Team-BHP > Introduce yourself
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 21st September 2009, 01:04   #1
BHPian

Yes..i am finally here

Hi all,
I am rxpaul from Pune, a chemical engr by profession, married with one kid. Been a auto freak, since childhood. This is my first post (in any kind of public forum). I have been browsing thro' Team-bhp for about 3 yrs. Was out in the middle east for 5 yrs. Have driven a lot of cars- Camry,corolla,sunny,Tida,Proton, Chev Lumina and owned an old old E36 (shed tears when i sold it) there.

Anyhow i am back in Pune and after a lot of test drives, finally settled for a company owned Skoda Octavia 1.8 TPI. Other than dumb headlights and a electric switch board type gear lever (yes it sounds & feels like that), the car is GREAT and i love it. GTO's 27th March post and the subsequent Skoda horror stories have given me the gitters. 9 months & 7300 kms of running and no problems yet- keeping my fingers crossed. I do want to prove all the Skoda baiters wrong heh heh.

Well....the best day in my life ? The day i drove my friend's Chev Lumina from Riyadh to Dammam in a dust storm at night pedal to metal !!!

Cheers
Old 21st September 2009, 07:31   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

hi Paul, Welcome ! You seem to have driven a range of cars & makes. After 3 years of browsing, and your years of driving, I think you'll soon be participating in a range of topics here.

The Octy by itself is a lovely car, and looks like you really love it. I myself love the styling. It's not the cars are bad - IMO it's more about the how things are done by Skoda.

Do stop by the Rules & Regulations section. And shout out if you need help.

I'd love to hear about that RUH-Dammam drive. Any pics from that day ?
Old 21st September 2009, 16:30   #3
BHPian

Hi Condor,
Thanks for the warm welcome. Yes I have driven a lot of cars, but I am more of an armchair analyst ? on automobiles.