Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Old 18th September 2015, 15:52   #1

Buuurrraaahhhhh, I am back

Warning: Long Post, Fasten Your Seat belts.

Hello guys, I am BHPian for the second time, i will explain the "second time" but first my introduction: I am Amit Singh from Jammu(J&K), 35 years old, Engineering Graduate (IT) worked in govt. organisation (STPI), left the job and currently i am my own Boss, ENTREPRENEUR (name feels like you are doing something good, no matter how bad you are doing it) and apart from Cars and Team Bhp my other interest is CRICKET. I became a BHPian in 2005 (those were good old days, there was no "WHY Team Bhp", "Which Car" or "Which Rule" at that time, you want to become a member? Just Register and pop, You are a member).

Working at Govt. offices have some perks, no work and free services, i made the most of free internet and was remained constantly glued to Team Bhp. Then i left the job and started my own venture, anybody who is an entrepreneur will agree , that Startups need FOCUS, TIME, HARDWORK, its like Batting on a first day WACA (Perth) wicket, with the new ball and Brett Lee and Mc Grath firing on all cylinders, what you need is a focus and determination of Rahul Dravid, keeping that in mind, i left all the luxuries (including Internet) aside and went all out in my work. Fast forward to year 2013, work became less hectic, Smart phones and 3G made Team Bhp approachable and once again i became a Bhpian at heart. I recently bought a pre owned Maruti 800, 5 speed and decided to write my ownership report and for that decided to register. After filling all columns, i pushed the "Submit Button" and Voila, it said this email Id is already registered and to retrieve the password follow this procedure, i was pleasantly surprised that i am still a member.

After getting the password i logged in but couldn't write a post, as it said, your account is in moderation queue to be added to the forum and then on about 6 th day in the morning, 'Disaster', i got that famous mail and with it the shock of my life, Sorry, You are Rejected. My response at that moment fluctuated from Shocked, frustrated to angry, it was like what an old player feels, when he is dropped from the team because of " non performance". i have to admit, i had never read introductory posts and after my rejection, went through some and realized that most of the people are rejected twice, thrice or even more before finally becoming a member so i decided to give it an another shot, submitted all the formalities, got registered and then began the wait, i got so obsessed that, first thing i did in the morning was check my mail and yesterday in the morning i got that famous mail. BINGO, i am BHPian for the "Second time".

My Cars: i learnt driving on "mere dad ki maruti 800". Being in a joint family most of Our cars were My cars, we shifted from 800 to Indica DLS in 2000, and then to Maruti Zen in 2003, used zen for 3 years and around 90000 Kms without any major problem, then moved on to Pre Owned Maruti Baleno but got a lemon, Car had a Faulty steering, Power Steering literally meant "Power required to turn the Steering". Still used it for a year and after enough of Bicep and Shoulder exercises, sold it off and bought a Scorpio 2.6 Crde(Brutal acceleration). Meanwhile Dad also brought a Maruti Omni(People Mover). Scorpio was a Beast. All that Cheetah thing in XUV ads was fake, XUV was Cheetah only in its appearance, real cheetah was this car. Violent Acceleration and Turbo Kick was addictive, it needed some skills to tame this cheetah. Although 2.2 mhawk is a nice engine but i think cheetah has been tamed a bit. Used this car for 5 years and trouble free 1.5 lakh Kms. In the meantime i also got my self a Santro GLS in 2007(workhorse for the City) i loved this car, i think it was the best city car but pathetic on the highway. Used it for 4 years and 95000 kms, just changed oils regularly and silencer once. Still regret selling it.

Family got a pre owned Skoda Octavia 1.9 Tdi, it was a nice car with exceptional mileage but service cost was a bomb, got rid of it very soon. Currently we own Skoda Fabia 1.4 Tdi, its also a nice car with a great engine but not so great engine clatter, i think its engine clatter on a cold start can put a mahindra tractor to shame, but on the inside its totally different story. My best friends Swift Dezire has more Foot peg gear lever vibrations then the Fabia(Germen Engg. right?) but electricals are a totally different story, its power window switches have a mind of their own, central locking is Kaput and AC compressor has some switch broken down, which nobody can fix as Skoda Service Center has closed in our state thus the car now is Non AC Model by default, but we are also a stubborn lot, still continuing with the car and it has crossed 5 years and 80000 Kms. just recently i have bought a 15 year old pre owned maruti 800, 5 speed, to be used as a mule for my office work, will write a detailed ownership thread for the car very soon. So guys, this is my story so far, but there is lot more to come (Khatam Nahi Hua Hai), so stay tuned and thanx for tolerating

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 18th September 2015 at 16:02. Reason: Spacing.
amit_snk is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 18th September 2015, 16:24   #2

re: Buuurrraaahhhhh, I am back

Welcome. Liked your writing style. Hopefully second innings for you is more long then the first!
Old 22nd September 2015, 22:55   #3

Re: Buuurrraaahhhhh, I am back

Welcome Back Amit

Great Intro & I like your writing style, look forward to read more threads from you
Old 24th September 2015, 15:53   #4

Re: Buuurrraaahhhhh, I am back

Originally Posted by heydj View Post
Welcome. Liked your writing style. Hopefully second innings for you is more long then the first!
Thanx brother, would like second innings to continue till reflexes allow driving, after that, will pass on the mantle to my son

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Welcome Back Amit

Great Intro & I like your writing style, look forward to read more threads from you
Thanx brother, sure, threads & posts will keep on coming, like i said 'journey has just begun' for the second time though
amit_snk is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com