Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 9th January 2021, 15:32   #1

Hi Team-BHP!

Hi everyone!

To me, Team-Bhp website for the last 12-15 years has been that place where the cool guys and gals hang out and talk about their mean machines. Finally, I’ve decided to join the conversations and I can't be more thrilled to be here.
I’m Akmal and I call Chennai my home. I’ve spent a good number of years in the Gulf as a kid and later moved to Chennai, then Bangalore and now based in Singapore. I’m a Computer engineer by education and working in an IT company in a Finance role. How that happened to be is a story more suited for reader’s digest than Team-BHP.

As is the case with most enthusiasts, my fascination with automobiles started before I could spell auto or mobiles. Before getting to the legal age to be in the driver seat, passion for driving kept itself alive playing Need For Speed and Road Rash on my dad's computer.

It was during the last year of my college in Chennai, was I bought my first motorcycle. A pre-owned Hero Honda Splendor. Gazing at the bypass road connecting Maduravoyal to Tambaram, came the eureka moment. Why not do the bike trip ? I quickly asked my friend (who was just as adventurous or mad, depending on who you ask) and we decided to do it. We packed our duffle bag, secured it to the back carriage and took off on the hero Honda Splendor from Chennai towards Ooty. 6 days and approximately 1300 Kms later, we were back home. With no google maps to aid our turns, we had seen the beautiful country side, rested under trees and temples, got drenched in rains, tried some amazing food and even got a haircut. It was in that trip that the spell was cast and I found my zen. Since that bike trip, I have done a few other road trips (in cars mostly) and not once have I not felt that peace and zen.