Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th May 2011, 18:25   #1
BHPian

2T Oil Mix with Petrol OR Auto-lube : For 2strokes

Hi All,

I have had some nasty experiences using Auto Lube, i.e. depending on the OIL pump to do the lubing for my RX-135 5 Speed.

I had re-bored my machine, and while on running in period, the OIL pump did not function properly and as a result the bike got seized again just after running in period.

Ever since then, I shut off the OIL pump , and mix 2T Oil with petrol. It gives me the psychological assurance that there is no issue with lubing.

After getting the bike fueled ,I get it back home and MIX the oil by myself, and shake the bike just to ensure its 'mixed'

I generally use Yamalube or Shell Advance VSX.

Which is the better option functionally, Auto Lube or Pre-mix ?
sameer9797 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2011, 22:14   #2
BHPian

Re: 2T Oil Mix with Petrol OR Auto-lube : For 2strokes

If it was me i would go with pre-mix and ditch the oil pump. Moreover you have had experience that the current oil pump in your bike is not working fine. So dont use it as you already learned it in teh expensive manner.

Leave the oil pump there but cut the connection from the oil can and also teh throttle cable and plug the inlet into the carb.
jayakrishnan_v is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2011, 23:58   #3
BHPian

Pre- mix all the way. Invest in Fully Synth 2T oil - improved performance and extend engine life .

ps: did u know that oil injection was only invented to meet emission norms ?
Old 20th May 2011, 10:15   #4
BANNED