Old 17th June 2021, 15:13   #16

Re: BBC: A parking spot in HK sells for Rs 9.5 crore rupees

10 crores .

That must be a couple of years back. Prices have gone up even further. In fact, in some parts of Bombay, a parking spot will cost you 1 crore.
I had once put up a question on Team BHP whether I should sell my 1000 sqft tiled enclosed garage parking in prime south Mumbai or retain it. None except the Tiguan among our car's is worthy of it LOL Now seeing this maybe I should consider!!

Honestly we did get an offer from an S class owner for a handsome 80 lacs around 6-7 years ago but we chose not to. A better car will come someday, but such a garage? Might as well show off the garage if not a nice car!!
SN88 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th June 2021, 15:45   #17

When we moved to our building we currently live in 2012, we had to pay 3.5 lacs for an extra parking. Obviously the most noble (including us) bought one while people with a higher IQ than us parked their cars outside the building on the road.

Surprisingly someone was parking their NANO in in a 3.5 lakh rupee lot and it was fun for some time until we realized that we were parking a TVS Wego in a similar fashion and didn't even have a second car until last year. While we regret the decision since the parking cost as much as the down payment for a well equipped car, at least the trees don't fall on our cars when the rain god's decide to show some love and that makes us feel a lot better.
Old 17th June 2021, 20:27   #18

Hong Kong is quite like Mumbai or vice-versa. HK is just 10-20 times more advanced/civilised.
Like Mumbai, apart from real estate, all other things needed to survive are quite affordable.

I was there for 18 months and came back to India in February 2020 just when the cases were peak in China and forecast was that it will affect Hk as well. I decided not to go back.

The CTO of the organisation for which I was working used to come in cab. The typical red/grey Toyota Crown. Her secretary use to escort him till ground floor and hail a cab. This despite the fact that our building had a dedicated parking spot available with fee.
abhi_tjet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2021, 21:12   #19

I have been to HK regularly from 2012 onwards, its a beautiful city. Been to the peak housing area few times for trekking and its wonderful place in the middle of the city, no wonder cost is so high. HK public transport is really good, have regularly used MTRs and Ferries. I love the ferries and they cost next to nothing, i end up taking the ferries few times just for the sake of it. Tsim Tsha Tsui to central is just 5HKD, cab would charge at least 50HKD. Typical meal would cost you around 80-100HKD. Thali at small Indian restaurants are around 120-130HKD. I really love the city, you can just walk for hours and never get bored. Its a heaven for walking, all walkways are properly designed keeping pedestrians in mind, and weather mostly pleasant throughout the year.