Old 19th July 2023, 14:36   #16

Re: Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life

Originally Posted by Vaastav View Post
Thanks for the praise. Your Bullet is an impressive specimen too, and I did read your thread with all the details of how you came by it, the various problems it threw up etc with great interest.
As for the MT manual, I would be happy to scan the section on the Bullet, but I'm not sure where to post it
You can send it to me personally via email or you could also upload the scanned pdf on this thread or any other RE thread since I believe it might be useful to other RE owners as well.
SgtGAWD is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2023, 23:48   #17

Thank you for the kind words. I wouldn't mind exchanging scanned user manuals. Where can I send you mine?
Thanks. Perhaps you could upload somewhere and send me a link or email it to me please? PM with details please.

This is the manual I have - will scan it in a day or two and share.
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-1690049686089.jpg  

theqca is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2023, 23:58   #18

One more item of work that I wanted to get done was bringing the bike back to its original looks.
To this end, I looked around for the old style levers, wiring harness, switches and ignition and brake light. After much hunting in Roorkee, Saharanpur and Khatauli, these parts were finally found in a small shop on Kanwali road in Dehradun
You've made the bike look older than it really is. But yes the bike does look great with these old style amal replica levers and rear lucas type replica tail-light.

The horn button you've selected tends to give trouble especially in the rains and it gets stuck. My horn suddenly went on and I had to pull out the wires from the horns to stop the noise - in case the button gives you trouble, get the old type yezdi horn button which is similar, looks old but works perfectly well.

Though I have an older bullet (1963) on which I put up a detailed post some time ago (do take a look when free), the one I've ridden the most is a 2001 model which is the only "new" bike I've purchased till date and I've made it look old just like you've done to your bike

Last edited by theqca : 23rd July 2023 at 00:00.
theqca is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2023, 11:51   #19

Originally Posted by theqca View Post
Thanks. Perhaps you could upload somewhere and send me a link or email it to me please? PM with details please.

This is the manual I have - will scan it in a day or two and share.
This seems to be the manual of the version that came immediately after my bike, with the indicators mounted directly on the casquette (the indicators of my bike were fitted after it was converted to a 12v system and are from an RX-100, as they look nicer than the rectangular ones. I am currently out of station for a bit, so it will take a bit of time for me to scan it. My father tells me he has a workshop manual also lying around somewhere, I will update if that is found.

You've made the bike look older than it really is. But yes the bike does look great with these old style amal replica levers and rear lucas type replica tail-light.

The horn button you've selected tends to give trouble especially in the rains and it gets stuck. My horn suddenly went on and I had to pull out the wires from the horns to stop the noise - in case the button gives you trouble, get the old type yezdi horn button which is similar, looks old but works perfectly well.

Though I have an older bullet (1963) on which I put up a detailed post some time ago (do take a look when free), the one I've ridden the most is a 2001 model which is the only "new" bike I've purchased till date and I've made it look old just like you've done to your bike
Thank you for the tip about the horn, so far I haven't experienced any difficulty, but lets see after the rainy season. I did go through your thread, and found it a pleasure to read, and may I say that it is an amazing job you have done with your bike.

The Driving and Maintenance Precis is attached here:
DnM_Precis_Bullet_compressed.pdf
Vaastav is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th July 2023, 22:39   #20

This seems to be the manual of the version that came immediately after my bike, with the indicators mounted directly on the casquette (the indicators of my bike were fitted after it was converted to a 12v system and are from an RX-100, as they look nicer than the rectangular ones. I am currently out of station for a bit, so it will take a bit of time for me to scan it. My father tells me he has a workshop manual also lying around somewhere, I will update if that is found.
Thanks. Sure a few days here and there won't really make a difference. I have managed to scan mine. I'll send you a googledrive link via PM.

Correction - unable to PM you. Please share some other way for me to send it across.

Last edited by theqca : 25th July 2023 at 22:43. Reason: edit
Old 1st August 2023, 09:17   #21

Thanks. Sure a few days here and there won't really make a difference. I have managed to scan mine. I'll send you a googledrive link via PM.

