Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th April 2024, 08:44   #1
BHPian

Track Day with my Yamaha R1 at Sydney Motorsports Park

Hi All, I attended my first track day at Sydney Motorsports Park in Sydney and I am very excited to share my experience. While I am eager to straight away start sharing my pictures, however I think I should write a little about myself and my riding history.

Please bear with me and I will try and make it concise. Even though I had been riding motorbikes since 2005 it was not until 2011-12 when I got my Duke 200 followed that by a R15 when I actually started focusing on technicalities of riding. Before that I had been riding Pulsars 150-220 and Karizma and it was just clutch, throttle, brake and gear and surprisingly I survived.

Anyways long story short, riding the Duke 200, R15, Ninja 300, Yamaha R3, 650 made me realize how much I wanted to enjoy riding fast but in a controlled environment. Thus began my interest in riding on the tracks. I have been following MotoGP and WorldSBK for more over a decade and always wanted to be able to ride like those riders.

As much as I wanted to go to the tracks in India, it was tough to find time to ride to South India. Hence I tried a couple of track days organised by Vortex racing in Kolhapur on my Yamaha R3. It is a small go karting track, but is good enough to get your techniques right. The sessions with Vortex racing turned out to be addictive and I wanted to do more of it. But life happened and I moved here, and ever since I had deep rooted desire to hit the track in Sydney.