Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 31st May 2007, 19:08   #1

Greenwich Concours D'Elegance EDIT : Pictures added!

It's Here!!!!!! The Fantabulous Concours D'Elegance is in town. I'll be there Saturday and Sunday so expect tons of pictures over the weekend. Chrisitie's is having an auction as well so if I am lucky - there might be a new member in the household come Monday morning - me got some hankering for a 190 SL or a XK150!

Greenwich Concours d'Elegance set for this weekend - Autoblog
Old 1st June 2007, 02:35   #2

Looks like a fabulous event Vcash!!! Can we expect a full report & pictures from you? Thanks in advance for letting us view all the beauties!

And Best of Luck with the purchase, may you get a truly fabulous machine as the next member of your garage!!! I'm looking forward to a ride in it soon!!!
Old 3rd June 2007, 11:45   #3

oh fantstic! how i envy you...i was supposed to be at pebble beach this august but college has other plans...

keep us posted on the happenings, and the experience is like...and best of luck wth the auctions! godspeed.
Old 5th June 2007, 07:20   #4

Ok Guys - Here's the skinny from the past Weekend.

We had awesome weather on both days and I thoroughly got to enjoy myself and was caught mesmererized in a most surreal experience. As I walked through the show - it was like weaving in and out of different eras where you could see ultimate marvels of engeneering, style, class, charisma and beauty. There were some very very special cars on display this weekend and events like the Concours give very personal access to regular people like us. Now enough with the talk and let the photofest begin!!!

I took over 200 photos so you can check the Flickr slideshow here:
vcash8118's latest photos slideshow on Flickr

Autoblog Pics:
Autoblog

Highlights!!!!

Contemproray Part I

Guess who got to sit in the R8! Very Nice Interior and love the gated shift - but too Audiish!? I think VDub could have taken this in a different direction - branded a smaller Lambo - priced it at $130K and gone for Aston's throat.

I Loved the V8 FSI heart

Note a fan of the nose.

The Maybach is one sumptious ride and the rear seats put most Gulfstreams cabins too shame.

These are big big cars!

My new fav Lambo color - the pearl white looks hella sexy. Throw Jessica Alba in the mix and a nice stretch of ocean highway and I'm all set.

Arrey Bhaiya - Ye Ghans mein parking allowed nahin hai - Challan Katna hoga.

Enzo - just got pricier - what are we at - 393 left?

Ford GT

Aston Martin Vanquish

Highlights from American Classics and European Classics to be posted tommorow!!

Last edited by vcash : 5th June 2007 at 07:26.
Old 5th June 2007, 07:21   #5

Contemproray Part II
Spyker C8

Porsche Carerra GT

MB McLaren SLR

Porsche GT3 RS

RR Phantom

Maserati Quattroporte

Quirky Volvo C6 - This one is not for sale yet - but the one in the parking lot was owned by Volvo NA.

Callaway C16 Vette

612 Scali

Last edited by vcash : 5th June 2007 at 07:33.
Old 5th June 2007, 12:39   #6

sniff sniff....i think im going to cry...!
Old 6th June 2007, 07:26   #7

We also went to the Chrisities Auction but unfortunatley most of the cars had overpriced estimates. We were interested in the Jags and the SL's and even though there were good examples - I know that a private seller would sell for much lower than the estimates. The one car that had a relatively conservative estimate was a 59' Bentley but the car did not have the open top appeal we were looking for - Though in hindsight the car went for a lot less and I am kicking myself in the rear for not registering. With Buyers premium, it sold for $19,800!!!! which was a steal. It is not an appreciable model yet but it would have made a cool adittion. Oh Well - There's always next year! Here a pics from the auction viewing.

A nice 195 XK150S - Went Unsold - estimated reserve was $150K

1950 Bentley Mark IV Sports Saloon - $19800 - originally owned by GM Founder William Duran't Grandson. - Still feel like kicking myself for this miss.

1959 Mercedes 190SL - $60,500 - I think the bidder overpaid by about $20K

1931 Bugatti Type 49 Two-Door Sports Coupe - Went for $396,000!!!!!!!!!!

And the Piece'De Resistance - A 1938 Bugatti Type 57C Atlante Coupe - Estimate $300,000 to $400,000. Price fetched $852,500!!!!!!!!!! - Another 500K is probably needed to restore it.

And Ofcourse Stevie McQueen's 1963 Ferrari 250GT Luso Chasis 4891 - Display Only - will be auctioned in Monterey, CA.

Last edited by vcash : 6th June 2007 at 07:29.
Old 6th June 2007, 07:42   #8

Ferrari's of the Concours deserve their own post

Ok The last of the pics later Tommorow.
Old 6th June 2007, 10:42   #9

oooooo awesome stuff dude . amazing pics . thnks for sharing man. i wish i was there . damn
Old 7th June 2007, 01:37   #10

Thought I'd post the 2nd Day pics link to the Autoblog Gallery.
Autoblog
Old 7th June 2007, 01:57   #11

Bossy where is the surprise?
Old 7th June 2007, 07:32   #12

Ishan Sir.... The surprise is in not tangible but is in the form of inspiration to you! - Look at these pictures - meditatae and let your inner soul find that Charger ASAP!!!! (And the Mustang Boss for me )

And something for our Super-Mod

Look at this HUUUUGE Packard

One of the many Duesenberg's

Pretty Cadillac

Lincoln Design Study Proto from the 50's - Fos sale at an undisclosed price

And the Europeans tomorrow.
Old 7th June 2007, 10:28   #13

Originally Posted by vcash View Post

Lincoln Design Study Proto from the 50's - Fos sale at an undisclosed price

ah, the 55 lincoln indianopolis...part of fords answer to GMs concept car barrage in the 50s and 60s...there were some wild but brilliant designs being turned out every other month...i always found a striking resemblance between the lincoln and the 53 hudson italia...started off as a concept, but i believe they had a short production run...i wonder how much the reserve price would be...