Team-BHP - Honda Jazz : Official Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Honda Jazz : Official Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/165791-honda-jazz-official-review-188.html)

Originally Posted by arindambasu13 (Post 4807983)
Did you schedule a service, and if so, are you availing the pick up and drop facility?

Nop, not yet. I am particular about dropping and picking it up myself. Specially after seeing some first hand accounts here on teambhp itself where the SVC drivers crashed the cars and asked owners to claim insurance. :deadhorse

I will wait for another month for things to get normal (as in adjusting to covid :D) before scheduling appointment.

The Jazz really is a unique car; ample space, sharp styling, quality build and tried and tested Honda reliability. Sure it may lack a few features but those can really be added in the after-market or some may just not be needed.
I have been ogling over the Honda Jazz since some time now and am planning to get a pre-worshipped one soon. :D

What would you suggest a decent 2015 V or VX variant can be obtained for (keeping in mind the influence that this pandemic might have on prices) ?
and What are some aspects we should look for in a pre-worshipped Jazz, any niggles of any sort?

More than prices, worry about availability. A Jazz owner is unlikely to let go. Prayer helps, whether you are a rationalist or not.

Originally Posted by onEdge (Post 4808511)
The Jazz really is a unique car; ample space,

The Jazz is so spacious for its price that I have been second guessing if it is wise to go for a Creta/Seltos to get that little bit of extra boot space. lol:

The Jazz really is a unique car; ample space, sharp styling, quality build and tried and tested Honda reliability.
What would you suggest a decent 2015 V or VX variant can be obtained for (keeping in mind the influence that this pandemic might have on prices) ?
and What are some aspects we should look for in a pre-worshipped Jazz, any niggles of any sort?

I had recently bought a Jazz V CVT, 2015 version only 6 months back. You can also read my review of the same.

My observation of the car purchase experience is as follows:
Rest, the Jazz is peaceful and a must recommend especially in the used car market. The CVT is a boon in traffic. FE drops to single digit in Mumbai traffic. Spacious, comfortable and trouble-free. I like this car. You should get a manual one for 4 - 4.5 i guess.

Originally Posted by Nithesh_M (Post 4809080)
The Jazz is so spacious for its price that I have been second guessing if it is wise to go for a Creta/Seltos to get that little bit of extra boot space. lol:

In my opinion, if you are willing to have one sole car, budget not being a constraint, then it would be better to go for a Creta or Seltos considering their higher ground clearance which aids in better driveability and ride quality on highways or bad roads. I have both, a Creta and Jazz. The Jazz is extremely spacious and practical but best suited for city drives and very sedate on highways. Gets bumpy (in comparison with Creta)

Creta pips over the Jazz in the engine, acceleration and overall ride quality, but that is an apples to oranges comparison due to their varying segments.
Purely on boot space, the Jazz easily swallows 3 mid-size suitcases and the Creta's boot space is only slightly voluminous and longer.

Does anyone know the product number for NGK iridium plugs ? I checked with fly bhp and few local stores and all are confused ( I confused them :uncontrol )

1. BKR6EIX-11 - The regular plugs in boodmo suggest BKR6EX-11. This makes me believe BKR6EIX-11 should be the part number.
2. DIFR6DI3 - Flybhp recommends this as this is the part number from the chart they have. They are confirming as this is not a regular item they sell

I changed the spark plug on my interceptor with iridium plugs and the throttle response at low speed has improved. I want to try out everything that can improve the response on my Jazz. Placed an order for K&N for my car and another one from motowings for my bike.

Interceptor uses 16mm socket. Do let me know the socket size whether it is 10mm or 16mm, if it is 10, i will have to order the part also

Sorry for back to back comment, I finally placed order for IZFR6K-13 from motrparts.in

NGK website listed this part and I found a comment in Amazon.in related to installation on Jazz cvt. motrparts was the cheapest, will wait to confirm if it is original or not

Originally Posted by ciddharth (Post 4809307)
[*] Rust issues especially on the weather strips and lower portions of the door

Rest, the Jazz is peaceful and a must recommend especially in the used car market. The CVT is a boon in traffic. FE drops to single digit in Mumbai traffic. Spacious, comfortable and trouble-free. I like this car. You should get a manual one for 4 - 4.5 i guess.

