Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Long-Term Ownership Reviews
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 25th November 2010, 12:37   #1
BHPian

Long term ownership report of Indica V2 Petrol

Folks,

It has been around 6 years now since I took delivery of my Indica V2 Lsi (pre-Xeta 1.4 L Petrol version) and I am sharing my ownership experience of this car with you all in this post.

This is the first car in my family and I was an inept driver before I bought this car. I learnt driving in this car and this car has several other sentiments attached. After 6 years, the odo reads 37k kms and the car has never let me down even once
throughout this period though there were few niggles as part and parcel of TATA package. One major issue I faced (Around 10k kms) was the infamous jerk problem common to Indica Petrol cars. I got the problem sorted out after some escalations to TATA motors' honchos. The wiring harness was replaced free of cost and the problem came to rest. The CRO at Concorde Motors, Chennai (Mr. Sivasankaran) was so helpful in getting this issue sorted out. Other common issue was the rusty silence pipe and I had to replace itaround 30k kms.

I am thoroughly enjoying my car. Though this car does not like corners, I enjoy taking it to its limits taking sharp corners with speeds no other Indica owner can dream of. I love to hear the tyre squeal when enganged in some enthusiastic driving !!... Yes .. you read it right .. Its a petrol Indica and I can do enthusiastic driving This car has low grunt in bottom
end of the rev range and once the rpm crosses 1.5k rpm it pulls clean and can pose some good competition to comparable hatchbacks. Sadly, this car is one of the most underrated cars in its time.