(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-
Motorbikes
(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorbikes/)
Originally Posted by nairrk
(Post 5178106)
Thanks all you dear members for your valued comments/advise which helped me to finally select this Jupiter 125. :) |
Sir, please see this news -
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motor...lakh-mark.html
No wonder they're selling this hot even nowadays.
Originally Posted by aargee
(Post 5176871)
[*]So which is near trouble free? Surprise surprise!! Zest, Pep & Pleasure!! (Not even the Duet 110) Unfortunately they're all 110 cc, but near complaint free, low on maintenance & fuss free ownership, but comes at the cost of not so powerful engine & needs to soft handling. Pep has atrociously spacious floor board that one can even carry 2 cylinders. One cannot simply have a glance at that scooter to make that judgement[/list] |
Originally Posted by aargee
(Post 5182788)
Sir, please see this news -
No wonder they're selling this hot even nowadays. |
Yes seen that. The Scooty has been very famous among girls and even my family circle has got few Scooty's owned by young (college /office going) girls.
If I am not wrong, TVS introduced this model aiming young girls which they succeeded and getting good number of sales all these days.
Due to the WFH, I am spending a lot of time in my native place,Kolkata. Wanted a no frills vehicle here for the commutes and roaming around on weekends. Was in a similar petrol vs electric dilemma, but finally got an electric scooter. It's been a month since I bought the Hero Atria. Costed me around 70k. So far so good.
Points which made my decision sway towards the electric:
1. No cop hassles and i wanted something off the shelf. I just walked in the showroom and rode out with a new scooter in 20 minutes.
2. Liked the styling
3. Wanted something different(i already own a suzuki access in Hyderabad). Its not a head turner but i do get curious onlookers and some questions from random strangers.
4. Rising petrol price. Practically i travel free now, as i plug in the scooter at a common plug point in our parking space.It's a 32AH,51V battery,so nobody bothers.
The battery can be carried and charged too,which i do sometimes.
Some pics
I can't help but chuckle a bit at this whole thread, no offense meant. You need a scooter you're not going to drive more than 6-7 km at a time, once every few days, to buy groceries. And you're shortlisting and test driving what seems like tens of scooters, making lists of features, deciding on the basis of whether you need to get off the scooter to fill up or how convenient the service centre location is. It's marvelously diligent and dogged, but don't you think also a little overkill? With how little you drive, you're gonna fuel up once in a couple of weeks or thereabouts, so what does it matter where the fuel cap is? And you're not gonna need to get it serviced all that much either. You could literally buy any scooter from OLX and it would do what you want it do. But I admire your pertinacity in finding the ideal scooter.
As for suggestions, just get any electric scooter. Neither do you need to fill up, nor service it. It's a battery with a motor and a couple of wheels on a frame. If there's no underseat storage, wear a backpack. The scooter will feel cool to ride, and you'll be able to tell yourself that you're doing your bit for the environment. Most cities in our country have hazardous air, and doing this one little thing can encourage others and maybe slowly turn the tide.
Originally Posted by karanddd
(Post 5183034)
I can't help but chuckle a bit at this whole thread, no offense meant... |
It's the thrill of the hunt! You wouldn't understand:mad: if you are so pragmatic. The rest of us following this thread are also enjoying the hunt vicariously.
Originally Posted by mvadg
(Post 5183129)
It's the thrill of the hunt!...thread are also enjoying the hunt vicariously. |
And when the money is hard earned, the fuel is painfully paid upon, the seek for value is primary & the needs are above all, the hunting begins, just like humans over 70000 years ago hunting a beast for food without the use of tools or weapons. It's not the instant purchase that endeavors the satisfaction but the constant pursuit of the material.
Originally Posted by karanddd
(Post 5183034)
You need a scooter you're not going to drive more than 6-7 km at a time, once every few days, to buy groceries. And you're shortlisting and test driving what seems like tens of scooters |
Yes, agree. My requirement is like that, but that doesn't limit my choice and buy any scooter from the market. I always prefer buying the latest products, whether it is a car or a scooter or any other machines/gadgets. If you ask me, I even don't need a 125 cc scooter instead can do a 110cc, but have been driven 110cc vehicles so far, why couldn't try for a 125cc scooter.
As for suggestions, just get any electric scooter. Neither do you need to fill up, nor service it. It's a battery with a motor and a couple of wheels on a frame. If there's no underseat storage, wear a backpack.
|
No dear, I dont like carrying vegetables, fish,meat etc on a backpack.
The electric scooters available in my area are those with 250W motor capacity, which I don't prefer though it may fulfill my requirements. Further, I understood most of the electric scooters (excluding Ather, iQube, Chetak etc.) available in the market are Chinese parts assembled in India. So, I decided to go in for Petrol scooter on this occasion and may be I will consider an electric scooter after a year or so when more Indian made electric scooters are available in the market.[/quote]
(Post 5183220)
The electric scooters available in my area are those with 250W motor capacity, which I don't prefer though it may fulfill my requirements. Further, I understood most of the electric scooters (excluding Ather, iQube, Chetak etc.) available in the market are Chinese parts assembled in India. |
Not to confuse you since you seem to have made up your mind, you can take a look at the options from Hero electric. The HX series ones are higher rated motors and the optima(550W) and photon(1200W) scooters may fit your requirements. They are made and assembled in india too with no Chinese parts, which Hero specifically brags about in their website(faq section). Hero electric showrooms are generally present even in very remote places.
Prices after subsidy are 75k for the optima and 90k for the Photon.
