Old 28th January 2013, 18:37   #76

Re: Went to buy a Nano, booked it, cancelled it and bought a Tata Aria

Originally Posted by arup.misra View Post
Great going sahakar, I think this is the first A*S*S to not charge for wheel alignment.

Nice to see you are getting more bang for the buck with most under rated car. As long as it stays reliable I'm sure you're going to enjoy riding it.

Good luck!!!
I think they just forgot or maybe because the A*S*S is TATA owned they have been told to be good to the ARIA owners.

And I forgot to add, the WURTH folks actually did a full interior detailed clean of the dashboard, all the doors from the inside including the cloth parts of the door and the seats and all for free. Didn't see them do that ever before in any of the prev services.

sahakar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st March 2013, 16:00   #77

All going on well with the Aria. Nothing new to report.

Just crossed 12K on the mileage.

Have got myself a blue tooth receiver, so music and voice hands free straight from the phone to the receiver which is plugged into the aux. Cheap blue tooth hands free solution.

Also, got a blue tooth odb device. Still haven't got time to try it out on the Aria. Will hopefully do soon and share some snaps here.

Sometime back I saw an awesome paint job on an Endeavor in Bombay. All back in matt finish. I think will try that out on mine after a few years.

Old 30th September 2013, 14:14   #78

A quick update.

Had got a check engine light for a day which went away. So took the truck to the Service folks at Worli to check it out last week.

My year end service is due in December so was waiting for that to go and rectify small niggles but the check engine light came on and had to pre plan the visit.

So along with the check engine light had asked the service folks to check all these items

1. General vibrations on steering and occasional difficulty in putting the truck in first gear which I presume is a TATA hallmark
2. The gear knob was peeling off its silver colour
3. Brake noise something like you hear from buses/trucks when they brake. I had this since ages but wasn't sorted out yet
4. Left back door lock was behaving erratically. The monsoon got to it I guess
5. One inner roof light busted

This was the first time ever the truck was at the service centre for two days.

And they sorted out pretty much everything and a job well done.

The brake discs and gear knob were replaced for free.

They couldn't recreate the door lock issue but still went ahead and replaced the door lock for free.

The vibrations have literally gone and gear shifting has become much easier.

Till date the best service ever and everything sorted out.

All for a measly expense of zero. Couldn't be happier.

Have reached around 15k on the mileage. Running considerably reduced as work location moved closer to house and have been out of the country more often than I would like.

The service folks are really putting in the efforts and its shows how they have improved over the past two years.

Now I can safely recommend buying a TATA although the dated vehicles are the only issue. But once they have a new lot of vehicles in a couple of years, I am quite sure TATAs will be back in the game.

Maybe now should rethink on getting the Nano

Old 30th September 2013, 16:50   #79

Originally Posted by sahakar View Post
A quick update.

Had got a check engine light for a day which went away. So took the truck to the Service folks at Worli to check it out last week.
Maybe now should rethink on getting the Nano

Next time you see the check engine, rev the engine till 4k in neutral for 45sec or so ( as per manual) or if you can ride hard for few seconds. In most cases it would be the carbon deposit.
jkdas is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st October 2013, 11:41   #80

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Next time you see the check engine, rev the engine till 4k in neutral for 45sec or so ( as per manual) or if you can ride hard for few seconds. In most cases it would be the carbon deposit.
Thanks for the tip.

As long as I have warranty don't mind going to the service centre especially when a check engine light comes on, as it takes care of any other niggles that I would have. Else anyway am too lazy to go.

Old 10th April 2014, 18:42   #81

From my last service, a couple of parts were pending and finally came and had gone to get them changed in warranty last week.

One was the passenger side visor and a malfunctioning window locking switch.

They replaced all the window switches and due to the replacement, got the driver window switch board with the auto close ovrm button. Now next time I go will check if I can replace the manual OVRMs to auto close OVRMs and will that work.

