Old 11th December 2017, 20:48   #31

Re: Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX

So after about 18years and 2.5months the car rolled over to 80000Kms. Pulled over to capture the moment. Will ensure that 1L comes up much sooner than later. Despite a slightly weak clutch the car is returning fantastic FE . Here's to many more miles to the Goldie.

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-img_20171211_154427361.jpg

Subhra
tacho9000 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th April 2018, 15:00   #32

It has been quite a while since last post was made on this thread. At that time Goldie had covered 80000KMS in 18Y 4Months. Now another about 4.5months later Goldie has clocked in 856xx KMS. The last few months has seen Goldie making umpteen number of short highway trips mainly for driving and food love and some photography. Attaching a few of those. And in the meantime Goldie will soon go in for some nip and tuck under the watchful eyes of Leoshashi at his hometown of Ranchi. Will post the details of that as and when possible. That guy is a true gem of person. I'm both lucky and super happy to have such a talented BHPian as my friend. Till next update.

Subhra

Last edited by tacho9000 : 27th April 2018 at 15:01.
tacho9000 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 26th July 2018, 22:56   #33

Originally Posted by tacho9000 View Post
And in the meantime Goldie will soon go in for some nip and tuck under the watchful eyes of Leoshashi at his hometown of Ranchi. Will post the details of that as and when possible. That guy is a true gem of person. I'm both lucky and super happy to have such a talented BHPian as my friend. Till next update.
What was supposed to be a nip and tuck job, ended up with a factory spec restoration cum upgradation. I am simply helpless when it comes to half hearted jobs, hence we decided it has to be a full blown restoration.

Thanks to Tacho9000 for providing me this opportunity, as I always wished to do atleast one proper restoration, which I can truly call "factory spec"

Before pics: I don't know how the car reached Ranchi, it died immediately after reaching my place. Looked like it did the Kolkata-Ranchi stretch in one breath and then died.

No offence, but the car was as good as a car which was about to be scrapped. Careless mechanics, plethora of duplicate spares and an equally ignorant owner, the car was nothing less than a challenge for me. Nothing worked, not even the brakes.

The day it reached me: 20th May, 2018

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180520_185605.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180520_185621.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180520_192817.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180520_192827.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180520_202114.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180520_202322.jpg

The day I delivered the finished product: 26th July, 2018

First look

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_153357.jpg

Tacho is all excited

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_153406.jpg

Jumping around like a kid

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_153422.jpg

Another angle

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_153440.jpg

Clearance for takeoff

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_183612.jpg

Goldie(8284) along with tired looking GG(5641). Our GG acted as a support car when Goldie was undergoing restoration

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184131.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184149.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184225.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184253.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184316.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184322.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184445.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184458.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_184529.jpg

Time for dinner:

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_190548.jpg

The smile says it all. I hope he is satisfied

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_191738.jpg

I should now start to Pamper GG, she is looking too tired

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_201225.jpg

Filling her up

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_204434.jpg

GG waiting patiently

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_204450.jpg

Pic taken at the same spot where it all began

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_204958.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_205005.jpg

After a slush fest

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180726_205156.jpg

Hope everyone likes it.

Shashi

PS: While the colors look identical, they are not. 8284 is Metallic Golden Beige in color, whereas 5641 is Metallic California Gold.

Last edited by Leoshashi : 26th July 2018 at 23:09.
Leoshashi is offline   (33) Thanks
Old 26th July 2018, 23:54   #34

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
What was supposed to be a nip and tuck job, ended up with a factory spec restoration cum upgradation. I am simply helpless when it comes to half hearted jobs, hence we decided it has to be a full blown restoration.
First of all congratulation on the restoration, the end product is simply brilliant. Over the last 2 months, I have been privileged to see photos of the work in progress. I must say every work was done thoroughly and the end result is a car, that looks like it has just rolled out of the factory. Wishing tacho9000 many more happy years with the Goldie, please take good care of her . Please share a few more photos of the car, especially of the interiors.

Last edited by chiranjitp : 26th July 2018 at 23:57.
chiranjitp is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th July 2018, 00:24   #35

Congratulation, tacho9000 !!

My heartfelt thanks to Leoshashi for helping Tacho (Tacho being a very close friend) to realise his dream of restoring his Goldie to its former glory and then some !! Goldie looks as if just taken out from the showroom.

Will have to persuade Tacho for a drive as soon as he comes back.
TheStranger is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 27th July 2018, 00:25   #36

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
AWESOME! Only Shashi could have done this. A 5 star restore. I know I have said this before you'd make an absolutely fabulous car dealership owner. May be I'll see that happen some day.

Seriously..you'd be a guy I'd have happily given my Goldie (size wise Sr, age wise Jr to the subject of this thread) to you for a perfect detailing and TLC session. There! I said it.
R2D2 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 27th July 2018, 15:47   #37

That was just Fantastic Tacho..
I wish, I could send my 'First Love', a '98 M 800 to Shashi's custody.

Or, at least, get his 'trusted Garage team' to Chennai.

Trying to restore as much as possible when ever time permits. Latest was the fuel tank.
Will update my thread soon. Our 8 month old second son is making us completely busy after relocating to a new house.

Thanks for this hope Sashi!

Maverick79
Maverick79 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th July 2018, 18:59   #38

Just what's expected from Shashi. This guy knows a Maruti inside out. Having seen this restored car in person, there was hardly a sore point that I could have pointed out for mediocrity. Lovely restoration and great attention to detail as always.
Wished that you could have shared the expenses involved too

Wishing you two some great memories and Tacho some great drives in the car ahead.

Saket.
saket77 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 27th July 2018, 21:11   #39

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Wished that you could have shared the expenses involved too
It's in public interest that I have not disclosed the costs involved. Many will get strokes. But this was a project which appealed to my heart, and as you know, mediocrity isn't my way of life. I am not someone who can console myself with "Chalta hai"attitude. It has to be the best, or nothing. Add to that the car was in an appalling state to begin with. Hence the budget had to be high.

What matters to me the most is that Tacho is super happy with the end result, and it far exceeded his expectations.

Shashi

PS: He has reached Kolkata safely. Some pics:

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180727_093933_015.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180727_085721.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-20180727_090222.jpg
Leoshashi is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 24th March 2019, 09:46   #40

So, after 1year and 3months since 80,000kms was done Goldie finally crossed the magical 1lac kilometers milestone. Apologies in advance for the super messy photos being clicked. Traffic was bad so had to the get the snap clicked fast and move on. In other words, since the high quality work done by Leoshashi car has been running flawlessly. Apart from regular maintenances car has needed absolutely nothing. I can vouch for the perfectionist attitude that he has, nothing escapes his eyes and that is where the quality of the works he has done be it on GG or on Goldie shows up. Some visual pleasures.

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-whatsapp-image-20190315-11.51.33.jpeg
The final 99999kilometer

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-whatsapp-image-20190315-11.51.37.jpeg
The odo roll over

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-dscn6277min.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-dscn6278min.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-dscn6281min.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-dscn6282min.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-dscn6283min.jpg

Ode to Goldie - My '99 Maruti 800 DX-dscn6284min.jpg

Subhra

Last edited by tacho9000 : 24th March 2019 at 09:53.
tacho9000 is offline   (11) Thanks