Team-BHP - 2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil

-   The International Automotive Scene (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/international-automotive-scene/)
-   -   2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/international-automotive-scene/180440-2017-jeep-compass-revealed-brazil-2.html)

Originally Posted by RavenAvi (Post 4068193)
Previously codenamed "C-SUV", the new Compass will see high localisation levels and is likely to be priced below Rs 25 lakhs, according to unnamed sources. It will thus take on the BMW X1, Hyundai Tucson, Honda CR-V, Toyota Fortuner, Ford Endeavour, Chevrolet Trailblazer and Audi Q3, when launched.

ET

I'm unable to tell from the pictures.
Could someone tell me how would it compare dimensions-wise to the Toyota Fortuner and Ford Endeavour?.

Originally Posted by Maky (Post 4068864)
I'm unable to tell from the pictures.
Could someone tell me how would it compare dimensions-wise to the Toyota Fortuner and Ford Endeavour?.

Make no mistake.. the Compass is definitely a smaller car as compared to the ute/pickup based Fortuner or Endeavour. The Compass is more of a softroader, pretending to be otherwise.

My friend owns the previous gen Compass, and i got to keep it for about 2 weeks when he was traveling internationally. It felt underpowered and quite small.

Originally Posted by benbsb29 (Post 4069101)
Make no mistake.. the Compass is definitely a smaller car as compared to the ute/pickup based Fortuner or Endeavour. The Compass is more of a softroader, pretending to be otherwise.

My friend owns the previous gen Compass, and i got to keep it for about 2 weeks when he was traveling internationally. It felt underpowered and quite small.

As you have driven the previous generation could you give me some idea of the road presence of this car? If not the Fortuner is it at least bigger than the Ecosport, Duster and Creta?

Thanks again!

Originally Posted by Maky (Post 4069111)
As you have driven the previous generation could you give me some idea of the road presence of this car? If not the Fortuner is it at least bigger than the Ecosport, Duster and Creta?

Thanks again!

I would say the Compass falls into the same size category of the Duster. I believe this pic should provide some perspective of the size of the outgoing model, although it is pictured with non-Indian cars.

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-compass.jpg

EDIT : Comparison pic sourced from Google images, and copyrights with respective owners.

Originally Posted by benbsb29 (Post 4069232)
I would say the Compass falls into the same size category of the Duster. I believe this pic should provide some perspective of the size of the outgoing model, although it is pictured with non-Indian cars.

Attachment 1562460

So I guess this will be a direct competitor to the Skoda Yeti - in terms of size and pricing.
Interesting to see whether the Compass succeeds where the Yeti has floundered (India:D). I'm guessing it will be tough going.

Originally Posted by wilful (Post 4069378)
Interesting to see whether the Compass succeeds where the Yeti has floundered (India:D). I'm guessing it will be tough going.

If localisation is enforced to the highest degree possible, a realistic price tag may help it's case in India. However, going by Jeep's pricing fiasco with the Grand Cherokee and Wrangler, we know this is wishful thinking. Expect the Compass to come with an inflated price tag, IMHO.

The all-new India-bound Compass goes off-roading, aided by it's 4×4 Jeep Active Drive Low & the Selec-Terrain systems, the latter with five modes – Snow, Sand, Mud, Rock and Auto – for varied topographical conditions:

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass61024x672.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass4.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass3.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass2.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass1.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass8.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass191024x634.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass10.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass12.jpg

2017 Jeep Compass revealed in Brazil-jeepcompass14.jpg

Autos Segredos

Looks to be one capable machine all right. I quite like its looks especially the front end. An oxymoronic blend of meanness and suaveness.:)

Originally Posted by wilful (Post 4069378)
So I guess this will be a direct competitor to the Skoda Yeti - in terms of size and pricing.

Remember the price range of Rs 20-30 Lacs was on the high side for most people when the Yeti was launched in 2009-2010. This was also the time when more people went for "Size" and "Presence" and didn't value high quality, features and capability all packed into a small size package.

Things have changed hugely in these last 5-6 years and hence, at this current juncture, I m thinking with the increased buying power, the evolved behaviour patterns and of course the proliferation of small Quasi SUV esque vehicles in the Indian market, that because of these factors, the smaller Jeep will end up doing well.

Provided it comes with lots of bells and whistles and is priced decently of course.

A fair point. What was 5 to 10 lacs a few years ago is now 10 to 15 and so on.
Although from memory, I think the Yeti was priced not too badly when originally launched (in the 15 lac range?). I always felt the big price jump for the facelift, coming as it did amidst the Skoda horror stories, along with the lack of an AT option, sounded the death knell for that brilliant vehicle here.
Anyway, back to topic - I agree that the Compass will see fair numbers if priced and 'featured' well against the likes of the Hyundai Tucson.

Except that size matters a lot, still in the Indian market, no? I suppose that for India they will have to, like in Brazil, offer a wide price range with a well-kitted entry level variant at below 20 lakhs, and either a luxed-up Summit variant (likely to be popular in china, btw) and/or the Trailhawk at 25 lakhs or below? At any rate they will need to keep prices well-below the b-o-f, pickup truck-based suv-s from ford and Toyota, variant-for-variant. It could work: decent sales numbers by tapping a few buyers from below and a few from 'above'. A 'tweener' strategy they use even in the US market, i believe: cover a wide-ish price range, and avail of the suv-specialist image/heritage for some, more expensive variants. It will be interesting to see if the localization of the 2litre mjd2 and the 9-speed automatic, to be shared with Tata Motors, results in enough cost-savings to enable such a 'tweener' pricing-range.

@shankar.balan

Prices for the Jeep Compass start at around Rs 19 lakh in Brazil.

The Brazilian market, which is similar to ours, gets a 157PS/195Nm 2.0-litre flex fuel petrol and a 165PS/350Nm Multijet-II turbodiesel option. The 6-speed automatic transmission is exclusive to the Jeep Compass petrol, and the Trailhawk diesel trim comes with a 9-speed auto.

In India though, the prices will start from Rs 25 lakh. The launch is expected around October 2017, and the Jeep Compass will compete against the soon-to-be launched Hyundai Tucson.
The vehicles are currently manufactured in Goiana, Pernambuco, Brazil. However, production will start in India in 2017 at FCA’s Ranjangaon plant near Pune.
FCA India has invested $280 million in its sole facility in Ranjangaon primarily for manufacturing the Compass as well as another new SUV. It is likely that the Jeep Compass may even be exported to other countries from here.