Also the truck was vibrating over 100kmph and the Concorde folks did a wheel balancing for free and its back to the original smoothness. Hats off to Manish my service advisor. Does good work always. They apparently have a new machine from Germany and it did a good job.

Just crossed 20k in 2 years. Expected to do a lot more but work moving closer to home has reduced my daily mileage. Heck at least my fuel money is getting saved.

Am interested to check what parts have changed in the new Aria and whether I can get some of them into mine over the future timeframe.

Old 24th June 2014, 16:58   #82

Had my first scare with the Aria. Here are the details.

Had been out of station for 3 odd days and the Aria was safely parked inside my compound. After coming back when I went to take the Aria out for an errand, on ignition it started vibrating like never before and both the ABS and Engine Check lights came on.

I was quite used to the Engine Check light coming on once in 6 months, with the Aria working like normal and the only thing to do was to go to the service centre and remove the Engine Check code.

However this was new as the Aria was literally shuddering. So I called my service advisor and he advised on calling the Breakdown service.

I did that and promptly in an hour or so a mechanic came to my place and after looking at the truck, advised on it getting towed to the nearest service center.

I normally take the Aria to Concorde, which is not the nearest to my place and I was a bit apprehensive to take it to another service centre.

But nevertheless, the towing guy came and took it to Banai, Seepz. I had no clue such a service centre existed but man was I surprised at their awesomeness.

All this was done in a couple of hours since I called the breakdown service and done for free. Hats off to Tata Motors for that.

Dsouza the service advisor was a gem of a guy at Banai. The difficult part happened now. Even after a week and multiple permutations/combinations the check engine light didnt go out. He tried everything from replacing the injector, checking all wiring and couldnt get rid of the check engine light.

Finally it took almost 10 days to fix the problem and it was two injectors that needed replacement

And the cause of this problem was nothing but pure stupidity on Tata Motors design part. So while I was away the first rains came in Bombay. There is a rubber part which keeps the water out of the bonnet and that had come loose just above the engine. Tatas had cut corners for the pure and also not provided an engine cover. So the water seeped into the injectors and two of the injectors conked off.

Dsouza and his mechanics finally figured that out and replaced the injectors and the truck is back to its normal self.

Now this was a really avoidable issue if the rubber part was designed better not to come out and if Tata Motors had not skimped on the engine cover.

The 10k odd expense on Tata Motors for changing 2 injectors would have easily been avoided.

But anyway all ended well and my Aria is back to normal.

Everybody with Arias check the rubber part just below the bonnet just to be sure its properly fixed.

sahakar is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2015, 17:02   #83

A quick update -

My 3 years with the Aria over already. It seems like had just got it yesterday. Still has the new car smell ;-)

Finally crossed 25k kms with a year end Goa trip and back last week.

Just got the 5th free service done.

All going fine. No issues as of now.

Thanks to the AMC was a no cost service which included all the fluid changes and a wheel alignment/balancing done for free.

Due to the new 2014 Aria, some parts have changed.

For eg the side mirrors now do not have turn indicators unless you go for the top version automatic close side mirrors. So trying to figure out how to change one of my side mirrors where one of the bulbs have blown off without going for the top end auto mirrors. Maybe if they can rewire and make my manual close mirrors to auto somehow then worth the spend of 6k. Lets see.

Among other things seeing a lot more Arias on the street, taxis as well as private.

And finally, Happy New Year to all you folks and wishing myself a continued trouble free Aria experience ;-)

sahakar is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 28th July 2019, 20:04   #84

Hello Sahakar, any update on your Aria Pure? Can you tell me if there are any issues with procuring Spare Parts for Aria now that it is discontinued in the market and replaced by Hexa instead? I am getting a <60K Kilometers run Aria Pure 4x2 2012 for a little over 3 Lakhs. So, I am in a dilemma whether to go for it or not. Do enlighten me.

Incidentally I am a Tata Nano owner for the past 5.5 years, and this is going to replace my humble Nano as I need a 5+ seater in my family in the days ahead.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com