Old 15th January 2009, 01:57   #31

Hey bikram there were some biks sold in UK and US market only that had the 5 speed. i was surprised to find this back in 2004 when i tried out a RD in northants.

but in india i have not come across a 5 speeder and i would think it may be cause i am no expert or nothing in RD's

Last edited by desideep : 15th January 2009 at 01:59.
Old 15th January 2009, 13:24   #32

RD's were first sold abroad in about 72', and we were getting those same bikes in 83, that means India is always at the bottom of the product line, why,look at the toyota qualis?
Old 15th January 2009, 13:34   #33

Thats not an "RD".

Thats a preRD - Yamaha R5 350 (guess what the 5 is for) in 71/72.

The actual RD came in 73. There were some country specific 5 speed RDs. I think in Europe not sure though.

Got the pic off the net, had it on my HDD. More should be available - google.
Checklist for buying a Yamaha RD350-r5350.jpg  

Old 15th January 2009, 14:33   #34

What spitfire has posted is absolutely true. Now the R5 was never released in India. Even if you found one, which is highly unlikely, it could be an import. The RD released in India is closer to the RD350B released in US from 73 - 75. The change was in port specs and no disc brake.
Old 16th February 2009, 01:25   #35

Its an R5.. and it carries a yellow number plate.. very unlikely that its an Indian reg. bike's pic.. but heard there were some RD400s & XSs in the Faridabad factory which came for feasibility tests and later sold to individuals by the factory..
Old 17th February 2009, 11:43   #36

Originally Posted by brutus View Post
Heres what i found out

Early 83 Rd's were 5 speed and not 6 speed.

pre-85 Rd's had a fatter tank, and had Rajdoot type hand grips, and Koito headlights, and drum(black) coils.
----------
The original Magnet alternater of the Rd produces 140watts of current, the optional unit that came in some police RD's in India had a 550watts alternater to support the sirens and cop lights.
This is abosolutely true

I have 85 Rajdoot 350. Bought new in March 1985 (Production must have been late 84 or so). The difference was only the block chips in the exhaust port and on the carburettor - the shallow bowl like area next to the fuel inlet was painted in red colour. This infact was to enable the mechanics in Escorts service station to identify the type as HT reduced to LT. My bike even has a "Made In Japan" Left Engine cover and original Kayaba front forks

Ride Safe!

Ram
Old 29th March 2009, 17:08   #37

Hi everyone.. can anybody tell me how to accurately spot a sleeved block from an unsleeved one?
Old 29th March 2009, 18:34   #38

Thats a very technical question. If its a sleeve fitted within a factory sleeve, then its easy to make out since when you would be looking from the bottom of the cylinder(the part of the sleeve protuding from it), you would be able to locate difference. the cylinder will look like there are 2 pipes, one fitted within the other.
If the sleeve is the other types, where they take out the factory sleeve and insert a desi made on in its place, then its pretty difficult to make out, which entirely depends of the efficency of skill of the work done and not to mention, your luck. Also, if its well made, with an appropriate metal, then theres nothing wrong with it.
Old 19th June 2012, 23:06   #39

RD 350 Buying advice

Ladies and Gentlemen,
I am absolutely smitten with the beauty and power of this awesome machine and now long to acquire one. I am however, nescient to the technical workings of my object of desire and need your help in narrowing down a good specimen. Baroda is a smaller city and there aren't many RD 350s around.

This is one of the RD's I saw today. 'Its an 84 HT unsleeved, in stock condition and I will take no less than 2lakhs' said the garage owner. But even a newbie like me can make out the non original tail light and signals.
Is there anything else one can deduce for this picture alone?

Chirayu
File Type: docx rd.docx (1.66 MB, 936 views)
Old 20th June 2012, 10:02   #40

Re: RD 350 Buying advice

you need to decide if you want the bike to impress people around you or impress yourself.

