Team-BHP - My experience at the Belgian GP - Spa Francorchamps, 2018
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Int'l Motorsport (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/intl-motorsport/)
-   -   My experience at the Belgian GP - Spa Francorchamps, 2018 (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/intl-motorsport/208308-my-experience-belgian-gp-spa-francorchamps-2018-a.html)

Hello all, this is a thread I've been meaning to share with you all for a long time. In the interests of keeping this brief I'll try not to waffle. I've been a lifelong Formula 1 fan and count the Red Baron Michael Schumacher as my childhood hero. His often questionable morality fits closely with mine.. Anyway, I'm doing a PhD in Manchester and it just so happened that a few of my friends all started getting into F1 and we would regularly chat about it. One of our group, Irem, is a mother hen. She's the organiser. Predictably about Xmas 2017 she put forward the proposal that we should go to the Belgian GP the following summer.

The gist of the plan was as follows:
We'd book the cheapest weekend pass. Fly out on the Friday, taking our camping kit with us. Land in Brussels, pick up the rental car, drive to the campsite, pitch up our tents and enjoy the race weekend before flying back on the Sunday evening to Manchester. Ours was a group of 6.

Costs-
Bronze pass full weekend+1 Youth Village camping spot=£183(205EUR)
Flights MAN-CRL (Brussels Charleroi) return=£71
Car hire 3 days=£50/person
Camping kit=£38/person (includes tents, rollable mattresses, camping chairs etc)
Misc over the course of the weekend=£140 incl Food, Fuel, etc

Total=£481 all inclusive (or INR 43290 roughly at AUG18 rates)

MAP:
It's important to keep this map in mind because boy not only is Spa the longest circuit on the F1 calendar its a huge area to cover every day

My experience at the Belgian GP - Spa Francorchamps, 2018-20180824_145711.jpg