Old 24th February 2023, 16:08   #31

Re: River Indie electric scooter launched at Rs 1.25 lakh

Battery and it's placement is not shown anywhere. Is it detachable, which is the norm now, so that it can be charged overnight.

Range looks very low. Have to see, whether it can be improved or is any there any high density battery to cater to long distance travelers. Fast charging is mentioned but no other details.
Old 24th February 2023, 17:38   #32

Finally booked a pre-order. The website keeps crashing.

Regarding the range is low comment, I do not think so. Seems more practical or realistic. Even Ather is giving the same range. For a 2.5 KWhr, people are getting 70 KMs realistically. My neighbor says, around 2 units of electricity and 60 KMs.

My understanding is, 25Kms per KWhr is the practical range. Drive slowly, you will get 30. Very light driving maybe 35, but in Bangalore, 30 seems to be a realistic number.

Battery details are not known. I hope they are Lithium Iron, Not sure! Also, this company should show a naked scooter, so that we can understand if there is really good amount of metal bones to withstand rough use in Bangalore. One thing for me before buying this scooter would be, will a 25-liter water sit on the floorboard? Also, if the switches are ultra poor like Bounce or the Chinese toys my son plays with, I might just forget looking at electric scooters for the next couple of years.

This is a company from Bangalore, I would like to support and I really hope they take comments from people in team bhp members seriously. Just think about it - Where can you get serious feedback on products, sometimes expert feedback on products for FREE! Yet the attitude of product companies is like, "WE KNOW EVERYTHING. WE DONOT NEED YOUR FEEDBACK."
Old 24th February 2023, 17:48   #33

I was considering Aerox for many months now and could not make up my mind between ICE and EV.
Also not so decisive on EVs too. Somehow I miss oomph on all current EVs.

I would opt this just for the wheel size alone. Safer. Not many options for this size in scooter segment.
Look-wise, Aerox is better but this is not bad either.
iamswift is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th February 2023, 19:23   #34

Originally Posted by pogo0120 View Post
Tried to pre order. Website not working.
Anyone having issues?
Originally Posted by Vinod_nair View Post
Same here, tried to pre-order, it says card not supported? What does this mean, any idea?
Edit: the site is opening via post #12
I'm in touch with them on WhatsApp, regarding debit cards not accepting, they said only Visa and MasterCard accepted, which I don't have, and they messaged me as under:

"Sir, we will start google pay and other payments by next week.. i will keep you posted"
Old 24th February 2023, 19:48   #35

Originally Posted by abtyagi View Post
So far every single electric scooter launched/soft-launched, felt like jugaad of some degree (except Ather) and looked the same more or less.
I think you are missing out on quite a few good electric scooters that are already there in the market. I am owning a TVS iQube for more than 6 months and it's better than Ather in terms of seating comfort, silent motor, no idle battery drain, no frequent tire pressure loss, lower maintenance costs, and spare parts costs. It's also much cheaper than Ather with almost a similar range. In fact, it's cheaper than Ather 450 plus variant and has a better range as well. While Ather and Ola get all the limelight due to their huge marketing campaigns and different offers and discounts, TVS is outselling Ather for the last few months without any marketing or offers. Also, Chetak is another good option who want a very robustly built scooter with a full metal body. It is also selling in decent numbers despite being overpriced.

Originally Posted by jaaz View Post
Battery and it's placement is not shown anywhere. Is it detachable, which is the norm now, so that it can be charged overnight.

Range looks very low. Have to see, whether it can be improved or is any there any high density battery to cater to long distance travelers. Fast charging is mentioned but no other details.
How is a detachable battery the norm when all the best-selling electric scooters (Ola, Ather, iQube, Chetak, etc...) have fixed batteries? Only scooters with detachable batteries are cheap Chinese imported scooters sold by the likes of Okinawa, Ampere, etc...

Also, I don't think the 120km range is low. They are just being honest about the practical range for the battery capacity. You can exceed that range if you ride conservatively. TVS also claims a 100 km range for iQube which has a 3.4 kWh battery. I can easily get a 120 km range whenever I ride sedately using regen whenever possible. If I ride aggressively, I will get around the 85 to 90 km range. Also, I never ride in ECO mode. All these range numbers are purely in power mode. Range depends more on the acceleration, and regen usage rather than riding modes. Similarly, you can get a higher range on this scooter if you ride conservatively. This applies to all electric scooters.
sri_tesla is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 24th February 2023, 20:08   #36

In rural areas, sometimes, you need to travel 50-100 kms one way. The range may be good only in Cities, because, you get tired riding 40-50 kms in a day. Doesn't apply to villages.

Ultimately, all 2 wheelers will be EV post April 2025, so they should come up with at least 250 kms to cater to the Rural areas.
Old 25th February 2023, 00:30   #37

I like the foldable front footrests. Is that a first on a scooter? Very thoughtful. I can now carry all the "bhaaji" without having to think where to put my feet.
amol4184 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th February 2023, 10:55   #38

Looks nice, but too boxy for my tastes. Wife likes it though.

Last edited by Axe77 : 25th February 2023 at 13:39. Reason: Please use upper case where required.
Old 27th February 2023, 14:14   #39

Am I the only one who thinks this is a lit scooter but mad upset about the fact that these are the only three colors? What about some of us who like the look and specs but want a more subtle or safe color? Black, white? Non?!
Takumi Fujiwara is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th March 2023, 19:34   #40

Good interview on the following link. CEO says planning to raise 50 million US dollars. May be, they will succeed. Lithium battery prices are coming down.

https://twitter.com/i/status/1628394980787236865
Old 3rd May 2023, 10:22   #41

Saw the river ev guys shooting with the scooter near Kanteerava stadium on Sunday Morning, the photographer said they were creating content for their social media page. The vehicle looks really good in the flesh, the guy said deliveries are supposed to begin by August
River Indie electric scooter launched at Rs 1.25 lakh-image_67203073.jpg  

River Indie electric scooter launched at Rs 1.25 lakh-image_67231233.jpg  

River Indie electric scooter launched at Rs 1.25 lakh-image_67171585.jpg  

Lambro is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2023, 10:36   #42

I saw these guys near Church Street Social with the red scooter. I really feel that pictures don't do justice to this bike. I'm seriously contemplating to book one for myself.
Old 17th May 2023, 18:34   #43

Any updates from this company? I am not seeing any emails or whatsup updates? Company alive or is this another Oben Rorr?

Other than booking email, I have not received any product updates.
Old 29th May 2023, 09:03   #44

Sent an email to this company asking if the price for pre-booked customers is going to be 1.25 lakhs. i.e, will the company honor 1.25 lakhs as the delivery price for pre-booked customers?

I have asked them to cancel the booking if the final price is going to be higher than 1.25 lakhs.

Looks like Fame 2 subsidy change is going to spell a death blow to new start-ups. I really liked this scooter. It had all things I wanted and did not have things I hated. Unfortunately, the product is not available for sale before FAME 2 subsidy drop.
pogo0120 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2023, 13:13   #45

Got an email from the River team, seems like the deliveries will begin in August, price might go up from 1.25 they promised because of the fame sub rule
River Indie electric scooter launched at Rs 1.25 lakh-river.png  

Lambro is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com