Assuming you are looking for nostalgia, blue smoke, and the sound of a two stroke twin on the pipe, with 'rajdoot' parts and all, the bike you have attached is not the one. Look for a better bike. like this, eg.

http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-...a/RD-350.html/

Ideally, look for a bike with papers uptodate, lesser hassles regularly riding it around.
If you want power, handling, performance, etc etc...buy a KTM 200 or anything upwards that suits your budget.
the_trooper is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2012, 10:17   #41

Originally Posted by vroomsome View Post
Ladies and Gentlemen,
I am absolutely smitten with the beauty and power of this awesome machine and now long to acquire one.
I know what you mean, I had the good fortune to be surrounded by RDs in college and regularly swapped bikes with my friends (I had a Shogun). There's nothing quite like a good RD, even today.

But. Please don't mix the memory of good bikes with what's likely to be lying around these days. I know that to an owner of a good RD, the machine is priceless, but as a buyer, ask yourself if it really makes sense to spend upwards of a lakh+ on a 20+ year old bike? (Unless you're going to sell it after it appreciates some more!)

And trust me, it'll be a looong search for a "good" RD (I've tried, and given up after hearing too many ridiculous quotes for machines that were nowhere near good condition.)

Originally Posted by the_trooper View Post
If you want power, handling, performance, etc etc...buy a KTM 200 or anything upwards that suits your budget.
Couldn't agree more. The market here is just opening up for performance bikes. Spend a bit more (or even less! Going by RD prices in Bangalore these days!) and get yourself a modern, reliable machine.

Last edited by am1m : 20th June 2012 at 10:22. Reason: Spello
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2012, 10:54   #42

Originally Posted by the_trooper View Post
you need to decide if you want the bike to impress people around you or impress yourself.

Assuming you are looking for nostalgia, blue smoke, and the sound of a two stroke twin on the pipe, with 'rajdoot' parts and all, the bike you have attached is not the one. Look for a better bike. like this, eg.

http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-...a/RD-350.html/

Ideally, look for a bike with papers uptodate, lesser hassles regularly riding it around.

Thanks Trooper for the advice. I am looking for sheer pleasure of the ride more than anything and am also a sucker for good looks. I am also looking for a daily ride rather than something that I would want to use fortnightly.

The KTM might be a good machine but the design does not appeal to me. maybe I lack the eye but today's bikes all look alike to me. The papers on this RD are in order but like you said its far from the original and besides I didn't get the vibe that the owner really cared for the bike.

The problem for me is all the seemingly good ones are located out of state
Old 20th June 2012, 10:58   #43

Originally Posted by am1m View Post
But. Please don't mix the memory of good bikes with what's likely to be lying around these days. I know that to an owner of a good RD, the machine is priceless, but as a buyer, ask yourself if it really makes sense to spend upwards of a lakh+ on a 20+ year old bike? (Unless you're going to sell it after it appreciates some more!)

The market here is just opening up for performance bikes. Spend a bit more (or even less! Going by RD prices in Bangalore these days!) and get yourself a modern, reliable machine.
Thank you. I understand it can be a daunting task, this quest. I don't see myself selling a good RD if I can ever lay my hands on one.

Again in my IMHO, today's bike designs are way too modern for my liking. Also they don't look like comfortable cruisers.
Old 20th June 2012, 11:12   #44

Look wise its not at all stock and 2L in city like Baroda is too much, if you are sure and seen the cylinders that they are unsleeved you can go with this bike, but make sure it should not be on last oversize and papers are in order.
Restoring RD is like buying 2 more RD's parts are damn costly if you believe in OE Japanese parts not Delhi Karol bagh items.
I would say if you were not into 2 strokes leave this headache, buy other performance bikes and be happy.
Bargain hard as many parts are not originals get down the prise t0 80-100K max.
Ajaybiz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2012, 11:53   #45

Thanks Ajay. I will pass on this one and continue searching for a better restored RD.