Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 25th June 2004, 20:22   #1

Hey guys, my dads planning to get rid of his C-180 and upgrade to an E-class but i am abit confused which model is the best to go with..The E200 Kompressor or E240 or the new E270 Cdi .. At present i was very impressed buy the E270's reviews in the magazines. The E200K also seems good but i dont know how well the 1800cc engine will hold up that hulk of a body. Also i am not very impressed with the alloys they give with the car, if anyone knows or has exchanged their mags to the company itself for better ones like amg or something let me know how much it costs. 10x for the help guys would appreciate some1 who already has driven both the petrol and diesel new E to help out too.
Old 25th June 2004, 21:28   #2

Dont go in for the E 200 K. Mercs are not like Jap cars where you buy a small engine and tweak it up.

It may have a fancy "Kompresser" written on it but get this, on an xpressway...the E270 will leave it for the dead. When talking Mercs, engine capacity is GOD.

Why spend so much for a E200K when you can afford a massive E270. And i'm sure the E270 will be much more fuel efficient.

Regards...
Shan2nu
Old 25th June 2004, 22:26   #3

Well try the E270... or .. best thing.. try to get a W124 old merc... they were amazing!!!
Old 25th June 2004, 22:54   #4
RJK

I'd suggest you go for the E270 CDI. Its absolutely brilliant!

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ] And i'm sure the E270 will be much more fuel efficient.
& shantanu..when you're buying a merc fuel efficiency is not the top priority ! In E270's case its just added bonus
Old 25th June 2004, 23:08   #5
v12

go in for the E270. The E200 K is good. Has a Kompressor engine. But not enough to pull the E on the highways.

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]my dads planning to get rid of his C-180 and upgrade to an E-class
Hey GTO, when's ur turn?? *
Old 25th June 2004, 23:12   #6

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (v12 @ June 25 2004,21:38)]Hey GTO, when's ur turn?? *
Old 25th June 2004, 23:24   #7

Thnx for the quick responce guys... I am also pretty baist towards the E 270 but the only things turning me off is that even thought it is Cdi its a diesel at the end of the day, the noise and the little bit of smoke that burst out of the tail pipe when pumped is a big turn of to me, but i guess the breath taking performance makes up for it. I had one more query..is the E200 K engine the same powerplant that is in the C 200 k?
Old 25th June 2004, 23:28   #8
v12

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]the noise and the little bit of smoke that burst out of the tail pipe when pumped is a big turn of to me
U wont feel that in a Merc.

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]is the E200 K engine the same powerplant that is in the C 200 k?
Yes.
Old 26th June 2004, 00:17   #9

E270 Cdi !!!
What are you waiting for. I've driven this machine... It's out of the world in diesel group.
Old 26th June 2004, 00:47   #10

Sahil. Its an absolute nobrainer..price difference not being an issue.

Power - E270 CDI
Technology - E270 CDI
Acceleration/Top speed - E270 CDI
KPL - E270 CDI
Driving pleasure - E270 CDI

More importantly, Character - E270 CDI

There are some who firmly believe that Merc diesels are far superior to their gasoline engined siblings. With the E270, you have the most cutting edge technology. Plus burn the cheaper fuel and kick butt with every petrol car on the road.

I was just passing by the Sah and Sanghi in town today, and saw this cute uncle aunty duo with coconuts, har et all picking up their brand new Maroon E270 CDI. Was some sight.

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] ]Hey GTO, when's ur turn??
Considering that I use every car of mine till it falls apart, the C should be with me through the next 20 years. Atleast. But hey, that aint going to stop other machines from entering my garage.

Old 26th June 2004, 00:56   #11

Well pal, here's the deal.

Like GTO put it, the E270 Cdi is faster than the E240. Case in point? Pick up this month's autocar, they gave the car an astounding 10/10. And yes, no merc has ever got that distinction from the boys at ACI. And if you are really worried about the racket that it creates, then i guess i suggest you to take a trip in its engine bay.... provided you fit in it. . Jokes apart, once you start the car and the rpm gauge boils down to a constant idle speed, the noise would diminsh majorly and vanish once you are on the move. Typical Merc diesel traits.

Have a blast in it. Its so good, its worth waiting even if it has a 6 month waiting list.

Atleast I would.

Revv
Old 26th June 2004, 21:27   #12

Thanx alot guys...was inclinded to the E270 from the start this just makes it easier . And as u said its worth the 6 month wait, i guess i have to wait 2 months coz these guys dont have the car ready for delivery till august! Cant wait to get my hands on that car!...Hope to put some nice Amg mags on to it would give the car a killer looks compared to the ''seedha saadha'' :-P mags they give with it . Thnx once again *

Old 27th June 2004, 00:56   #13

hey sahil
i saw this beautiful merc e class in blue colour with lorisner wheels and body kit
it looked awesome
cudnt get pics as it zoomed away as fast as it came and i was still at standstill with the car switched off.
its worth seeing
trust me
just go for an e270 with the lorisner wheels
Old 27th June 2004, 01:50   #14

hey lambo the car ur talkin about belongs to a friend of mine was the plate 6464??He specially got the kit shipped from the US about 8 months ago
Old 1st July 2004, 20:00   #15

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Sahil @ June 26 2004,19:57)]Hope to put some nice Amg mags on to it would give the car a killer looks compared to the ''seedha saadha'' :-P mags they give with it .
Hey Sahil,

Sounds like a wait well worth it!

I heard that the difference in price when putting on AMG wheels from the showroom is 1lakh++, and thats the DIFFERENCE.... ie price above exchange of OE alloys

Drove a E240 the other day.... gotta love the brakes on that thing!!!...

cya
R