Coincidentally I have a picture of both from their showroom:)
Originally Posted by saion666
(Post 5183404)
Not to confuse you since you seem to have made up your mind, you can take a look at the options from Hero electric. The HX series ones are higher rated motors and the optima(550W) and photon(1200W) scooters may fit your requirements. |
Thanks. Yes, I have already seen these vehicles and liked the Optima HX. But the showroom which was a sub-dealer and they don't have any service facility. Even this showroom was about 20 kms away from my home and the main dealer showroom and service centre was some 40 kms away.
These local guys told me that only I need to drop the scooter at their place and someone from their end will take the scooter to the main dealer and get it serviced.
This is not workable because after dropping the scooter at the sub-dealer, how long I have to wait to get back the scooter after service. Probably I will get the scooter back only in the evening. So, If I have to come back to home and then go back to the dealer in the evening, I have to engage an auto rickshaw which will be much expensive than the service cost.
So, dropped these scooters from my list.
Now it's time to go for a new scooter as driving the car for short distances is not working and also finding very difficult to get a parking space in the town limit.
Called the TVS guys and enquired about my booking which was done on 21/10/21. They advise that there has been a big demand for this model, however, they are ready to allot me a vehicle now. Asked for a fresh quotation which they sent over to my WhatsApp number.
The prices have now increased to Rs.88, 740 ex showroom price for the Disc version (previously it was Rs.87, 490) i.e. an increase of Rs.1250/- on ex showroom price :sadface
I argued with them that I have booked the scooter 3 months back and they are the one delayed hence they should maintain the old rate. But they claim that it is the manufacturer who increased the price and not the dealer and to safeguard their interest, in the bottom of their Invoice it is clearly written as ''Above prices are subject to alteration without notice and the price ruling at the time of delivery will be applied''.
However, I managed to reduce the extra amount added to the Road Tax figure and some discount, on Insurance - a saving of Rs.794.
(It seems Kerala MVD increased the Road Tax rate from 8% to 10% for two wheelers with an ex showroom value under Rs.1 lakh, so unable to get any further reduction from the dealer).
In addition, they have quoted Rs.3600 for accessories (Steel Guard, ladies footrest and seat cover). I have told them that I will finalise the accessories just before delivery and not willing to pay now (I want to see the quality of these items before they install it).
Planning to visit them tomorrow and make the payment, if they are ready to deliver the scooter in next two days time.
Update
Deal finalised and paid the full money on 2nd Feb, 2022 for the Jupiter 125 Disc version (Blue color).
They promised Seat cover and foot mat as free accessories. I will have to pay for the steel guard, which they quoted Rs.2300/-
Not sure when I can get the delivery as still not allotted a number from the RTO (reason for the delay is a shortage of staff at RTO due to COVID). Once the number is allotted then will take another 3 or 4 days to get the HSRP number plate.
In any case I am not expecting the delivery of the new scooter before the middle of next week. :unhappy
(In my opinion, the previous arrangement was more convenient i.e. upon paying the Road Tax, RTO's issue a TP on the same date and we can drive the vehicle with that TP number. Now, with the new law, even after paying the full amount the scooter is lying in the showroom. Also there are chances to get some minor damages or scratches on the scooter and if that is the case who to be blamed?)
(Post 5250460)
Update
Deal finalised and paid the full money on 2nd Feb, 2022 for the Jupiter 125 Disc version (Blue color).
They promised Seat cover and foot mat as free accessories. I will have to pay for the steel guard, which they quoted Rs.2300/-
Not sure when I can get the delivery as still not allotted a number from the RTO (reason for the delay is a shortage of staff at RTO due to COVID). Once the number is allotted then will take another 3 or 4 days to get the HSRP number plate.
In any case I am not expecting the delivery of the new scooter not before the middle of next week.:unhappy
(In my opinion, the previous arrangement was more convenient i.e. upon paying the Road Tax, RTO's issue a TP on the same date and we can drive the vehicle with that TP number. Now, with the new law, even after paying the full amount the scooter is lying in the showroom. Also there are chances to get some minor damages or scratches on the scooter and if that is the case who to be blamed?) |
Congratulations on the Jupiter ! And it is a wise decision to stick to the ICE vehicle as EC scooters are still in nascent state. My suggestion is not to install steel guard, it causes lots of rattle and vibrations. Get the scooter home and ask showroom guys to take it to the RTO office whenever possible, do not keep it in the showroom as anyone can use it for a joyride, heck I've seen people's cars which are ready to be delivered, given for test rides for prospective buyers. You can use the scooter around your locality, not an issue. Do share some pics :)
Originally Posted by Akshay6988
(Post 5250477)
Congratulations on the Jupiter ! And it is a wise decision to stick to the ICE vehicle as EC scooters are still in nascent state. My suggestion is not to install steel guard, it causes lots of rattle and vibrations. Get the scooter home and ask showroom guys to take it to the RTO office whenever possible, do not keep it in the showroom as anyone can use it for a joyride, heck I've seen people's cars which are ready to be delivered, given for test rides for prospective buyers. |
I just spoke to the dealer guy (the senior man is well known to me) who advising that the scooter is kept in the Godown and not in the showroom hence no chance to use this one for test drives by his sales team.
Steel Guard - In my opinion steel guard prevent body side scratches when the scooters are parked in a tight space (many people just tight park their scooters without any discipline or not taking care of other scooters already parked in that area).
My previous scooter, TVS Wego, which was with me for almost 6 years and done 40000km but there was no issues like rattling noise of the steel guard fitted in that vehicle.
I too am looking for an urgent purchase of a scooter for house use by wife. It will only be driven approx 50-100 km per month. I really don't know any of the current options and only know that some of the good electric options like Ola, Aether, etc cost way more than ICE options. Are there any cheaper electric options? And what are currently good ICE options?
A petrol scooter will be more suitable seeing your needs.I would strongly recommend the Honda:)