Old 18th September 2010, 16:05   #1

"Best job in India" campaign from Mahindra bikes

Check out the "best job in India" campaign from M&M>

Best job in India

The campaigners claim that they'll offer 20 bikers the chance to ride across India on the soon to be launched motorbikes from the co.

Mods, if this post belongs in another thread, pls do the needful.
Old 19th September 2010, 14:31   #2

Me thinks, pretty soon, every manufacturer is going to have their own version of The Great Driving Challenge. Ford has something similar running on the Figo too. Copycats .

Food for thought : Mitsubishi did a phenomenal job with marketing their event. Everyone had a blast, lots of back slapping, long drives, expensive hotel rooms and then...nothing! The driving challenge did absolutely NOTHING to the Cedia's sales. It was a dud, remains a dud. Sure, such an event is a brand building activity. But, at the end of the day, there should be some calculable benefit to the company, no? It's probably a good brand building exercise only for cars already selling well, wot?!
Old 19th September 2010, 15:15   #3

I beg to differ with you GTO. Mitsu did a great job with "The Great Driving Challenge" , but what did they do after that? No follow up campaigns, no promos, no nothing. And that is probably the reason why the first campaign was'nt as huge a success as was expected. On the other hand we also have a product (Cedia) by a company (HM) that has not really been received well by the common man. And that in all probabilities is not the cars fault as such but the company's! Im glad they've got the Lancer EVO to India finally.Not cos I was waiting to buy it but cos its going to do great things to the company's image.This is what they should have done a long time ago. Now I hope they bring out the new lancer while the buzz about the EVO still lingers..!

My point here being: brand building excercises does not necessarily have to be for cars already selling well. cheerio!
Old 19th September 2010, 16:23   #4

@prashant:

This has been discussed numerous times on the forum. Mitsu has great products. However, they tied up with the sleepiest heads in India Hindustan Motors who only know how to make cars during the India's Nehruvian Socialist days when you had to pick between the Premier Padmini and Ambassador. Once things changed, these boffins have no clue how to react. In the initial days when competition from imports were scarce they flogged the Mitsu brand image and did okay with the Lancer etc.. Now that there is some real competition, HM Management has been scratching their heads in with no clue how to react.

If you saw the latest Outlander/Pajero ads that came out a few months back about the time of the Fortuner launch, the only thing they had to say in the ad is that you could take over 1 lakhs depreciation on the pajero and outlander. How pathetic is that when you spend lakhs to take out color ads in he national newspapers about the benefit of depreciation when buying a pajero/outlander.

The cedia is a great car. However, it is in the hands of the wrong marketing team.
Old 20th September 2010, 13:45   #5

what a great job! i'd love to have an opportunity to see the country in this manner. i'd definitely consider moving there short term for this sort of job.
Old 20th September 2010, 13:54   #6

i wish they would give 20-30 jeepers/ bolero boys/ scorpions a similar chance - now THAT would be greatly appreciated and I would love to throw my hat in the ring for a chance of that kind!
Old 20th September 2010, 15:42   #7

Whoaa! Looks like this topic is rolling out on its original path I guess!

BTW I have applied for the dream job at its first glance , simply cos I WANT TO RIDE MY JOB
Old 20th September 2010, 16:17   #8

@ 4X4 addict : precisely my point..sad to see such great products go to waste!

And I think the launch of a 300cc bike along with a 125cc commuter is a great strategy...but wish they gave the 300cc bike for the "dream job" instead of the 125 or perhaps a mix of both would have been good..all 20 of em are going to be 125's and that is kinda sad !
Old 21st September 2010, 12:53   #9

Aren't Yamaha SZs riding across the country too? And wonder if they really decide the participants after inviting applications. I remain a skeptic on whether the process is truly democratic.
Old 21st September 2010, 13:21   #10

I contend that opening more service centers in key locations is more pivotal to success, than campaigns, advertisements and brand building. That *may* be why it didn't work out for Mitsubishi.

One good thing about Mahindra is that they are admitting it is a "job", and not trying to make it sound like a vacation, which Ford is trying to do.

Last edited by rajushank84 : 21st September 2010 at 13:24.
Old 11th October 2010, 13:54   #11

20 very lucky winners for mahindra bike.

I quote from the website

www.indiabikers.com - Best Job in India
"Imagine being out on the open road, riding a spanking new monster machine. Spending 8 weeks discovering India, and rediscovering yourself. Without spending a penny of your own. And getting paid to do it.

It’s called the Best Job in India. Pretty aptly named, we’d say. After all, this is the kind of job profile everyone dreams of. It pays well, you never have to wear formal clothes, you’re permanently on leave and the perks are immeasurable.
The Best Job in India began when indiabikers.com tied-up with Mahindra to give 20 very lucky bike-freaks this incredible job offer. The only criteria we demanded - you really must love bikes, love riding and crave the thrill of adventure.
It was not surprising when thousands of people applied to us, telling us why they should get this job. We even called in an expert panel to figure out the most deserving candidates. Now the people we “hire” will get their uber-cool new bikes and ride them across the country. Exploring new places, new roads, eating new and exciting food, meeting new people, and then sharing their experiences with others. And yes, just to turn you a little greener, they do get to keep their bikes.
Follow their extraordinary journey right here on Indiabikers.com. Talk to them directly, hear their stories, even give them advice and meet them when they come to your city. Who knows, you may be inspired by their adventures to find some of your own."

This is awesome. This contest is there from some while. May be now it is closed. But worth a check.

If I would not have my current occupation, I would have gone straight away. And at the end walk away with the bike, with cash in hand.

Mods: Please remove the thread if not required or another similar thread is present.
Old 12th October 2010, 07:15   #12

"Very lucky"?

Er, have you seen pictures of the bike ("mojo")?

The only saving grace would be that the winners could wear full-face helmets as part of their job, to hide their embarrassment while riding it.
Old 12th October 2010, 10:52   #13

Originally Posted by Rollin' Thunda View Post
"Very lucky"?

Er, have you seen pictures of the bike ("mojo")?

The only saving grace would be that the winners could wear full-face helmets as part of their job, to hide their embarrassment while riding it.
What is wrong with the 300cc bike, that one looks good. Italian in design, with right bits. It has got twin disc in front, single disc in rear, Up side down forks and like.
Old 12th October 2010, 12:10   #14

@Rollin_Thunda - That's not a true biker spirit!!!

You may love a brand or a motorcycle for its sheer beauty of loyalty you've towards them, but, I truly I cannot hate anything. I like to keep riding/driving (ofcourse petrol should be free ) even a TVS 50 for that matter & a Mojo, definitely is a welcome; I don't see anything wrong or bad in it.