Old 25th November 2010, 10:24   #1

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?

Hi guys,

I have been planning to go in for an RD350 for sometime now.I already have a p220f and an Octavia RS as my daily ride/drive.I have a lot of good things about an RD and some bad things too(maintenance/upkeep)

I know an RD is today's day and age is not a very rational decision(It never was even earlier) especially since the lauch of the modern 250ccs which rival and better it in most aspects, what with RDs in running condition with jugaad parts costing upwards of 35k in my part of the country nowadays.After having scoured the market for quite sometime now(1 year almost) I have come across 3(2HT/1LT) different examples in the range of of 35-50k and not in a very clean condition..

Which brings me to the 4th example which I am considering a little more seriously than the earlier ones.This model is an '85 HT-6 speed(That's what the RC book says) with a lot of custom body work(Before you all start howling at me take a look at the list of mods).I am attaching the pics below for all to see.It has twin nissin discs upfront/1 nissin at the back/One sided Honda swing Arm/120 section tyre at front/140 section at the rear(both 17inch)/Clip-ons/Gas filled monoshock/Styled to resemble the Honda rc30 and therefore has the body panels from that bike(as claimed by owner).All papers/taxes are in order.

The engine on the bike has been worked upon by Joe's Bangalore(verified by me).Its on 2nd oversize running ART pistons (0.5) and the owner claims the bike is unsleeved.It is still under the run-in period(having done only 200kms since then)after the work on the engine by Joe's(Joe does not remeber whether the bike was sleeved or not).Its on the CB points and is running on a 2*1 exhaust with expansion chamber.(Both of these need to go ASAP if I am to pick up the bike as Joe suggested that the exhaust is robbing the bike of some of the power)

Anyways, Im not an RD expert and would be grateful to the experts here for their take on the bike.Whether the bike is worth going for or not is the question here(What should the price be for such a bike if its good enough to buy) and how do I verify if the bike is only on the 2nd oversize-unsleeved?I did not want an RD that would require monumental amount of effort/time to bring it up to good condition else I would have gone in for one at 25-30k and refurbished it for another 30-35k as finding a knowledgeable mech for the RD is next to impossible in our part of the country.All opinions are welcome as they are invaluable for a novice in RDs like me.Thank you all.

P.S.Anyone know any good RD specialist in kolkata who can take care of the maintenance?

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1088.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1090.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1091.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1093.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1094.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1095.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1096.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1098.jpg  

Should I go for this custom RD350 HT?-dscn1105.jpg  

Last edited by octane1002 : 25th November 2010 at 10:42.
Old 25th November 2010, 11:20   #2

Guys..I am waiting for your advice please
Old 25th November 2010, 11:30   #3

That isn't an RD...just an RD engine being used in some other frame. I'm not sure where the rest of the bike was lifted from but I wouldn't touch this bike...or call it an RD350. It isn't an RD350.

If you want a bike like this you are better of buying a TZR250. Incidentally I've got one for sale.

I don't like these "jugaad" bikes...shame to rip apart a classic to come up with this monstrosity.
Old 25th November 2010, 11:41   #4

+1 to gs. Top notch RDs are themselves hard to maintain due to issue with parts and good mechanics. I second with gs, stay away from this one.
You got quite a few specimens in superb conditions for sale upwards of 1lac.
Old 25th November 2010, 11:45   #5

I second @gsferrari here

Originally Posted by octane1002 View Post
Anyways, Im not an RD expert
I did not want an RD that would require monumental amount of effort/time to bring it up to good condition
P.S.Anyone know any good RD specialist in kolkata who can take care of the maintenance?
Sadly, you need to be exactly opposite to what you've stated above without which owning a RD becomes expensive & extremely difficult; if you buy the one you posted, you'll need to spend tiring hours to bring it back in shape for which you need to learn RD upside down. Last but not the least, never trust any mechanic!!!

Originally Posted by gsferrari View Post
I don't like these "jugaad" bikes...shame to rip apart a classic to come up with this monstrosity.
+100000...; strongly agreed.
Old 25th November 2010, 12:08   #6

It looks like a RD engine on the frame of another bike as someone pointed out. You much better off picking up a smashed RD and building it from ground up rather than having to restore this 400/350 cc " Yamaha".

