![]() |
To Anurag Mehrotra Ford India Sub: Ford Mustang GT No. HR 29A XXXX currently parked at Harpreet Ford, Gurgaon I want to bring to your notice a very unfortunate, embarrassing and unexpected mess caused. This has so happened when I am probably the first person to book a Mustang GT & probably the first person to purchase your only premium segment sports car in North India. The series of events that occurred are as follows: I am a member of various sports car/ supercar clubs and was invited by one Cannonball club for a small event at Noida on 16th February. I was on my way to Noida along with other supercars of my club, mates and friends. This was the first time I was driving the Mustang after quite a while. The engine suddenly started releasing thick smoke and broke down while I was on my way. The whole cavalcade had to halt there creating an unwanted & embarrassing situation for me. I then called upon the landline of Harpreet Ford there & then where I was informed by the concerned that GM is in a meeting and that he will talk in a while. I would have never expected that a car would break down in such a manner when it has not even crossed 10K Kms. I asked my staff to call a flatbed tow truck and send the car to Harpreet Ford the very same day. I received a call after a while from a service advisor that they would let me know the status of the car the next day. On 18th Feb, I received a call from a service advisor Mr. Surinder who raised a few queries and I replied to the same. To my utter surprise, I was informed that the head gasket of the car has is damaged and taking into cognizance the segment, mileage & condition of the car, Harpreet Ford would raise the matter with Ford officials. On 20th, the GM at Harpreet Ford called saying that the company will bear 75% of the total cost of repair viz Rs. 16 Lakhs. I then wrote to them to send the quotation via email, which I received on 21st Feb. The quotation revealed that approx 35 parts of the engine needed to be replaced, including the gasket. I was being assured by Mr. John that the faulted engine will be replaced by a brand new CBU packed engine only. I sent my consent to Harpreet Ford on the same day, specifically mentioning 4 conditions in the email reproduced as follows: 1. That the faulty engine/ parts shall not be repaired and reused in my vehicle. 2. The engine should be replaced by a brand new seal-packed CBU engine only. 3. The faulty engine/ parts shall not be dismantled/ shifted from your workshop until and unless I take the delivery of my car after repair, and unless I have been shown the parts so removed from my car for my satisfaction. 4. Also kindly intimate a tentative/ approximate time period required to do the replacement of engine and tentative date of delivery. As per the conversation, I have been intimated that the vehicle shall be delivered approx 14 days after my approval. Following this, I received an email from Harpreet Ford through Mr. John on 22/2/19 reproduced as ”As discussed, we will not repair any items in your vehicle and will go with replacement as per the estimate shared. The engine will be supplied by FIL in a sealed box and you can check the packing once it is received at our end and also verify the replaced parts before taking delivery to your satisfaction. We have ordered the parts yesterday itself and ETA will be shared today. Thanks & Regards JOHN” Yesterday i.e. 05/03/2019, I received information via a phone call from Harpreet Ford that the engine has already been replaced, ignoring the terms & conditions as mentioned while granting my consent for repair. |
Originally Posted by GTO
(Post 4554778)
Thanks to Ashish Gupta for sending this in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this Team-BHP page! Sucks to see such a serious problem! That said, I appreciate that Ford has replaced the engine (instead of repairing it). An email written to Ford India's MD: |
Originally Posted by GTO
(Post 4554778)
Thanks to Ashish Gupta for sending this in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this Team-BHP page! Sucks to see such a serious problem! That said, I appreciate that Ford has replaced the engine (instead of repairing it). An email written to Ford India's MD: |
Originally Posted by Mr. Nobody
(Post 4555317)
Should such a issue not be covered in the engine warranty ? Why is the customer being asked to bear 25% of the cost? |
Originally Posted by lambodara
(Post 4968133)
Is Mustang face-lifted really coming to India in 2021? Please share any information. |
Shelby American has released pricing details and technical specifications for the 2021 Shelby GT Mustang. Anyone who owns a Ford Mustang from the 2018 model year onwards can head to Shelby American for the modifications or if they’d prefer, they can purchase a modified Mustang directly from Shelby itself. Pricing for the package starts at $24,995 while a fully-built Shelby GT is offered from $62,310. From a visual standpoint, Shelby has equipped the Mustang GT with a unique hood that incorporates vents, staggered-width 20-inch wheels, Shelby-spec tires, a unique upper front grille, bespoke side rockers and rocker wings, a unique rear spoiler, Le Mans-style striping, driver and passenger side stripes, distinctive emblems and badges, leather seat covers, and embroidered floor mats. Under the hood, Shelby has equipped the Mustang with a new Borla exhaust system, increasing power from the 5.0-liter naturally-aspirated V8 to 480 hp. If that’s not enough for customers, Shelby can also fit the V8 with a Ford Performance supercharger that increases power to 700 raging ponies. A number of other performance upgrades have been made. For example, the Shelby GT includes new springs and sway bars co-developed with Ford Performance, although customers can also opt for a unique Penske track suspension system. Other optional extras include a Brembo brake upgrade that includes six-piston front and four-piston rear calipers and enlarged rotors. Ford Mustang GT Convertible models can also be fitted with the same Speedster roof as the flagship Shelby Super Snake. |
Originally Posted by Thegreyghost006
(Post 5657272)
Touched 42 thousand kilometres in my Ford Mustang. Points I’d like to share: 1) Five and a half years old and still no rattle in the interior (I think the materials might not be exotic but it sure is built to last). . |
Originally Posted by Thegreyghost006
(Post 5657272)
Touched 42 thousand kilometres in my Ford Mustang. |