sentence of suspension' on Ashwin for 3 races in 2010 season. This would effectively mean that Ashwin Sundar is under scrutiny and if found to repeat the offence, the Sentence of Suspension would be invoked.
Due to the above IMSAC decision, Ashwin Sundar has been reinstated in the 3rd position in Race 1 of Round 6 and accordingly has a total of 64 points in the overall championship classification. Saran Vikram who had been the unfortunate victim in both the races had to content himself with the runner up title as he also has 64 points, but lose to Ashwin in the number of first places, applying the tie-breaker rule. Gaurav Dalal, who was the provisional champion, after the Stewards decision, finishes third with 63 points.
schugun is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Declared Fuel Economy of 2 & 4 Wheelers nick17s The Indian Car Scene 2 31st May 2010 16:04
Final battle for 2009 world championship title. EDIT : Button champion! arun.sidhes Int'l Motorsport 10 23rd November 2009 12:22
MRF-MAI Indian National Karting Championship 2007: UD: 2007 Champions declared! Rtech Indian Motorsport 61 11th December 2007 15:58
Renault's Mass Dampers Declared Illegal jraj Int'l Motorsport 1 24th August 2006 12:45
December 14 is declared as "My Car Day" Technocrat The Indian Car Scene 8 4th October 2005 19:38

All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:29.

Copyright ©2000 - 2020,
Proudly powered by E2E Networks