You said you ve come across couple of HT'S and LT'S. Pick any which you think looks cosmetically decent and drives average coz you would most probably need some engine rebuilding once you open it up.

Lastly every RD runs differently so you may have to spend alot of time and money to bring it up to a level that "you" think is good.
Old 25th November 2010, 12:31   #7

Ugh..The bike's completely wasted then right? Being a novice I was taken in by the list of mods on it and also the fact that it was using parts from a bigger bike and had all the safety mods in place.The pro arm seemed genuine as also the shocks/brakes and the works.The fact it was worked upon by Joe's whose a known RD specialist was also drawing me towards it.

I foolishly quoted something in the region of 60k this morning trhinking this could be a good project bike.Anyways being a novice I am totally confused now.Damn!!

Last edited by Zappo : 26th November 2010 at 01:11. Reason: No SMS shortcuts please. Typing "right" instead of "ryt" or "I am" instead of "Im" hardly takes much effort.
Old 25th November 2010, 12:49   #8

@octane - Welcome to the first phase of the RD life - confusion and frustration . If you want the bike really hard you lll soon get over it. As i said , pick up a bike that atleast looks like a RD. Post some pics so its easier to form an opinion on her condititon. Rest can only be revealed once it is opened. If you lucky you might find a bike that has a decent engine not needing major rebuild.
Old 25th November 2010, 16:31   #9

Update: The owner called up and asked me if I was willing to pick it up for 70k last.I felt like asking him if he'd let go of the bike at 40k..which is not that bad considering we have 5 speed RXZs selling for 40-50k odd.Anyways, the confusion still prevails.An RD that does'nt look like like an RD but has some good mods in place..sigh!

Last edited by octane1002 : 25th November 2010 at 16:33.
Old 25th November 2010, 18:18   #10

Ask the owner if he has the frame with matching engine casing serial number(should be there in RC book as well) if yes no harm in picking this bike for 70K, use this chassis with other engine and make yourself one RD in original state.
Old 25th November 2010, 18:49   #11

the bike i really worth a lot less than that. with all the bling bling alloys and body and the frame thing if you can get the setup rite it will be a killer but again can you do it. i am already finding it hard to do the RD that i am working on rite now.

but i do remember that i saw this frame on some Forum an RD related forum where the user wanted to use it for something nice.
Old 25th November 2010, 19:00   #12

Originally Posted by desideep View Post
the bike i really worth a lot less than that.
+1; Sorry, I couldn't help agreeing to above.

But again it depends what you're looking at; if you're a person who likes RD with alloys & such frames , then pick it up; its a good deal.

But most RD lovers love the stock form with spoke wheels & stock frame. Most people also love the drum brake & hesitate to convert to discs.
Old 25th November 2010, 20:20   #13

The whole charm in owning an RD is to have a stock bike which. It is such a beautiful machine..

If you are getting something that doesn't look like an RD it defeats the purpose ...
Old 25th November 2010, 20:34   #14

RD mechanic

There is a guy named Dilip (gora) near tollygunge circular road. He specializes in RD. I bought my bullet from his garage, and i saw quite a few RD's there.

Though as far as this specimen goes, I have to agree with the opinions here. the character has been changed and if you have been wanting an RD for a long time, this is not what you are looking for. ....

If you want I can give you the said mechanic's number..
Old 25th November 2010, 21:09   #15

Originally Posted by desideep View Post
if you can get the setup rite it will be a killer but again can you do it..
^^Nailed it!!

Thats a Honda VFR 400 without the side fairing panels. If the owner has done the mod job well then by all means go ahead and get it..not to full fill your RD ownership experience but to get a sweet handling custom two stroker!! Ive heard about Mr Joe of DAM motors. Since you say he did the engine work on the bike I assume that he was the one who performed the mod of mounting the RD engine on the VFR frame. Ask him what was done and or post a few pics of the engine mounting and people might be able to help you out..!

Prashanth