Correction - unable to PM you. Please share some other way for me to send it across.
Hi, sorry for the late reply, college has just started and I was rather busy for the past few days. I don't have the PM feature yet, as I am a new member, but you can email me the scan on burning2t6130@gmail.com.
Vaastav is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th September 2023, 15:18   #22

That sidebox looks so sweet and retro. Are these still available or does anyone still make similar ones?
Gordon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th September 2023, 16:06   #23

Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
That sidebox looks so sweet and retro. Are these still available or does anyone still make similar ones?
I don't know if the exact same type is still available, but for a good retro look you get steel side boxes in the market, either in black or in natural steel finish that go well with the bike
Old 19th September 2023, 22:24   #24

I don't know if the exact same type is still available, but for a good retro look you get steel side boxes in the market, either in black or in natural steel finish that go well with the bike
Would be great if you could throw some links or images here. I'm already contemplating on picking the GMA rails.

Also if you still have the rack and the box, would appreciate if you can post detailed pics of them. Thanks!

Last edited by Gordon : 19th September 2023 at 22:39.
Old 20th September 2023, 10:40   #25

Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Would be great if you could throw some links or images here. I'm already contemplating on picking the GMA rails.

Also if you still have the rack and the box, would appreciate if you can post detailed pics of them. Thanks!
The bike (and box) are currently not with me because I am at college in Pune while the Bullet is back in my village being used by my father. When I go there on holiday I will be sure to post photos.

As for the steel ones, I couldn't find any good photos online, but did find a couple of links:
https://m.indiamart.com/proddetail/m...294661612.html
https://www.amazon.in/Luggage-Cruise...field%3ABULLET

The IndiaMart link shows the box fitted to a Classic as well

I also managed to find a link for one that looks exactly like what I have, but it seems to be out of stock:
https://www.amazon.in/KASCN-PANNIER-.../dp/B0743M37CH
Vaastav is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 12:57   #26

In December my college's winter vacations started, and I was back home for a month. This of course meant that the Bullet would be getting some work done.
At the forefront on the list of things to be done was electroplating. The bike had caught rust on its silencer, bend pipe, handlebar etc as a result of having been standing for a long time, and thus these issues went unattended.
After some asking around, I was told that Meerut was the place to get this done. So I got on the bike and rode to Meerut one morning. Upon reaching there, I found a recommended mechanic who then pointed me towards a plating shop. Upon reaching there, I was told that the owner was out and I would have to wait for him to return. He turned up after about half an hour, and I told him the requirement. After some back and forth about the price, we agreed to 1200 for the following items:-
1. Silencer and bend pipe
2. Kick, neutral lever and gear lever
3. Handlebar, along with its clamps, nuts etc.
4. Fuel Cap (the original Enfield one)

The next order of business was to get all these parts opened up. There was a mechanic nearby who agreed to do it for 400, on the condition that he would wait for the work to be done and then fit the parts back on, since it was already 1230, and I had been given an estimated time of 1830-1900 for completion.
So, the parts were opened up
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-before_plating_1.jpg
Then they were all taken and dipped in acid. after which they were polished using wire brushes, a time consuming process that actually took up a large part of the time.
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-polishing_2.jpg
After this process was done, they were then plated, and then wiped down properly.
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-polishing_1.jpg
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-after_plating_1.jpg
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-after_plating_2.jpg
By this time, it was about 1845, and by the time they were all fitted and I had paid for it, it was close to 1930. Thankfully my father had arranged for a guestroom in Meerut Cantt, so I reached there, and after some lovely hot dinner, went to sleep. The next day I was immediately able to see the change in the look of the Bullet. When I reached home, various other people also commented on it, and my mechanic said "Ab lag rahi hai Royal"
To give some idea:
Before -
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-before_plating_2.jpg
After -
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-after_plating_3.jpg
A bonus of getting the silencer plated was that 30 years worth of carbon and soot had been cleaned out of the silencer, and the sound became a more Bullet like thump, and it didn't feel as choked at higher speeds.
I enjoyed riding it around on my holiday (despite the cold and the fog), and plan to get it repainted when I have summer holidays
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-fog.jpg
Somewhere between Deoband and Muzaffarnagar on the way to Delhi...
Vaastav is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 15:49   #27

1200 for that number of items is a great deal. Out here it costs 950 for plating the bend pipe alone (Classic 500). But credit where credit is due, the plater offered to buff the silencer, and the silencer guards as well.
Gordon is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th August 2024, 16:44   #28

Hi, it has been some time since the last update, since I only use the Bullet when I come home on vacation from college. I returned home for my summer vacations in May and so started the various things that go into owning an old Bullet such as this.
The first order of business was changing the seat, as the one on the bike was hard and not very comfortable. Managed to get a locally made one for 800, also got the bike serviced, since I planned to use it extensively, as I had got an internship in Delhi.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-night_photo.jpg
After the servicing and seat change.