MY JAZZ V-CVT will turn 5 years old this year in October. Used 90% in the city and returns an average of worst 6 to best 9 kmpl. But the car mostly has short runs which is less than 10 to 15 minutes so it has a huge impact on FE. In almost 5 years car has done 28000 kms and I have no intention of selling it. Its simple, fuss free and ideal for school and shopping duty.

But as mentioned by you the rust issues on weather strip has started and I can see a couple of bubbles there. I have covered parking and there is no rust anywhere else. The other thing I have noticed is the steering wheel leather cover which has started to fade with visible patches all over the steering.

Everything on my Jazz is bone stock except installation of OBD based speed sensitive auto door lock and seat covers. I plan to change the tires on the 5th anniversary due to its age. The car is still under extended warranty and will extend the warranty for the 6th year as well.

Recently my Jazz CVT completed 40k kms. The original brake pads still have around 50% life. I feel slight vibrations sometimes and this can be felt on the steering, did anyone see this issue before. I had purchased Brembo red ceramic pads last year but did not use them. Just thinking if i need to skim the disc or change the rotor and brake pads to Brembo.

Guys, for those of you who purchased a CVT in 2019, what was the on-road price you had paid and for which variant?

My jazz completed 6 months in April. In addition to the first and third month service, had to visit the service center again in between for a rear suspension failure :banghead:
Finally got a call last week for the third service post Covid lock down.
Changed the service centre to Arya Honda at Kalina. The total amount was about 2k. The only hiccup was after repeatedly mentioning, they put mineral oil instead of the synthetic which had to redone. Staff was good and friendly. On request they also removed what looked like AC drain leakage marks and did a good job.

Originally Posted by Dieselritzer (Post 4832818)
Guys, for those of you who purchased a CVT in 2019, what was the on-road price you had paid and for which variant?

Hi. I purchased the vx CVT top end version on hyd for 10.20 lacs in Hyderabad. Including zero dep insurance, third party, rsa, accessories kit, personal accident cover. I didn't opt for the seat covers because I don't like them but would have got this also included.

Originally Posted by Nithesh_M (Post 4809080)

If you are okay with other aspects of the car as well, I would say to go for it. Its good family car. You would also be saving a lot money over Creta/Seltos. GC issue from previous generation has been sorted out as well.

Please do let us know what you chose.

What are some aspects we should look for in a pre-worshipped Jazz, any niggles of any sort?

You have to make sure the used car has a history of cvt oil changes once every 20-25k kms or once every 2 years. Transmission generates immense heat in stop and go traffic and it can wear down the oil quickly. These transmissions are very sensitive to gear oil used and it can last a lifetime if we can make sure the service details describes usage of HCF-2 transmission oil. My car has covered 41k freeway miles in 3 years without any hiccups which includes 1300 kms from Hyd to Tvm at a stretch with some 30 min breaks every 500 kms. I have changed the oil at 20k and 40k. The service engineer was reluctant to change it at 20k and told me it will last 40k and there are customers who dont change it till 50k, but I went ahead and asked him to change. When you test ride a good cvt model with TC and new gear oil, the car should surge forward a bit as soon as you leave the brake pedal. This effect will decrease as the oil wears down.

I personally monitor the cvt oil changes during service. There is no way to monitor oil degradation as Jazz does not have dip stick. Beware of buying from car dealers,there are instances where dealers use saw dust in the transmission to increase the friction and it will work well during the test rides, but the transmission fails after some time. Make sure you buy a vehicle with service history done at Honda dealership as HCF-2 oil is not available outside. Replacing the transmission is a costly affair and it could cost above 3 lakhs just for sourcing the parts. As such I have not come across any mechanic who is specialist in repairing cvt transmission in India. When you look out for used cars, just make sure the transmission oil is changed at regular intervals and dont worry about the kms covered. Honda NA engines and transmission should easily last upwards of 5 lakh kms without any issues, but the body panels might not be able to survive this long. CVT oil changes at Honda dealership is cheap ( 2.1k for oil and 300 for labour). I'm still getting a overall mileage of 17 kmpl with 20-80 city-highway rides. As such there are no 4 lane proper highways from Trivandrum to nearby districts but the traffic is not as bad when compared to metro cities.