Team-BHP > Introduce yourself

Old 15th August 2020, 21:22   #1

Got BHP? Yes!

Greetings everyone!

I am Shrinand Iyer, Design Engineer (Aerostructures and Locomotive interiors) employed in Bangalore (Working from home now in a remote village Tamilnadu)

Many thanks to Moderators and admins for considering my application. It was my second try. Now I know how and why the content is top notch across the team-BHP platform.

We have at home -

1. Maruti 800 - ageing gracefully - turning 25 on Sep 8 2020.
(done 3 lakh KM on odo - on its second gear box, same engine, multiple clutch plates and countless drive shafts )

2. Ford EcoSport (first facelift - AT) - purchased on Feb '18
(Yes, the one with pimple-infested Ecopia tires)

With my father in the milk industry, we have been nomadic for many years across locations in Gujrat and Tamilnadu.

My parents taught me how to drive and I got my license exact one month after turning 18 (mandatory 30 days of learners license). I try to be super respectful to other road users, but most of the time I don't get the same response.

I have -
- not crashed by myself,
- been credited for teaching a few of my friends to drive and
- been saved once by the seatbelt in a near crash scenario.

I never drive without a seatbelt.

Enough talk.
Please allow the images do the talking.

Name:  Capture_20200815195215.png
Views: 272
Size:  586.5 KB
Proud mother with 2 of her 4 kids.

Name:  Capture_20200815195257.png
Views: 272
Size:  547.5 KB
Car was STATIONARY! I'm in the driver's seat and my friend is testing the strength of the carrier.

Got BHP? Yes!-20191215_123538_hdr.jpg
Dad's Jugaad for lack of rear AC vents in the EcoSport.
Now we have a much more eye pleasing alternative in the car.

Got BHP? Yes!-capture_20200815194948.png
Met Pininfarina CEO at my workplace in Hyderabad. His insight - "The Digital, The Physical and the Technological are all brought together by the glue called Design ".

Name:  Capture_20200815195135.png
Views: 256
Size:  917.3 KB
My craze for HotWheels. This is half of my collection. Also note the vintage/antique tin box from my great grandparents time. ?

Name:  Capture_20200815204557.png
Views: 266
Size:  481.9 KB
Also some 1:18 and 1:24 scale models.

It feels good to be a part of this highly reputed and respected forum.

Thank you all for your time.
shrinandiyer is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 17th August 2020, 16:49   #2

Re: Got BHP? Yes!

Welcome to Team-BHP Shrinand! That’s two formidable cars there, and I am sure that the (relatively) young Ecosport is going to age as gracefully as the little blue 800

Originally Posted by shrinandiyer View Post
Dad's Jugaad for lack of rear AC vents in the EcoSport.
Ford’s AC systems are pretty powerful; even otherwise please avoid that jugaad – it can be a severe safety hazard.

Wishing you a pleasant stay in the forum, and looking forward to your contributions
vb-saan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th August 2020, 17:05   #3

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
Ford’s AC systems are pretty powerful; even otherwise please avoid that jugaad – it can be a severe safety hazard.

Thank you @vb_san

Rest assured that Jugaad was temporary and I'm happy to report it doesn't not exist anymore.
shrinandiyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2020, 17:17   #4

Remote village in TN? Sounds interesting! Especially with country roads and rain!

Welcome to the forum! You location says Coimbattore. So I assume you would be some where around there.

Welcome again and see you around!
ampere is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th August 2020, 19:37   #5

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Remote village in TN? Sounds interesting! Especially with country roads and rain!

Welcome to the forum! You location says Coimbattore. So I assume you would be some where around there.

Welcome again and see you around!
Thank you@ampere.

My hometown is Coimbatore.

Right now I'm with my family near Dindigul. My father is on deputation in a remote milk factory.

Coming back to your country roads - YES. Butter smooth, numerous curves and the icing on the top? - No Traffic.
shrinandiyer is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com