While I was in Delhi, a long weekend came because of Eid and I decided to go to Dehradun, where I have family.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-india_gate.jpg
I left Delhi early on Saturday (5AM) so as to beat the heat and took this photo of India Gate on the way out.

The journey was smooth, with the bike going like well, a Bullet and I found myself on the Muzaffarnagar bypass in time for some breakfast.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-m_nagar_bypass.jpg
Outside the dhaba I stopped at.

Then I continued onwards, stopping at Mohand for a cold drink before the climb to Dehradun. While climbing up there was a traffic jam and I could see some smoke, so I thought it was a forest fire, but when I neared the source of the smoke, it turned out to be a Tempo Traveller that had caught fire. The driver had noticed smoke and pulled over to a side and the passengers had just got out when it started to burn. Luckily no one was injured, as it was a CNG Traveller.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-traveller_fire.jpg
The burning Traveller

After spending 2 days in Dehradun, I started back for Delhi, once again leaving early in the morning.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-mohand_route.jpg
Somewhere on the hill route between Dehradun and Mohand.

A few days after I returned, I noticed that one of the rear shock absorbers was leaking and decided to get the oil and the seals changed.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-shocker_1.jpg
The shocker stripped of the spring and covers.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-shocker_2.jpg
The spring and covers in question

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-shocker_3.jpg
Opening up the section in which the oil is.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-shocker_4.jpg
Completely opened up. The shocker chap said that it didn't look like the oil had ever been changed and I wouldn't be surprised if that was the case because of the very low running of the bike.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-shocker_5.jpg
There were some scratches on the pipe which were filed down.

After all this, new oil and seals were put and the shocker was reassembled, all for 300 rupees. The difference was felt immediately, since I guess I had become used to having no real suspension.
Old 5th September 2024, 11:47   #29

One thing that did bug me a bit about the bike was the lack of any form of storage. After considering various options, I decided to go for the frame and panniers used by army dispatch riders, since they look good (retro) and the panniers can be removed from the frame. I managed to source the frames and panniers from Mayapuri and then proceeded to have them modified to suit my needs.
On the army Bullets, the panniers are clamped to the bottom of the frame using bolts. I wanted them removable like suitcases and decided to get a latch made that would secure the boxes from on top and could be locked. I spoke to a welder in Dadri who agreed to do the job for Rs. 500.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-welding_2.jpg
Heating the steel patti with a gas torch before bending it.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-welding_3.jpg
Marking the location for the latch.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-welding_5_1.jpg
Cutting off the excess material.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-welding_6.jpg
The right side latch was done.
After this however, the power went, and despite waiting for 2 hours it didn't return. I had to go to Delhi early the next morning, so I convinced the welder to come at 6 AM the next day and finish the work, and paid him half the money for his work. Sure enough, he showed up the next day at 6 and got to work on the other side.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-welding_7.jpg
Welding the latch on the other side.

Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-welding_8.jpg
Left side done. I spray painted all of it black later.

This is how the bike looks with its panniers (photo taken before the latches were made)
Bringing a 1990 Royal Enfield Bullet 350 back to life-panniers_1.jpg

Last edited by Vaastav : 5th September 2024 at 11:49.
Vaastav is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th September 2024, 14:09   #30

S
The original brochure. I was interested to learn that there was even a version of the Bullet called the Super Deluxe, as I had never heard of it before. The Deluxe I knew of as a friend's father had one for some time
Yes. The Bullet 350 was available in Standard (Black), Deluxe (Red with Chrome Tank Panels and Mudguards) and Super Deluxe (Same as Deluxe but with the separate headlamp and twin pod instrument cluster.

The user manual
Attachment 2476589

An interesting document I have is the army's Driving and Maintenance course precis which has a section on MCEI (Motor Cycle Enfield India). This was given to me by my father, as he had done the course (and topped it). It has detailed information on how every aspect of the Bullet works as well as instructions for maintenance.
Attachment 2476588
Did you finally scan the manuals? Can I have scanned copies of the same?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com