Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 17th September 2007, 08:45   #1

Long Drive fan from Bangalore

Hello friends,

This is my first post (introduction + help on what car)

I am Rajiv from Bangalore. I am 34 an engineer by training, a manager by profession and a philosopher by choice!

I enjoy long drives and have driven extensively in western and Southern India. I used to >1000km on my Yamaha RX 135. Then I migrated to a Indica V2 DLG and now I am planning to buy the Indigo DICOR.

I am looking for help from this group to cement my thought processes.

I was driving an Indica DLG (non turbo) version for the last 23 months. In these 23 months I have covered more than 47000 kilometers on highways and in Bangalore city. This car met with an accident (thankfully nothing happened to anybody) and the insurance is giving me 100% loss claim. I clock at least 1500 km in a month on an average. Hence operating costs are a big factor and I have ruled out all petrol cars. I am also not a big fan of gas powered vehicles.

My wife now wants me to go for a bigger car. Her logic is that we have driven a hatchback and it is time to upgrade to a Sedan. After a through market analysis (visiting websites, visiting dealers, test drives, umpteen discussions with friends) etc I am closing on to the Indigo DICOR. I have to take a call on buying from the following vehicles – Indica DLG Turbo, Indigo DICOR and TDI versions, Swift Diesel, Ford Fiesta and Logan. I plan to use my new car for at least 3 to 4 years.

With this context my reasons to go for the Indigo DICOR for the following:
1. A big car feeling (upgrade to a Sedan from a hatchback; don’t like Swift shape)
2. Value for money (< 6.5 lakh for fully loaded version)
3. Smaller than Fiesta (helpful in bangalore traffic)
4. More leg room than Fiesta but not boxy like Logan
5. Lower maintenance cost than Fiesta