Old 5th June 2022, 08:12   #16

re: BMW G 310 RR launched in India, priced from Rs 2.85 lakh - Rs 2.99 lakh

Personal opinion:BMW should've took the RR310 from day 1 itself. They should've given the G310R to TVS. I feel if the G310R was with TVS, then buyers who would want to upgrade from smaller Apache's will find it like family due to the naked design. RR310 is TVS's first faired motorcycle, and given that TVS never made a faired bike, I feel this is why people found it hard to plonk in 3lacs for the RR310.

On a side note, I'm curious as to what instrument cluster this bike will use. Vertical LCD from old RR310 or regular LCD from G310R/GS? I don't think it will use a TFT, as I believe the TFT on the RR310 is TVS exclusive.
saikishor is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 5th June 2022, 09:31   #17

Originally Posted by drt_rdr View Post
I didn't know this. I was under the impression the bikes were almost completely made in India by TVS and its suppliers, except maybe things like the electronic components. Could you point out which parts are shared with the bigger BMWs?
The mirrors and turn signals are same as every other BMW motorcycle, and that's why they cost a ton. Plus the tail lamp section is a direct lift from the F900 R.

Originally Posted by drt_rdr View Post
Could you say what exactly you mean by this? I haven't had a close look at the BMW bikes. And, again, I was under the impression TVS didn't cut corners on the RR310, atleast the 2021 model.
TVS has allotted 'super premium' status to showrooms that retail in RR310, it's an investment of 7 Lakh. The one near me didn't even allow me to sit on the display bike at first, forget a test ride.
As to the quality the rider seat is firm, the pilion seat is only for a cowl, I didn't like the paint job, the matte finish was rough and of course the mirrors and turn signals are TVS. But beyond the quality wise nit-picking, RR310 definitely gives the BMW a run for it's money in every other department, if one wants a sport tourer.

So as for the G310 RR, it might just be the smoking gun BMW needs to prove the 310 platform, albeit just a livery.

Last edited by Blackwing : 5th June 2022 at 09:45.
Blackwing is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th June 2022, 15:15   #18

Originally Posted by Blackwing View Post
The mirrors and turn signals are same as every other BMW motorcycle, and that's why they cost a ton. Plus the tail lamp section is a direct lift from the F900 R.
That's rather insignificant though. My mind was racing thinking something along the lines of the handlebars, levers, braking, suspension components etc being shared with the bigger BMWs.

I see the BS6 LED indicators resemble the ones on F900R and the S1000R. Though I can't tell if they're the same units. And the tail lamp only appears to bear a passing resemblance to the F900R as far as I can tell from pictures. Honestly, it doesn't make sense to me that BMW would import only these insignificant parts which have no practical consequence to fit on their bikes assembled in Hosur. I'm guessing these are just designed to look similar.

As to the quality the rider seat is firm, the pilion seat is only for a cowl, I didn't like the paint job, the matte finish was rough and of course the mirrors and turn signals are TVS.
This seems subjective though and just not being able to get along with the design intent of the TVS as opposed to being a sign of lower quality. I mean, you could also nitpick similarly about the BMWs i.e. suspension is too soft, some of the paint jobs look like they belong on a HeroMotocorp bike etc.

That said, I have to mostly agree with your original post. The BMW bikes definitely appear to be made with practicality and everyday usability in mind, and the skin-deep quality atleast appears better than its rivals from KTM, Bajaj, Jawa\Yezdi, RE, Honda.

Originally Posted by Sudarshan42 View Post
2022 RR310... hated the creaking plastic fairing. Looked like it wouldn't last the distance

Some comparisons between the G310R and the RR310 also cite the fairing creakiness and vibrations as the main negatives of the RR compared to the G
I personally haven't checked for this. So, I can't relate to the complaints. Let's see if this fairing creakiness is going to show up in the BMW RR too. That should sort out the question of whether the creakiness is a plastics quality related issue on the TVS or intentional design for some practical purpose.

I don't think I've come across reports of broken\cracked plastics on the bike just from riding it normally. So, I don't know if it's fair to say this is a materials quality related issue.
drt_rdr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th June 2022, 20:57   #19

Someone has already put BMW badges and changed some stickers on a TVS RR 310 4 years ago to make it look like a BMW RR series bike.

BMW G 310 RR launched in India, priced from Rs 2.85 lakh - Rs 2.99 lakh-tvsapacherr310customisedtolooklikebmws1000rr3.jpg
(Image belongs to respective owners)

If, BMW do a lazy badge change and charge a noticeable premium for it, then how hard is it to swap some badges and stickers??
Ptr11s is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th June 2022, 21:30   #20

Originally Posted by Ptr11s View Post
Someone has already put BMW badges and changed some stickers on a TVS RR 310 4 years ago to make it look like a BMW RR series bike.

