(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Its in Delhi - 96 - Twin Turbo - Red with 17" rims. I think in Punjabi Bagh. I might end up getting MR2 - Will put Black Metallic Paint and 18" rims.
I had a 99 VR4 in USA and loved every moment of it..guess not many GTOs here..
Yeah very few GTOs left running in india. There was one in punjabi bagh which had a faulty automatic gearbox a couple of years back, might be the same car, but i doubt if it was a TT.
99 VR4s were super nice, any mods you had done or kept it factory stock?
Just HIDs and ADR Kasais 18" rims. Wanted to keep it stock in Black.
Originally Posted by nitroxx
(Post 857260)
MItsubishi 3000 GT= problems. The MR2 turbo is the only option if you really wanna have absolute fun on the wheel, trust me. |
Absolutely agree with you. Plus its 95, so thats MK2. They are damn fun to drive man and fast when it comes to performance. Plus a mid-ship and a brilliant handler.
Hey guys..anybody know any GTOs running around in Mumbai which might be up for sale? I am looking at some but wanted to see if there were some extra options :D
Any reason BMW 3 series and Mercedes C series from mid 90s going for 5-7 lakhs and these cars going for much more? Is it the exotic tag on it and exclusivity that is costing more and they were more expensive imports in their time!
Given everything else being fair, I would love to own an MR2. Simply Superb looks and a fantastic car. A colleague of mine had it in Canada and still raves about it post 10 yrs of selling it. :)
As dipen wanted me to update :D
I have picked up a Twin Turbo GTO from Bangalore for around 15lacs. The reason why these cars get soo much premium here in India ( Considering a similar version costs around 12-15k USD in USA) is the exclusivity! Considering there are less GTOs in India than 911s :D
I had one of these cars before in USA and I wanted it back after moving back to Mumbai. MR2s I keep hearing are amazing drivers and I do hope to pick one of them up sometime.
Thanks everybody for your suggestions!
Congratulations on the purchase! Cant wait to see it after the upgrades ;)
Originally Posted by spiff
(Post 1129378)
I have picked up a Twin Turbo GTO |
Sweet ride. More details in terms of pictures, kms run, vintage etc. would be appreciated. Congrats!
MR2s I keep hearing are amazing drivers and I do hope to pick one of them up sometime.
|
Now there's an ideal situation. Stuck between two awesome cars and you decide to pick 'em up both!
Thanks Arush and GTO.
Credits goes to Arush as well for convincing me enough to pick it up and for checking out the car for me. Now waiting for him to finish his magic touch and will post pictures then.
Originally Posted by GTO
(Post 1129877)
Sweet ride. More details in terms of pictures, kms run, vintage etc. would be appreciated. Congrats! |
1993 Mitsubishi GTO Twin Turbo (1st Gen)
Currently under works :)
aah Autopsyche's magic happening on this as well. Will look forward to a detailed report :D
Hands down the MR2 is the better choice between the two.
Pro-MR2: lightweight, mid-engine, powerful, good looking.
Cons-MR2: expensive to fix. can be a nightmare if you buy one that has not been maintained.
Pro- GTO TT: large car, powerful, good looks.
Cons: unreliable, heavy, terrible as a sports car in every way in perspective to the MR2, because the MR2 does everything better i.e handling, speed, agility.
Also the price is ridiculous and overpriced
Originally Posted by NRIturbo
(Post 1130616)
Hands down the MR2 is the better choice between the two. |
We GTO Owners always tend to disagree. If maintained well and taken care of, theyre as reliable as any MR2. And in india its equal amounts of time to import parts for either of them. But yes, the only drawback is that the parts are more expensive.
In my two years / 25,000kms of ownership the only part faliure ive had is a failed water pump. Otherwise i drive it day in day out without any problems, only regular oil changes and checks.
A lot of these imports in india have been very shabbily maintained so you definitely have to be very careful with the purchase. This car is not trouble free it requires tones of work, its only a matter of time and money to get the car back to its original condition.
Also, you only have to look at both of them standing together, it will be enough to change one's mind ;)
Sweet, is the entire car being refurbished (cosmetically & mechanically)?