Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 2nd June 2014, 18:40   #1
BHPian

Newbie Intro

Hello Everyone,

Just became a member after lurking in the forums for the past 3 or 4 months.

I now live in Mangalore, a coastal town in Karnataka. Born in Mudigere a short distance from Chickmagalur, grew up there surrounded by lush green coffee estates and forests. Still have interests which pull me back there atleast twice a week.

Mechanical Engineer by profession, have worked in the Power Generation Sector all my life, right from maintenance, management, construction and finally development. Quit corporate life 3 years ago to spend more time at home with my parents and family of 2+2.

Have been a part of the household which owned many cars right from ambassadors, M&M Jeeps, Esteems and last purchased Innova @ 2005.

Currently own and operate a paint retail outlet and a paint contracting firm. Also, an agriculturist where my interests include coffee, arecanut, mangoes, jackfruit, pigs (yeah pigs!) and dogs.

Not much of an automobile jack, but interested to learn and implement these learnings in my life and have found many threads very very helpful.

Very travel oriented (drive-able distances) and have travelled widely in Karnataka, Kerala and Tamilnadu. As a hobby, last November began restoring a CJ500 that was lying around unused and untouched for more than 20 odd years (my father never got around to sell it when a MM540 was bought). Posting a few pictures of the restored Jeep. Hope you like it

And in advance, I thank one and all of you, for what might turn into a great relationship down the years.

Cheers

Arun Goveas

Our first off-road adventure at Thannirbavi beach strip, a no mans land about 500m away from the place where the general populace enjoys the beach

Newbie Intro-20140427_185854.jpg

Another of our outings at Mandalpatti Hills in Mercara

Newbie Intro-20140522_102035.jpg