Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 28th July 2011, 21:50   #1

Blundering blonde causes the world's most expensive five-car pile-up

THIS is the moment a blundering blonde caused the world's most expensive five-car pile-up — when her Bentley collided with a Mercedes, a Ferrari, a Porsche and an Aston Martin.

Sarvodaya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th July 2011, 11:37   #2

Re: Blundering blonde causes the world's most expensive five-car pile-up

The Prices mentioned in the article published in TOI are really funny

A white Mercedes S Class, costing Rs 48.88 lakh was her first victim as her 2.7-tonne Bentley scrapped down the side of it before smashing a Rs 1.16 lakh black Ferrari F430.
An Aston Martin Rapide and a Porsche 911 — worth Rs 91.16 lakh and Rs 51.96 lakh, respectively

Source : Article Window

More pics from wrecked exotics.com
Blundering blonde causes the world's most expensive five-car pile-up-285269_2068359863486_1079511313_2392378_130592_n.jpg

Blundering blonde causes the world's most expensive five-car pile-up-283859_2068359503477_1079511313_2392376_2209677_n.jpg

Last edited by h@r$h@l : 29th July 2011 at 11:46.
Old 29th July 2011, 12:01   #3

I find this really funny .. and bizzare as well. Somebody cancel this moron's driving license. How did she MANAGE to wreck all these cars?
Old 29th July 2011, 12:07   #4

Originally Posted by Cesc View Post
I find this really funny .. and bizzare as well. Somebody cancel this moron's driving license. How did she MANAGE to wreck all these cars?
She must have lost control and then panicked. I have seen it happen firsthand with a friend of mine around 5 years ago. Far less damage though, but nonetheless similar. I bet she wasnt fast.
Old 29th July 2011, 12:12   #5

Just read it in the UK newspapers yesterday and the estimated pile up cost is around GBP 400000 approx 28 Lakh INR.

Some guts the lady would have bumping into such beauties. The actual reason for the crash is not yet known I guess, maybe drunk driving, narrow lanes etc.
Old 29th July 2011, 12:25   #6

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Just read it in the UK newspapers yesterday and the estimated pile up cost is around GBP 400000 approx 28 Lakh INR.

Some guts the lady would have bumping into such beauties. The actual reason for the crash is not yet known I guess, maybe drunk driving, narrow lanes etc.
£400,000 is 2.8 Crores. not 28 lakh.. Also, I doubt this is drunk driving or narrow streets. This looks like coming around a corner carelessly and panicking.
Old 29th July 2011, 12:28   #7

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
£400,000 is 2.8 Crores. not 28 lakh.. Also, I doubt this is drunk driving or narrow streets. This looks like coming around a corner carelessly and panicking.
Sorry my mistake I added an addtional zero. It is actually 40000 GBP.

One car hit under panic is understandable, but 3-4 cars is deliberate. Also in this case unfortunately the lady could not get out and escape since she was stuck due to doors not opening.
Old 29th July 2011, 12:31   #8

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Sorry my mistake I added an addtional zero. It is actually 40000 GBP.

One car hit under panic is understandable, but 3-4 cars is deliberate. Also in this case unfortunately the lady could not get out and escape since she was stuck due to doors not opening.
Im sure no one does things like this Deliberately. As I mentioned, A friend of mine had a similar accident a few years ago. he came around a corner doing around 40-45 and lost control and smashed into the side of a car and then into another one and a rickshaw and a bike all of which were parked there finally ending up into a tempo. He said after he lost control he panicked and didnt let the gas go. It happens.
Old 29th July 2011, 14:09   #9

Ouch! It hurts my eyes seeing these fancy expensive cars smashed!! I doubt it was deliberate. She might have been driving with the volume really high and chatting with her friends in the car and absent mindedly crashed into the other cars.
Regarding TOI's pricing of the cars: They probably just converted the price of the car in pounds to rupees. They can come up with such figures only if they do this. As you would know, the cars sold there are much cheaper than here!

I found the picture below.
Source: The $1 million car crash (it involves five very expensive cars and Monte Carlo) | Adelaide Now
Blundering blonde causes the world's most expensive five-car pile-up-bentley-crashes-into-aston-martin.jpg  

Last edited by carfreak77 : 29th July 2011 at 14:22.
carfreak77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th July 2011, 14:52   #10

Originally Posted by h@r$h@l
....Rs 1.16 lakh black Ferrari F430.
Where can I get one??? I could trade-in my Alto.
Old 29th July 2011, 15:16   #11

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post one-liners that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the overall quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 29th July 2011 at 18:59.
SuperSlick is offline   Received Infraction
Old 29th July 2011, 15:57   #12

Originally Posted by carfreak77 View Post

Regarding TOI's pricing of the cars: They probably just converted the price of the car in pounds to rupees. They can come up with such figures only if they do this. As you would know, the cars sold there are much cheaper than here!
Even if they convert prices directly from GBP or Euro i am still wondering how they managed to get Rs 1.16 lakh black Ferrari F430.
Old 29th July 2011, 16:56   #13

Here is the link with some more pics.

Exotic Car Pile-Up In Monte Carlo Caught On Camera | AutoGuide.com News

The fall guys:
Bentely Azure - $468000
Merc S class - $140000
Ferrari F 430 - $262000
Porsche 911 - $149000
Aston martin Rapide - $262000

Total $1.2M
Old 29th July 2011, 17:19   #14

Atleast the rouge car was a Bentely (as if that is some consolation) Just imagine if it was some regular joe Ford/Chevy!
A lot more ouch!
Old 29th July 2011, 18:22   #15

Straight out of a comic caper! You gotta hand it to these blondes...they never fail to put a smile on your face!