Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 31st July 2013, 20:43   #1
BHPian

Project: Speed Run Motorcycle

Hello there bhpians! This being my first thread on T-bhp, I wanted it to be something really good (I hope so). Just a brief intro - I'm a student at MIT, Manipal. I've just completed my B.E in Automobile engineering.

The idea for this project first came up during one extremely boring lecture during my 6th semester of college while discussing the movie "The fastest Indian" (Nice way to spend a lecture, yes). Fast forward to the 8th semester where we had to do a final project and this idea popped up into our heads. So after a quick discussion with a couple of professors we decided to push on with the project.

Initially we did quite a lot of research, The book "Motorcycle Handling and Chassis Design" was our primary reference. We've cannibalized an apache 180 rtr for the purpose of this project. The donor bike belongs to the said friend of mine. So after getting a couple more interested batch mates we jumped right into it.

Phase 1

This was the planning phase where we decided on a few core aspects of the frame we were about to design.

• Rake angle-35 degrees

• Wheel base-1.6 metre's

• Hardtail

• Mild steel frame

We assumed that with the extreme rake angle the motorcycle would have high straight line stability at medium to high speeds. Hardtail was chosen since the idea was to run it on extremely flat surfaces with the additional benefit of simplicity in design.

Project: Speed Run Motorcycle-picture1.jpg

Phase 2

This is where we started stripping the donor bike of all the components which we required.And what a pain that was. Especially during the removal of the engine mounts,stripped nuts were an absolute nightmare for us. Atleast we learned a lot on how to use a hammer and chisel