Attachment 2316662
(Image belongs to respective owners)

If, BMW do a lazy badge change and charge a noticeable premium for it, then how hard is it to swap some badges and stickers??
The only remaining difference will be the engine casings. I think once that's changed, it's a nice disguise. Either ways, the RR310 is the VFM product right now, compared to its rivals. A great city bike, a good tourer, and it has already proved its mettle on the race track. As the G310R, it will be a niche product. Fancy Badges and big-bike look-alike styling.

As far as I hope BMW will go, I think they'll change the front fascia, which will likely resemble the elder S siblings.
Old 5th June 2022, 21:50   #21

In the end, it'll all come down to the price difference between the BMW and its TVS sibling. Going by the prices of the 300cc lineup that BMW currently has, the G 310R and G 310GS are priced at 2.65L and 3.05L (Ex Showroom Bangalore). The RR 310 is at 2.65L (Ex Showroom Bangalore). If the new BMW commands lets say a 20 - 30k increase with revised styling and well maybe some new BMW specific features, then it probably would be worth the premium. However my concern is that this bike is going to bring in a much higher maintenance cost than the RR310 even though the mechanicals are going to be mostly the same.
Old 6th June 2022, 12:46   #22

The rr310 is a beautifully put together bike with top notch panel quality and finishing. One has to compare a bajaj Or Hero flagship (say dominar/xpulse) part to part, to realise how way ahead TVS is in its switchgear, panel gap tolerance and finish quality. There are portions of the motorcycle where even my GS310 appeared poorer in finish to an RR310!
A lot of that perception comes from the covered engine area of a faired bike lending to greater visual area for painted lustre impact. The only thing jaded about an RR310 now is the colour schemes. It would be therefore good to see how dramatic a bmw palette would look, attracting enough numbers of the public prioritising show over go!
AnAntinspired is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th June 2022, 20:04   #23

Doesn't make sense! If BMW only wants to milk its customers in the name of BMW tag with extra fairing, this would be north of 4.7+ lakh on the road, and this would be pretty much DOA.

BMW should stick to selling the G 310 GS, it at least marches forward with decent sales numbers, owing to the big daddy GS's design lineage.

What BMW could have done is tried to have developed a parallel twin with good mid range and top-end and that perhaps could have given them some brownie points to diversify their portfolio with different offerings. As someone said, if you want a cheap BMW head to TVS, if you want an expensive TVS head to BMW.

The RR310 is a good machine, yet still it doesn't cash it for TVS, primarily because of its poor reception, even poorer resale value. Having a BMW badge will only make something bad even worse.

And I am definitely not liking the rear disc. Way out of proportion for my liking, and for what it calls for. There may be function, but definitely not at an awful form.

This I feel would be proper DOA.

VJ
Old 8th June 2022, 11:23   #24

Here’s a sneak peek at BMW’s version of the TVS Apache RR 310.

BMW G 310 RR launched in India, priced from Rs 2.85 lakh - Rs 2.99 lakh-fb_img_1654667524621.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 8th June 2022 at 11:24.
Venkatesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 16:03   #25

Aftermarket Sticker Shops would be happy, give a package offer to turn your TVS into BMW at only 3100 rupees!!

Alloys are also the same!
AtheK is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 16:26   #26

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
Aftermarket Sticker Shops would be happy, give a package offer to turn your TVS into BMW at only 3100 rupees!!
https://www.crdecalsdesigns.com/prod...decals-rr-kit/

We already have that!

Last edited by tchsvy : 8th June 2022 at 16:29.
tchsvy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 17:23   #27

So, it looks like they're doing something to differentiate it from the TVS. It's not a 100% copy paste job so far.

Brake rotors and calipers look like they're from the G310R. Exhaust heat shield looks slightly different from TVS.
Old 9th June 2022, 14:52   #28

BMW Motorrad India has released another teaser of the new G 310 RR.

Name:  436877310g310rrteaser_560x420.jpg
Views: 770
Size:  21.9 KB

Name:  SmartSelect_20220609145433_Facebook.gif
Views: 897
Size:  3.05 MB

Last edited by Venkatesh : 9th June 2022 at 14:57.
Venkatesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 20:04   #29

BMW G 310 RR headlight unit revealed in new teaser.

BMW G 310 RR launched in India, priced from Rs 2.85 lakh - Rs 2.99 lakh-fb_img_1654785119648.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 9th June 2022 at 20:06.
Venkatesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th June 2022, 08:39   #30

BMW G 310 RR is here, could be offered in two paint schemes: one draped in the BMW Motorsport tricolour and Triple Black paint scheme.

BMW G 310 RR launched in India, priced from Rs 2.85 lakh - Rs 2.99 lakh-fb_img_1654830526358.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 10th June 2022 at 08:55.