Old 17th February 2023, 11:06   #1

Bajaj Pulsar 220F to be relaunched in India

According to a media report, Bajaj Auto has restarted the production of the Pulsar 220F and plans to relaunch it in the Indian market soon.

Bajaj Pulsar 220F to be relaunched in India-20230216051753_pulsar_220f_2.jpg

The Pulsar 220F was discontinued last year, following the launch of the next-gen Pulsar range: N250 and F250. There was decent demand for the bike at the time and therefore Bajaj chose to gradually phase out the model.

The 220F will be powered by the same 220cc BS6-compliant engine as before. It develops 20.6 BHP @ 8,500 rpm and 18.5 Nm @ 7,000 rpm. While no major changes are expected to be made to the bike, Bajaj will need to add OBD2 for onboard diagnostics.

Rumours also suggest that the relaunched Pulsar 220F could be priced at around Rs 1.35 lakh (ex-showroom).

Source: Autocar India

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 17th February 2023 at 11:08.
TusharK is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 17th February 2023, 14:59   #2

Re: Bajaj Pulsar 220F to be relaunched in India

Return of the legend, although may be a regressive move by Bajaj, but kudos to them, to listening to customers. This bike sold well prior to being discontinued, and will have a decent demand once it gets relaunched.

Despite it's shortcomings, it's part of the original Pulsar family and the OG "fastest Indian". The torquey engine is so tractable which makes it a breeze to ride.

I just wish they launch it with some improvements, quoting my previous post from this thread:

Originally Posted by LordSharan View Post
Since I own one, it's very close to my heart and I want to share my two bits here. Linking two of my posts-

1. A quick comparison with my brother's D400 (My Bajaj Dominar 400 ABS - Completed 1200 km)

2. A wishlist of upgrades that I want to see on P220 (1 crore Bajaj Pulsars sold!)

The bike is still rocking, and the sales numbers reflect that. I would like to reiterate the wishlist that I have:

1. LED Headlamps
2. Revised styling-tweaks to update it, and not a comprehensive redesign
3. Improvements on console - better display
4. Tweak in power figure
5. Better brakes, especially rear and ABS
6. Better color schemes. (red would look wonderful)

Although I do not plan to replace/upgrade my P220 in near future, I'd be awaiting the update launch, and eager to see what Bajaj has to offer us. More often than not, Bajaj product launches are very close to what customers want (exceptions here and there). Waiting to be surprised.

P.S. I own one since past 8 years and have no plans to sell it, come what may.
LordSharan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th February 2023, 15:50   #3
KPR

This is why I just love the way Bajaj does 2 wheeler business in India. I drove one of my friend's 220 in 2007. 16 years of very impactful remembrance I've on this bike.
KPR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th February 2023, 16:59   #4

I hope they launch it with dual channel ABS and a more refined FI engine. Pricing will be the key
sagarpadaki is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th February 2023, 15:05   #5

Hero, Can we bring Karizma R back please ?
mayank0782 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th February 2023, 03:18   #6

Originally Posted by mayank0782 View Post
Hero, Can we bring Karizma R back please ?
Oh man ! I would buy it in a heartbeat if they were to launch it again.

I wanted to finish up my schooling and get in college so I could just get Karisma R or Pulsar 220F.

My dad didn’t agree with me tho

I think most boys once dreamed of getting CBZ (OG) , Karizma R and pulsar 220 at one point.
BleueNinja is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th February 2023, 08:31   #7

NS200 which has more modern engine with more power and torque comes with ex showroom price of 1.27L
For new pulsar 220F to have any chance, it should definately come below this.

Last edited by grshnehete : 20th February 2023 at 08:32. Reason: Spell check
Old 20th February 2023, 10:54   #8

2023 Bajaj Pulsar 220F priced at Rs 1.40 lakh; bookings open

Bajaj Auto has started accepting bookings for the 2023 Pulsar 220F, as it gears up to re-launch the popular bike in the Indian market. It will be priced at Rs 1,39,686 (ex-showroom).

Bajaj Pulsar 220F to be relaunched in India-bajajpulsar220leftsideview3.jpg

The Pulsar 220F will retain its semi-faired look with little to no modifications. It features a projector headlamp, a semi-digital instrument console, a split seat, alloy wheels and an upswept exhaust.

The 220F will be powered by the same 220cc BS6-compliant engine as before. It develops 20.6 BHP @ 8,500 rpm and 18.5 Nm @ 7,000 rpm. While no major changes are expected to be made to the bike, Bajaj will need to add OBD2 for onboard diagnostics.

The Pulsar 220F was discontinued last year, following the launch of the next-gen Pulsar range: N250 and F250.

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th February 2023, 13:29   #9

I wouldn't be surprised if the news of Bajaj pulling the plug on F250 follows sooner than later. If not, the confusing product lineup would look more so now.

Last edited by organicsuj : 20th February 2023 at 13:32.
organicsuj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2023, 17:28   #10

Poor marketing strategy or poor product planning? I don't know. But, knee-jerk pulling the plug out from an old product and an equally knee-jerk relaunch.

Why did Bajaj launch the 250's if they couldn't convince the audience that it was significantly better than the old 220? This way there is list of pulsar's that should be scrapped P150,N160,NS200 etc.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th February 2023, 23:09   #11

For me, this is Bajaj accepting the fact that their new line-up is no match to their older products and they are simply not able to sway their customers' preference to the newer bikes, even though they are a much better package overall.

Having said that, there is something charming about the P220F that the new models lack. The P250 should have retained the bulbous visor of the P220F instead of those sharp creases and kept some design cues like the vertically stacked headlights or the twin shock absorbers at the rear.
Old 22nd February 2023, 12:13   #12

It seems like Bajaj is not getting the expected sales numbers from the new 250. I have spotted quite a few of them already in my town, and they do look good.
I doubt this 220F will comply with BS6.2, maybe they will sell it till April.

My personal opinion is that Bajaj has diluted the Pulsar brand by having so many Pulsars, even the 125cc bikes have the Pulsar branding. And people didn't like the new 250s as much as the 220.

Originally Posted by grshnehete View Post
NS200 which has more modern engine with more power and torque comes with ex showroom price of 1.27L
For new pulsar 220F to have any chance, it should definately come below this.
You are right, they should Price it less than the NS200, but a slight correction, the ex showroom price of NS200 is almost 1.38L (Mumbai).
But since this will most likely be a limited time offering, people will buy it anyway.
ProLearner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2023, 14:47   #13
KPR

Now is the time for round light retro looks. Come on bajaj bring that 250cc in Boxer/CT setup with all accessories, raised front fender sold like Boxer 150 in Africa. It will sell well than N/F250.

Last edited by KPR : 26th February 2023 at 14:48.
KPR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2023, 18:03   #14

Pulsar 220 is Back !!!

As per various News sources, the Pulsar 220 is back.

P 220 Is Back!.

For me, its a nostalgic moment. I had some great rides on this beast. Its reliability and its sheer performance is something, which no other product could
match, even after a decade of its launch.

I don't think i can describe this product on my own, hence borrowing some from Clarkson's style:
The power is so raw, it will scare you while riding hard, Its crude, but its fun.

The price point at which its launched is 139000. Which makes it much sweeter !
Old 20th April 2023, 01:39   #15

Guess Bajaj is following Mahindra and trying to make P220 like the Scorpio Classic ,can’t argue because both these vehicles do have a huge fan base even today ,sadly the competition to the P220 which was the Karizma is no more (rumour is may come back though)and the Safari reduced to just a name that according to Tata motors can be given to a 7-seater Harrier.